We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area - fabulous birding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
JHB
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful area - fabulous birding!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed in one of the villas. Beautiful rooms and bathrooms. Kitchen could have been a bit better equipped eg no frying pan, shortage of utensils. Supposed to be milk in the fridge but was none. Fabulous views from villa. Great walks in the area and great birds. Shocking amount of invasive vegetation in the area eg. wild tobacco (bug tree), lantana, especially near zip line. Very little seems to have been done to eradicate this scourge.
Went on bird walk in the morning - guide was knowledgeable but not very accommodating with the group. Felt she got irritated with questions from the group and that they did not keep up with her rapid pointing out of the birds. Also felt the staff in general were unfriendly. It was a very special visit for us - seeing family who live very far away so unfriendly staff just spoils it!

Room Tip: Ask for villa with a view - but I think they all seem to have that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reidJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation and the surrounding nature on the mountain! We appreciate honest feedback at O'Reilly's, and your feedback regarding service quality will not be taken lightly. We constantly strive for high levels of service and apologise that you didn't receive service of this manner during your stay.

As for Lantana and Tobacco, we have a task force that deals with this problem and since the teams inclusion, we have largely reduced the amount of these plants in the area. As you know, these plants are very invasive, thus the program is ongoing.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Best Regards

The O'Reilly's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    360
    145
    78
    46
See reviews for
339
570
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The Road: Ok, bottom line, the road up to O'Reilly's sucks. It's stressful to drive, it's got blind corners, you never get above 30 kms/hr so the 30 kms can take a good hour to complete. And don't even THINK of attempting it at night unless you have a death wish.

Location: Gorgeous! Surrounded by rainforest with paddy melons and native birds at your back door it's really beautiful.

Room: I was in a mountain room and I would definitely call it a ROOM. I went by myself & it was small, but for two people it would be TINY.

WARNING: There's no tv in the rooms (they say it's all part of the experience). Intellectually I knew this before I came but it still freaked me out a little.

Bottom line the rooms are all geared towards you spending no time in them and going out to go bush walking and/or pay for activities.

And for the housekeeping staff, a little common sense might prevail that if the room is booked for one person don't put a card next to 2 wine glasses saying "welcome mr & mrs ____ please enjoy the complimentary wine."

Oh and if you want to self cater BOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE! The fridge in the room is tiny & there is no bench space to speak of at all. They want you to buy every meal of your stay.

Staff: the young woman who checked me in was lovely and very knowledgable. All the staff around the retreat were very friendly.

Overall Review: Don't stay here longer than 1 night and expect to pay for EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foghorn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalston
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We first stayed here eleven years ago & loved it. We were worried that it would have changed but were not disappointed.

Stayed in one bedroom canopy suite for 3 nights. Lots of space in room & stunning views.

Booked on three of the walks & thoroughly enjoyed them.

All staff were friendly but Henry in bar & restaurant went out of his way to make us feel welcome.

Great breakfast, ate in bar one night & restaurant the other two nights and really enjoyed it. Bit expensive to eat but no more so than anywhere else we stayed at.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank havenexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review!

We are glad to hear that O'Reilly's has lived up to your expectations after such a long time. Our goal is to continually improve our service offering, thus we hope that your next stay with us will be just as enjoyable.

Have a wonderful week!

The O'Reilly's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The road up to the O'Reillys was pretty challenging, many winding and narrow roads require constant attention and precaution. My way up was ruined by a speeding car that turned around a bend (blind spot) which almost got me swerved off the cliff! I was pretty shaken for the remaining journey up but thank God the remaining drivers i encounter were courteous and gave way to my car. Do turn on your headlights while driving up (and down)!

Upon reaching the top i was a little disoriented as there were multiple parking lots sites depending on which property types you are staying. Lucky for us, the friendly front desk lady gave us a map and oriented us to our parking lots and room location. The view from our room was stunning (mountain view room) and you could see the sunset right at the balcony. Food was not as expensive as i would have imagined and the seafood platter that i had at the bar was amazing.

We joined a couple of tours at the O'Reillys and enjoyed both the Glow Worms tour and the 4WD to the western (or eastern?) lookout. Particularly the 4WD tour conducted by Duncan, it was the best experience we had in Australia, where he drove us to a scenic area where we had a panoramic view of the mountainous regions and we had our morning tea with toasted bread there as well (what a treat!). The guide is very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna in that area and introduced us the various types of trees in the rain forest. We were joined by a group of friendly retirees from Australia, England and Canada.

The room itself was alright, however, we did notice the bathroom was not cleaned properly, which remnants of hair and debris from previous occupants were swept to edges of the toilet. There were also stains in the toilet bowl and there weren't enough lotion supplies in the bathroom as well.

It gets a little chilly at night so would recommend a light jacket to whomever is visiting this retreat. I will definitely come back again in the future, the view and experience are well worth the money and journey up the mountain!

Room Tip: Get the highest floor rooms which will command a better panoramic (unblocked) view of the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello Ryan,

From all of us at O'Reilly's, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the tours, dining and overall experience at O'Reilly's. On another note, we are sorry to hear that your room cleanliness was not up to scratch on this occasion. We always strive to ensure that room quality is to the highest standard. Our management team has been notified, and room consistency will be one of our primary goals moving into 2014.

Have a great week and see you again soon!

The O'Reilly's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is an amazing rustic establishment in a rain forest on top of a mountain. In itself something else, but then add O'Reillys old world charm to the mix and we wish we had planned to stay more days! Reading other reviews, yes it is expensive, but then you get dinner, bed and breakfast and if like us., you book a "Best of O'Reillys" package, as many of the activities as you can fit into a each day. So, not as bad as some reviewer appear to be suggesting. Equally some reviewers appear to want smart, inner city style, well do not go to O'Reillys, expecting that, it's in a rainforest surrounded by wildlife!

Not sure where those complaining had really eaten, but we can only state we experienced excellent food well prepared from fresh ingredients, thoughtfully presented with generous portions. The restaurant staff were engaging, focussed on a professional service and very friendly.

The activities provide a varied and entertaining programme for every day. Staff leading activities are experienced in their work, attentive to detail and friendly. Starting at 06.45 and going through to 21.30 provides for a wide experience of this mountains environment.

Bird watchers, walkers and nature lovers will find Green Mountain fascinating. We experienced being up close to Bower, Whip, Lyer and many other birds along with a couple of Pythons, Lozards,Pademelons and Bandicoot. Great bush walking simply outside the front door leading to some of the most stunning scenery in the world.

This retreat would have gained a straight excellent, but needs to give attention to
Younger staff at the restaurant who do not have the hotels focussed friendly approach;
At times these staff failed to keep breakfast and complimentary refreshments up to standard.
Such a pity as we could see the drive and enthusiasm shared by most of the staff.

Go and experience it for yourself!

Room Tip: Do not settle for the cheapest deal, go for an inclusive package, you will not be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi David,

Thank you very much for reviewing O'Reilly's. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time on the mountain!

We will use this feedback both positive and negative for future strategies leading into 2014.

We hope to see you, friends and family back at O'Reilly's again one day.

Best Regards,

The O'Reilly's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in the three bedroom villas. Each of the bedrooms had a very comfortable king bed, with bathroom attached. Big lounge and sitting area. Great balcony with wonderful views to the west, over the rainforest. A spa on the balcony. Perfect for the 5o'clock G & T whilst watching the setting sun. Great walks through the rainforest for the energetic. Magnificent place

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAl1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review O'Reilly's.

We are glad to hear that you and your friends/family had a great time throughout your stay with us. G&T's at sunset and a walk on one of the many tracks in the Lamington National Park, it doesn't get much better then that.

We hope to see you up on the mountain again soon!

Best Regards,

The O'Reilly's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Four of us stayed in the two bedroomed villas set amongst verdant rain-forest with views across to the lowlands. It was just wonderful. The units are independent houses - large with lots of features. Bedrooms are huge with modern bathrooms. We spent our 3 days exploring the rainforest, the many walks including the tree-top walks. The advantage of the villas is that you can bring your own food - otherwise the restaurants are quite pricey. This is a glorious part of Australia and anyone who loves our bush and birding should make a journey to O'Reilly's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on the mountain! The villas are a wonderful escape surrounded by nature, and it sounded like you made the most of your time there.

We hope to see you back at O'Reilly's in the near future.

Best Regards,

The O'Reilly's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
21.4 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
262 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
#2 of 7 in Canungra
77 reviews
20.5 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
259 reviews
18.6 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Property: O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing