We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth the money”
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed in a Mountain View room at the discounted price of $250 a night. Even at that price we felt ripped off. There was a stain on the carpet, the bed was as hard as a rock and the pillows weren't much better. Nasty stains on the underside of the bedspread were pretty disgusting. Most of the room furniture was old and scratched, the linen and towels are what you'd expect at a $30 a night motel room.

Afternoon tea was a plate of rock hard scones (I'm sure they were baked a week ahead of time). The library/reading room is filled with a lot of old outdated books that had seen many many better days.

Paper thin walls mean that you can hear every noise from outside and your next door neighbours. We could hear a party raging on through the night right up until just after 4am. Not pleasant since we wanted to get a good night's sleep to do some of the more adventurous walks in the morning. Just before 8am we were awoken by staff thumping around sweeping off pathways and stairs.

Breakfast was okay except you have to go begging for plates, cutlery, glasses... We didn't bother hanging around for morning tea after experiencing the joys of afternoon tea the day before.

Surely the villas are a better option if you are super wealthy (minimum 2 night stay policy takes things out of the average person's reach).

I would not recommend O'Reilly's to anyone. There's other options nearby - do some research and save yourself the disapointment of experiencing mediocre, overpriced accommodation. Yes there's some lovely views and some good walks nearby but you can access these as a day tripper.

I must add that without exception, all the staff were amazingly friendly, informative and helpful.

  • Liked — Situated within Lamington National Park
  • Disliked — Overpriced, undermaintained, old
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PayingCustomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    351
    143
    76
    46
See reviews for
334
561
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oidrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

- Room 62, not worth the price at all, poor quality rooms, VERY old bathrooms, terrible shower water pressure

- Some staff (Nicky) were very helpful and nice. Others were a bit rude and bossy

- Super slow internet/computer, which you have to pay for

- Beautiful surroundings, great sunset, cute wild animals around the property

- THE best night sky scene with sparkling stars filling the sky!

- Great for hikers, but once you get into the trail, you must finish it for 5 hours, cant really turn back once you're 2-3 hours in, MUST cross rivers to continue on trail

- Not many dining options. Only one restaurant with an overpriced set meal was available for dinner, the cafe was closed, but you can have large portion snacks upstairs in the bar

- Overall, the location was secluded and private, surrounded by nature, but DEFINITELY overpriced for what you get. The quality of the rooms were equivalent to motels, though the room (Rm 62) was more spacious and could easily fit 5 people with a set of bunk beds, a double bed, and a single bed. The bunk beds were in a separate room with a sliding door.

  • Liked — The surrounding nature scenery
  • Disliked — The terrible, poorly maintained rooms with OLD furniture, bedding, carpet, and bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank oidrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed only one night at O'Reilly's, in the main lodge. There is great access to hiking trails and there were birds and pademelons hanging around on the grounds, mostly because they get fed.
If you like luxury, this is the place. It was not really our cup of tea, and we preferred the more laid back atmosphere, lower density of people, and more forest close to the building at Binna Burra.

Driving the road up to O'Reilly's is not for the faint of heart -- very windy, narrow, with poor visibility and one lane in many places. Be Fore-warned!

  • Liked — Hiking trails and views
  • Disliked — Expensive, and the drive up
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflyHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

After spending the night in 4 and 5-star city hotels, O'Reilly's was certainly an eye-opener...but not in a bad way. It was a great resort with an extremely friendly staff. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The variety of fun cocktails (which are half-priced during a 'happy hour' of sorts from 5-6:30pm) was a great addition by the roaring fire. It was also excellent to be able to try the wines from their own vineyard!

The beds in the rooms were also quite comfortable and the rooms provided a great view of the mountains and the wildlife (especially paddy melons!) in the mornings. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckySinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We spent 2 nights here with our children aged 6 and 11 and it was wonderful. We stayed in a mountain view room which was large spotlessly clean and really comfortable and homely except for no tvs yipee! We had a decked balcony which was great as every evening pademelons (little wallaby like things) come to graze in the gardens, the view was gorgeous especially at sunset and it was a really special quiet and relaxing stay. The restaurant was really nice the food was great and so was the award winning wine from their own vineyard down the mountain. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the place has an old fashioned (in a nice way) kind of vibe. The weather was wet and rainy most of the time we were there but it did not matter we went on a couple of walks including the birdwalk and my daughter was thrilled with all the rare birds and amazing trees we saw. Thanks to the rain we also saw a red bellied snake which my son thought was fantastic! Beautiful colourful birds landed on our heads and shoulders to be fed, we saw gloworms which was a sight to behold and it was a great experience. There are lots of acitvities and in the school holidays the kids club runs which sounds great. The information centre is really interesting if you are into animals etc (which we are) and has a big collection of butterflies and stuff to look at under the microscope. There is alot of history too and one of the rooms is a bit of a museum with old photos guest books from last century and wreckage from the stinson plane crash that OReillys is famous for. In the restaurant they have glass feeding enclosures in which they put food out for the wild animals so you can watch them climb down and eat the fruit while you eat. There is a spa and small pool but we didn't use it. The drive up is amazing and we stopped on Mount Tambourine so if you drive make a day of it its well worth it. I could go on forever but I think thats enough for now! If you like nature and real genuine hospitality you will love it here.

  • Liked — Beautiful views and wildlife
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeetSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
457 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

The drive up to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat was pretty spectacular even in the rain, on a sunny day I can imagin it may take you breath away. On the way up you pass the O'reillys vineyard I would say stop and top up with wine as it was slightly cheaper than at the resort but I know the day after we left they vineyard got wipped out by flooding so I don't know whether it'll be open for a while and even if they put the wine prices up if they lost a lot. They had some nice bottles to try though!

Anyway we were staying in a two bed mountain villa they are virtually brand spanking new everything was pristine, except for the little red stickers everywhere. We came to the conclusion they were snagging stickers (24 in our bathroom alone) they had to come down I was not paying to stay in a place with little red stickers everywhere.

The living area is a good size with a gas fire which we needed to dry out our shoes, plenty of sitting space including a sofa bed. The kitchen had all mod cons. The washer and dryer are neatly tucked away.

Both bedrooms were the same size with good en-suite bathrooms. The only complaint there was if you are in the shower and someone put the other shower on you lost power in yours.

The Private deck is a nice feature though considering the 2 bed is supposed to sleep up to 7 people the spa bath only fits 2 average adults comfortably, and the BBQ is on the small size.

At check in your are given a mobile phone that will receive in coming calls but you can only call reception, the restaurant or activity centre from as there are no phones in teh villas.

The villa really did look like the web page ecxept for the view as we looked over the half build spa - not a good view. That is our main complaint and probably at least 12 of the 48 villas have that view at the moment and no-one told us, we did mention this to reception and we were told some one would get back to us but no one ever did.

The villas are actually pole houses and as such when it was really windy - which was a fair few times when we were there you could feel the whole villa swaying from side to side! At the same time the tables and chairs were blown across the deck.

If you are in a villa and want to self cater you really need to bring most of your food up with you as the shop doesn't contain much. There is a good sized fridge and reasonable freezer in the villas.

At 4pm ish there is complementry tea served in the restaurant day 1 was scones and cream, day 2 was ginger cake, day 3 was sausage rolls and curry party pies.

5-6.30 there are half price cocktails in the bar everynight which went down well whilst sitting in front of the roaring log fire.

Activity wise bear in mind not all activities may be running during your stay, you will be given a time table on check in. But we took the glow worm tour, pretty impessive and we also saw, bandicote, possum, dingo, lamington spiny crayfish, frog, wolf rat so it was quite a wildlife tour. If you have young kids bear in mind the tours normally begin later than stated and this was supposed to last a hour but lasted over a hour and a half so we didn't get back till gone ten pm. The snake talk was fun and informative and our 5 year old held a 2 leaf lizards and touched a carpet python.

We went on a few short walks but it was so wet, our first day 14 cm of rain fell and our second day 16cm rain which meant all the leeches were out and about. A member of our party had 13 bites and we had plenty in our shoes when we got back. Also if you are going up take a waterproof coat as they do sell poncho but they did run out when we were there, to which they started chargin $1 for a black bin bag!!!!

In summary even with the rain a very enjoyeable break. There are things to see and do in the rain if you don't mind getting wet. The accommadation is very good. I would love to return when the weather is good as it will be like visiting a totally different place.

  • Liked — everthing mainly because at presnt it is all new
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

4 of us stayed at Cabin 29 a 2 bed 2 bath Mountain Villa at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat on 30th & 31st Dec 07. The villa was fully self contained with gas heater in lounge plus reverse cycle airconditioners in lounge area and also in both bedrooms. The villas have only recently been completed and there are a couple of little glitches (blinds not working in some spots, toilet a little temperemental). But all in all, nice, very well equipped & modern. All crockery / etc provided. Unfortunately the weather was not too kind to us - it rained the whole time we were there so we were unable to take part in the activities, just too wet. Would have loved to be able to sit out on the deck with the jacuzzi and bbq and take in the fabulous view of the mountain & rainforest. Nice little getaway.

  • Liked — Great views
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank houndkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
8.4 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
21.4 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
#2 of 7 in Canungra
77 reviews
18.6 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
302 reviews
19.7 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Property: O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing