We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Rooms below average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location is breathtaking. The staff are friendly. The rooms are below average with a musty smell which is evident throughout all the buildings. The rooms have no air conditioning and only a small heater. There are no tvs on the site which would be fine if other things such as the pool table, which had no white ball and other balls missing,or the other facilities were in working order. The bar is warm with the log fire but has no atmosphere so once the sunset there is little to do except sit in the musty library. The meals are fine, coffee Facilities in the rooms are good The range of daily activities offered adds considerably to the cost of staying there although we did enjoy our walks and exploring the rain forest on our own. The tree top walk is great. Allow at least an hour on the Endymion road to get to the site but it is a great drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your walks and the beautiful Rainforest. O'Reilly's has maintained the no television policy in the Retreat to encourage guests to enjoy the nature and surrounds. The newer villa accommodation does have televisions as well as being completely self contained which may be an option for your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had booked a 2 night stay in a 2 bedroom Villa - check in was advertised at 2pm, however our room was not ready. We were encouraged to get refreshments at the Cafe. The Cafe sold wine, however we were told we had to buy an entire bottle rather than the 1 glass we wanted. We took the wine to to the cafe balcony to wait for our room. Within 5 minutes, a male staff member stormed up to us and loudly announced that we couldn't drink our wine there and told us to stop drinking it! The staff member was rude and obnoxious and appeared to take great delight in talking to us this way. As the cafe is advertised as being fully licensed and it was the cafe that sold the wine to us, this behaviour by the cafe staff member was astonishing! As our room was still not ready, we were forced to wait on the grass outside the cafe until reception rang us about our room - which ended up being after 4pm!

I complained to reception about the treatment we received at the cafe, and they were great and really tried to make up for it by organising a surprise cheese platter and a bottle of wine being sent to our room later that night. I did ask for an apology from the rude cafe person but that never happened and as a consequence I was too upset to go back to the cafe which was the only place that served food.

Our Villa was great and we enjoyed many bush walks however by day 2, I really needed to eat so went back to the cafe. Sure enough, the rude staff member was there and scowled at me and did his best to make me feel uncomfortable. The whole atmosphere at the cafe is quite weird and there were terse signs posted all over the cafe - such as in front of the coffee machine: 'as you can see I'm busy making coffee so go to the counter to order' and 'if you feed the birds, you will be asked to leave'........

Overall, the treatment I received at the cafe by the rude staff member ruined my stay at O'Reillys and I would never step foot in that cafe again.

However the Villa was lovely and reception staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaytime888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback again to us, unfortunately we did experience delays in our housekeeping on the day you arrived. I can only apologise for your ongoing discomfort in dining at the cafe for lunch, it was my understanding that you had resolved your concerns with our general manager on the Friday night. Your comments have been provided to our management and operations team members to assist with their customer service improvements. We have also amended the wording on the cafe and mini mart signage. I am glad that you enjoyed your suite and bush walks. O'Reilly's would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again and experience the best of O'Reilly's hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We ventured to O'Reilly's for the weekend. Our group was two couples between 21-27 years old. The road up is very dangerous and I would suggest taking your time. Reception staff were rude when we asked about booking tours and seemed to be selective when booking guests. We asked to book the flying fox and were told it was booked out until the staff member standing behind the staff member serving us said "it's not booked out - look there are four spots there". When all tours were booked the same rude staff member said "it's school holidays - you should have booked ahead".

The highlight was Duncan on the Glow Worms tour. He was comical, friendly and had a great deal of knowledge. We met Duncan the following morning in the lobby and again he was friendly, asking what our plans were for the day and providing some great suggestions.

The rooms were dated and could really use a facelift, considering the price we paid. Also, the immediate resort grounds are untidy with old furniture, storage rooms etc exposed to the view of guests. Very disappointed that the cafe doesn't sell a hot breakfast but loved the FIX coffee and the Fanta Icy Whirl.

Bird feeding was good until a family brought their own sunflower seed resulting in the birds being attracted to only them and leaving out all of the kids and other guests attempting to feed the birds. The staff member we told about this was very efficient and went straight up to the family and explained why this was prohibited.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback, O'Reilly's does appreciate the time you have taken. I am glad that you enjoyed your activities and I do apologise for the difficulties you experienced in actually making your bookings. The road conditions are beyond our control and we do recommend that visitors drive with their lights on and make use of the side bays to stop to either admire the view or to allow other drivers to pass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I read the book "Green Mountains" by Bernard O'Reilly and so when work brought me to Brisbane , I decided to stay an extra couple of days to see this amazing place. The drive up into the mountains is in itself extraordinary (definitely do it during the daylight) and once you arrive, the environment of the 4000 ft elevation rainforest is truly extraordinary. There are many different levels of accommodation, from inexpensive motel type to luxury apartments with kitchens and most levels in between. The food in the restaurant was very good and the free amenities - afternoon tea and morning bird walk, just add to the experience. Of course, the main experience for us was hiking on many the well-maintained trails through the rainforest. On one day, we had no rain (a good thing since we didn't have substantial rain gear) but on the 2nd day, after 3 - 4 hours of dry hiking, the rain cut-loose for the last two hours. While we ended up soaked, it wasn't cold and in no way dampened our inspiration from all the plants (from the smallest fungi to the largest Arctic Birch) and birds we witnessed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulDresher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am very glad that the rain didn't dampen your enthusiasm. Bernard's book is a great read and the perfect insight into the work that went into the early settlement of the mountain. O'Reilly's hope to welcome you back again to complete some of the other walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 days and it was the best time we have ever had, you immediately feel at home. The staff were lovely and knew a lot about the rainforest and history of the area, and the story of the o'reilly family. The food was amazing and very reasonable if you eat at the bar and the complimentary tea in the afternoons was a nice touch, you end up chatting to lots of the other guests. We went on the glow worm tour, flying fox, segway tour, lost spa, bird feeding, tree top walk and a trek through the rainforest which was stunning. Every activity was superb. The accomodation was amazing, we stayed in the mountain view room overlooking a fabulous view and had birds landing on our balcony eating out of our hands. Would highly reccomend to anyone we know, we cant wait to go back hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderingwolfchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us last year, thank you for taking the time to enter your review. O'Reilly's hopes to welcome you back again soon, we have a new menu in the bar and the dining room as well as some great new packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with the meals package as a family of 4 (children 12 and 10). The meals package is very worthwhile. The meals are excellent and there really are no other choices on the mountain. Jade provided excellent service. We spent 2 nights in a mountain view room. These are warm and clean... a bit like a motel room but with amazing views. We had one night in a one bedroom canopy room as we fancied a fireplace in the bedroom. WOW. What a room. Separate sleeping for the children. 4 balconies, although only 2 are worth using and they have amazing views and a lovely big spa bath to relax in after the bush walks.
I'd highly recommend the glow worms walk and the 4WD tours. Duncan is a ratbag and makes great billy tea and damper.
The weather was wild for the first 2 days. We sat around the fire places, played cards and other board games. I love that there are no TVs in the room. Happy hour, that lasts an hour and a half, at sunset is really something.
This is a beautiful national park. The walks are well maintained, especially considering the battering nature has provided over the last couple of years and the staff made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the upgrade to the canopy rooms. Better space and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, I agree, the canopy suites are pretty special. It is a lovely way to reconnect with each other and enjoy an 'unplugged' holiday. O'Reilly's looks forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in a Mountain View Room on a special deal which was half price late last year. For the price we paid, we were satisfied with our stay, but had we paid full price I would not have been happy. I believe the more expensive villas are modern and amazing (and extremely expensive) but the room we had for $238/night was tired and shabby. The bathroom was very ordinary, had an old laminate vanity and shower recess. No TVs in the rooms (I get the point of it, but it's boring!). The morning and afternoon tea that is included is a joke, hardly worth walking over for. The location is amazing, views and birdlife are spectacular, but the whole affair is horribly overpriced. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but enjoyed our meals in the bar. Great service by most of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank for taking the time to provide your review. We have made quite a few changes to both the dining room menu as well as the morning and afternoon tea selection and service since your stay in 2012, based on guest feedback received. O'Reilly's would love to welcome you back, give our reservations team a call for information on our packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
20.5 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
281 reviews
21.3 mi away
Tall Trees Motel
Tall Trees Motel
#7 of 9 in North Tamborine
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Canungra Hotel
Canungra Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canungra
89 reviews
18.6 mi away
Mt Tamborine Motel
Mt Tamborine Motel
#10 of 21 in Tamborine Mountain
74 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mountain Edge Studios
Mountain Edge Studios
#15 of 21 in Tamborine Mountain
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range: $105 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing