We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountains and wildlife at their best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 25, 2013

O'Reillys is one of those iconic places that is full of character and history. It was my first visit but I have been aware of its history over many years. The garden view room was comfortable and very close to all the facilities of the retreat. The surrounding views and the walks are stunning but not enough time to take it all in unfortunately. Some of the activities are getting to be expensive eg the 1+ hour evening glow worm walk for $30- was a bit over the top. But overall a great experience and there is something for everyone in terms of the length and difficulty of the walks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattE217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your time in writing your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and would hope that we can welcome you back to fit in some of the other walks and locations that you couldn't do on this visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
There are newer reviews for O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom villa. There were two adult couples and we found the villa very spacious, clean and comfortable. The beds were great and the showers lovely. The views were incredible and as we had booked the dinner and breakfast package, much bushwalks were needed to work off the food. Only one thing marred our adventure. The hot breakfasts were far from being hot. If they can sort out that little problem, then a 5 star rating from us.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom villa. Very clean, spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvw163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Villas. The dining room has been advised of your recommendations for the breakfast and have worked to ensure that the breakfast buffet is kept to temperature. We look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a retreat away from the hustle and bustle of city life this is definitely not the place for you.

If you're a family looking for a nice getaway so the kids can experience some nature-spot on.

We stayed in a Rainforrest Retreat 2 bedroom canopy suite, which has no kitchen facilities besides basic tea and coffee making, so we were at complete mercy for all meals at the extremely over priced restaurant (with very average food) and kiosk shared with the tourists buying their ice creams and souvenirs as there is nothing else available in the area-certainly nothing 'retreat' about that. An interesting concept.

As for the room itself, it had some huge pluses like a huge spa bath in the room and a beautiful bathroom-but it stops there-which is a huge shame.
We had a log fire-but a small amount of wet wood and no kindling, I guess we would need to leave our 'retreat' to go and ask for some. Very chilly indeed.

The verandas and outdoor areas need a good sweep and tidy up.
Our living room was kinda cosy but we had a strange, huge open space to one side below the staircase-my guess is there was table and chairs here at one point beside a kitchenette which has been removed?

As for the drive up here-if your not put off by hair pin bends, road only big enough for one car at a time most of the way, coming head to head with busses and cars around tight turns for 35ks, then go for it.

I really can't make my mind up here, perhaps if this place was advertised accordingly my opinion would be different?

My advice would be to make sure you book accomodation that is fully self contained-unless you are cashed up and have no problems leaving your 'retreat' to go and pay through the nose for very average food for every meal in the glorified food hall.

Definitely some revising, re-vamping, and re-thinking of advertising required so guests aren't disappointed when they get here! It's a resort-NOT a retreat.


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffinman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologise that sufficient dry wood wasn't set up ready in your suite for your arrival and use throughout the weekend. As you mentioned, we do have the Villas available, which are self contained plus have gas fireplaces in the lounge area, this option may suit you better on another visit. Unfortunately, we can't do anything about the road, it was originally built for bullock trains collecting the trees being logged early last century so to achieve a gentle gradient, there are a number of switchbacks. We advise that visitors drive with their lights on and make use of the pull off zones to admire the view or to let drivers pass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent two nights at O'reilly's in a one bedroom canopy suite. This was one of the nicest rooms we had on our trip to Australia. The view of the forrest and the valley from our decks was beautiful. The rain forrest setting is unique. If you want a back to nature experience this is the place for you. We ate in both the dining room and the bar and were disappointed by the food. It may be a matter of taste but the menu had some odd combinations--there were two sampler platters on the dining room menu that featured vegemite and the "Italian" pizza had meatballs instead of pepperoni or sausage. Probably our most unsatisfactory dining experience of the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodation and can also let you know that the menu has been changed and updated. You can view the new menu options on our website www.oreillys.com.au/dining . You may be happy to know that there is only one dish with vegemite as a component. We'd love to welcome you back next time you come to Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went up to O'Reilly's for a weekend package and we were very disappointed with the quality of the accommodation. Since last time we visited the resort has become very run down and neglected. The rooms were outdated, poorly lit and dirty and all we had was a far too small bar heater to keep us warm on a very cold night. The view would have been good, were it not for a very overgrown hedge which blocked our view. If you plan to go to O'Reilly with your family I would definitely not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 577Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Annie,
Thank you for your feedback, it is always very useful to receive such feedback for our service improvements. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Our more modern accommodation are our Villas, which are self contained and have the gas fires in the lounge. This accommodation has been very popular with families that would like more flexibility in their accommodation arrangements. Perhaps you would like to stay here on another visit?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is easily my fifth visit to O'Reilly's over the last 20 years. Much has changed over that time, and this visit definitely showed the commercial realities that go with running a business in a remote area. I remember when all activities were included, now many you need to pay for, and they don't run as often.

The property itself is still rustic, but well maintained. The room I had booked promised mountain views, which it had, but it was a view beyond the rooves of the building in front - not quite what I expected, for the room rate.

The breakfasts are excellent - delicious, homemade baked beans, scrambled eggs that actually have more eggs than milk, and a large variety of other food. The half price cocktails during happy hour are interesting concoctions, and the full price at $24 seems extreme, so I'm not sure how many actually get ordered outside the happy hour period. Apart from some bar food, the only option for dinner is the restaurant, and contrary to what the in-room information says, they don't take bookings. So, you either get in early, or plan to eat later, or go hungry. This I found most disappointing, as in an area where there are no dinner choices, not taking bookings is not particularly considerate.

The walks around the property are lovely, and there a few different lengths and grades to choose from. That is really why I would come up here now.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room that is unobstructed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlphaTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do receive great comments on the breakfast - a fantastic way to get prepared for a good days bush walking.
O'Reilly's has recently re-introduced the 'no reservation' system back into the dining room as a way to increase the communal dining experience, we have had some initial transitional disruptions but these are being smoothed out.
I hope that next time you visit you can take advantage of our "Best of' packages that do include the majority of the activity options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went up to O'Reilly's on a long weekend package, it was excellent, absolutely beautiful place from the dining expereince, bush walking and the Eco Rangers for the kids.
Highly recommend it especually for Brisbane folk a real rainforest experience.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Hi Vanessa, Thank you for your valued feedback, I agree - O'Reilly's is in a stunning location. I am glad that you all enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
21.4 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
266 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
272 reviews
10.1 mi away
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Crystal Creek
187 reviews
14.8 mi away
Canungra Hotel
Canungra Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canungra
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range: $105 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing