We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did not stay, we just had lunch and enjoyed the views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We did a day trip from Tweed Heads up to O'Reilly's. I have heard for years what a great location it is and we were not disappointed - wonderful views. Some of the older accommodation looks a bit tired from the outside but we asked to see one of the rooms and although small it was well appointed.

Room Tip: A long drive up the mountain but the views are wonderful when you get there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobL63_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thanks for the review! It is a magnificent location where you can really get in touch with nature again. The property does endure a lot of weather and we try to keep our buildings properly maintained as best we can. We are currently in the process of updating various areas of the Retreat. We are happy you enjoyed your time there and hope to see you at O'Reilly's again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

What an amazing place, I have never been anywhere quite like this and thoroughly enjoyed my 4 night stay. The mountain road is very treacherous and quite stressful to manoeuvre, however once you reach O'Reilly's, it's all worth it!

We enjoyed some walks through to Lamington Falls and an extended version of this. We saw amazing wildlife (blue lobster!) lorikeets and many others!

The food is amazing! One of my highlights is watching the sun go down at the Bar drinking cocktails and relaxing.

My only criticism of O'Reilly's is that I think for the price you pay the service could be more flexible (e.g allow usage of the Spa even if not having a treatment, allow customers to opt in and out of breakfast on a day by day basis with ease)

I would definitely recommend O'Reilly's as this is quite an experience. As well as the amazing intimacy with nature, it is also interesting to learn thefamily history of O'Reilly's.



  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwebbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It really is such a special and unique part of the world and I’m so glad that you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us. There is a lot of beautiful fauna and flora in Lamington National Park. I am thrilled you managed to enjoy a sunset cocktail at our bar; it is a great way to wind down and relax. Thank you for your recommendations on the Spa usage and breakfast, we will take these into future consideration. We hope to see you back at O’Reilly’s again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We only stayed 1 night for a weekend getaway but spent a glorious 2 days here. There is so much to do at the retreat. Hiking, segway tours, bird feeding, spa treatments etc are among the activities. Waking up to the birds on our balcony surrounded by beautiful rainforest was just what we needed.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jemmykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time staying at O'Reilly's back in November and that you enjoyed the activities the retreat provides.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, and enjoyed the beauty of the park and the friendly helpful staff. In particular, Jacqui and Young in the restaurant were lovely. Seeing the possums come in for a feed just outside the windows was great. The villa we had was very comfy, but sadly the heater didn't work the first night. The maintenance man came the next day, and got it going, but it was inadvertently turned off later that evening and we were unable to restart it. Hope that gets fixed before winter!!

Room Tip: For winter months, choose a room with sun on the veranda if possible. Ours didn't get much sun u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFlaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

It is great to read that you had a wonderful time at O'Reilly's and that you found our staff helpful. We are sorry to hear that the heater wasn't functioning properly for you. We do conduct regular check-ups to make sure the appliances are working in our villas however thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to see you at O'Reilly's again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the villas at O'Reillys, this is a great place, the villas are new and very well kept, they have all the amenities including washer and dryer, all have a Jacuzzi bath on the deck and it is worth to pay the extra money for a Valley View Villa, watching the sunset from your Jacuzzi over Mt Lindsay and Mt Barney, is priceless. They also have fire place and heating/Air Con in every room, plenty of blankets and spacious coverts to put stuff away.

O'Reillys offers a series of activities (almost all for extra cost) that we did not use, so I can not give my opinion on this, but I saw people riding a segway trough the forest and they seem pretty content, also they offer a Eco-Range kids activities but our kids are teens so they went hiking with us.

Lamington park is beautiful place, there are many walking trials and all are very well sign post,at check in you get a map with activities list, hours and prices. Unfortunately we went there a short time after a cyclone had pass trough the area and many of the walks were closed (since they were unsafe) but we had plenty to do, Did the Moran Falls, the Elabana Falls and Box Log falls, wanted to do the border track to Bina Burra but could not find transport to either take us there or bring us back (walking back is not an option since is almost 22 Km) but they told us there is a bus that take you there early on Saturdays so you can walk back, instead we walk on it for about 7 Km to the first look out and it is really worth it, the vegetation changes with the altitude. We saw plenty of wildlife including a black red belly snake, plenty of birds and paddlemelons, the people at the National Park information Centre (just across the road from O'Reillys) are very nice and give you loads of information.

There are two pools in the resort, one in the main building and the other in the spa (did not have time to try it, looked at the prices and they seem reasonable), this one looked gorgeous but they are not heated so you need to be a bit brave or go in the summer.

They have a restaurant that offer meals but we did not try it. also there is a shop that sales basic stuff but I recommend to bring all your food if you plan to cook. Also bring cleaning cloths and pads, they provided some but not very good quality and you are required to leave all dishes clean as well as the BBQ, so you need a good pad to do this easily.

In short we had four wonderful days there and it is in the list of must go back places.

Room Tip: If you can pay for the Valley View Villa, the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank volatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend away at O'Reilly's. Especially that you found the Villas so accommodating and worth the spend.

It is disappointing to read that you were not able to do all the tracks, due to weather damage. We are hoping that they will be opened soon.

Hope to see you and your family at O'Reilly's again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in the Mountain villas which cannot be faulted. They were extremely well layed out, with two ensuites, great jacuzzi on the terrace and plenty of space both inside and out. The gas fire worked great and having split a/c - heat units in each room meant you were always at the temperature you wanted to be. The kitchen has very good quality appliances and they provide plenty of high quality tea, coffee, sugar and washing and cleaning liquids.

We had the valley view villa and the view was fantastic looking into NSW. Sitting there in the jacuzzi watching the sunset - worth those extra bucks for the valley view!

As to the rest of the place - they have lots of activities (Birds of Prey shop, animal show, segway rides, trips to other places, guided walks) at pretty steep prices. The shop has very limited stuff to make meals with - so take your own. We didn't eat in the restaurant or cafe. The only request we made of reception (to organise a bus to Binna Burra) was basically ignored - so not so good on the customer service front. Also the staff working the cafe and shop didn't have the most understandable english skills - another slight drawback.

Overall the Villas by themselves easily get 5stars (the only downside is the price!). The rest of the place needs some work from what we could see.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the valley view villa. Villas 1,2 and 3 are particularly good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at O'Reilly's, especially that you couldn't fault the villas. The view and amenities are world class.

I am sorry to read that you found the customer service to be unsatisfactory, especially since we pride ourselves in excellent customer service. Your comments have not been taken lightly and are being currently actioned.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to O'Reilly's soon, so that you may see an improvement.

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After spending four days at Surfers Paradise, we drove up the mountain O'Reilly's. Wow! The drive was breathtaking indeed. The road was winding, narrow in certain sections, but not unsafe if you follow the basic principles of safe driving. The last few kilometers through the narrow lane between tall trees was great. I would have loved to stop and take pictures had there not been other cars following mine!

The experience was great, right from the booking. A couple of days before my arrival, I received an email from Shannon Murphy informing me about the closure of the Lamington Park road during night. A very thoughtful gesture indeed. Queries were replied promptly. We arrived a couple of hours before the scheduled checkin time and were allowed to check into our Mountain View room immediately. Being a weekday, the retreat was quiet with only a few guests. At the reception, we were given information about the activities at the resort as well as a map of the different walks in Lamington National Park.

Our mountain view room was spacious enough for four of us. The room was not luxurious, which is understandable considering that the retreat is located in a pristine forest, but was clean and comfortable. The bathroom, beds, towels, linen all clean and the various appliances in the room in good working condition. The view of the mountain ranges from the balcony was superb!

After having a quick packed lunch, which we had brought along from Surfers Paradise, we set out exploring around the retreat. It was drizzling lightly and we took the Booyong walk and the treetop walk. When we were back, it was time for the afternoon tea. Booked the glow worm tour for that night at the reception. We went to the library and browsed the literature about Stinson crash while kids played the grand piano. As dusk fell, it got so quiet. Having stayed in big cities, we rarely experience this kind of quiet where even a whisper travels a long way. At 8 o'clock, we assembled at the reception where we were met with by our guide Duncan. The 4 WD vehicle moved into darkness of the forest as we spotted Wallabys on the way. A 20 minute walk alongside a stream took us to the glow worm gully. Thought that we were in a movie theatre with stars shining on the movie screen.

Early next morning, saw some wallaby's out of my balcony and got some nice close up pictures. At first I thought they were shy animals and approached it slowly. But it seems that they don't mind human presence and continued with their 'breakfast' while I took pictures from close distance. Later in the morning, we joined the morning bird walk. Wow! Bird spotting had never been so easy. Robins, bowerbirds, parrots, spinebill and many others. There are so many different birds around. Later in the day, we went for a walk to the Moran's falls. It was all down hill on the way to the falls (and ofcourse the reverse on the way back!). We took the route through the O'Reilly's villas. The water fall was majestic with a lots of water.

It was the first day of the Easter weekend and by the time we returned from Moran's falls, the retreat was so crowded with guests and day visitors. The day visitors' car park was full and there were cars parked at every available space. It was a complete contrast to the what we saw when we arrived a day earlier. We were glad we got to spend a day there before the long weekend started when it was all so quiet!

We had taken a room only package so did'nt eat that the resort restaurant. Had food a couple of times at O'Reilly's mountain cafe which was good. The morning and afternoon tea at the retreat was ok, but not great.

The next morning, we checked out and moved the car to the day visitors car park. As our flight out of Brisbane was to depart after midnight, we had to fill in a few hours. So we went for our own bird walk. We walked a part of the Border track and spotted a few more birds.

Two nights at O'Reilly's was a perfect culmination of our Gold Coast holiday. Would I recommend this place to my friends? Certainly I will. Will I come back to O'Reilly's? - I would love to but, unlikely anytime in the near future. Australia is a big country and if I visit there again, it would be probably to some other part of the country.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback, your review is fantastic! Glad to read that you were able to experience the serenity of O'Reilly's, before the busy Easter weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to O'Reilly's soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
19.9 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
93 reviews
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
8.4 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Canungra Hotel
Canungra Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canungra
85 reviews
10.1 mi away
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Crystal Creek
190 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range: $108 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing