We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers Meets Butlins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a garden view room whilst we stayed here. First impressions not good due to the damp smell and the furniture in the room was grubby and dated. There were cobwebs everywhere and the shower was more akin to a prison shower (toiletries nailed to the wall) and the bathroom was small. The room didn't have any aircon and didn't seem to get cleaned thoroughly whilst we were there.

The restaturant at the hotel was, quite frankly, shocking. Everything there (for the evning meals at least) was microwaved. We where sat near the kitchen and you could actually here the microwave ping. Our desserts came out stone cold and we had to send them back for them to (presumably) be zapped at full power in the microwave. Breakfast was even better, on the first morning there it was raining so rather than have breakfast inside, which is perhaps traditional, we had breakfast outside. I have travelled to many places and have never been forced to eat outside in the rain.

We were also told there was afternoon tea. This is a lie. Whilst it is possible to get tea and coffee the cakes that accompany the drinks are disgusting.

Overall, I think you might be better sleeping in the rainforest than staying here. It's expensive, dated and not worth the visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AtticusFinch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Naturally, it is disappointing to read that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We generally receive great feedback on our food, however it is these types of comments that do keep us on our toes.

Your thoughts on the food preparation causes us great distress, as I assure you the meals are prepared without the use of a microwave. There is one microwave in the kitchen, near the desserts, used only to heat up chocolate fondant sauce, as you can imagine it is a messy task to continuously reheat chocolate sauce in a pot. In addition, it is a rarity that guests don’t enjoy the Sunday BBQ breakfast, which is set up at the covered pavilion to offer a variety in scenery, as well as incorporating an Australian tradition. Understandably you did not enjoy the rain aspect of the rainforest.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the overall dissatisfaction experienced. At O’Reilly’s, we consistently endeavour to progress and adapt, without losing the family and traditional element that so many of our return guests expect to see year in and year out.

I hope we have the opportunity to see you again at O’Reilly’s so you can see an improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in room 23 "mountain view" room. After reading reviews I was not sure of what to expect but I must say we were pleasantly surprised at the standard of accommodation at o'reillys. We have stayed at a number of lodges in the USA and I can honestly say that o'reillys is certainly up to standard for a retreat in a remote location such as lamington national park. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Check in was quick and we booked a few tours at the reception desk with no problems. We visited O'reillys just a few days after the area had experienced horrendous rain, flooding and storms. The staff had done an amazing job of clearing the roads up to the retreat from all the trees that were blocking the road up the mountain. It is certainly a testament of dedication from the staff when you see what they achieved in a short time so that visitors could come and enjoy this spectacular destination. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a great view of the mountains. Tea, coffee and a small fridge were supplied in the room. We visited the rainforest bar for happy hour and enjoyed cocktails and dinner on the patio. Loved watching the sunset from the paio while sipping on our cocktails. Rooms are serviced each day and the complementary morning and afternoon teas were delicious. We did several tours including 4wd tour, glow worm tour and the early morning bird talk. All were informative and worthwhile. Duncan the tour guide has a great sense of humour and adds value to the tours. Highly recommend O'reillys for couples and families. Will definitely be recommending O'reillys to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Any room with a mountain view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your valued and kind feedback - your comments have been passed on and are greatly appreciated.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially the standard of accommodation and service. We have a very dedicated team here and we are glad that it shows.

If you have any pictures, we would love to share them! Please visit our facebook page to submit your favourite photos.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to O'Reilly's soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our first family trip away for over a year and we were not disappointed. Everything about the stay was fantastic... some summaries below.

The staff were great. Our guides on the activities we undertook were knowledgeable and friendly and made the experience great. Checkin staff were friendly, as were those in the cafe and mini mart.

The accommodation (Bower #11) was excellent! I had read some negative reviews on here before the trip, but seriously, for the experience you are after staying in a rainforest, they are excellent! They were clean, well presented, well stocked with necessities, and everything worked well. Nothing better than lighting the fire on a misty evening.

The adventures we undertook (Glow Worms, Flying Fox, Walks, One on One Bird Encounter) were great, well run and the kids loved them.

Our afternoon spent with Mark doing the one on one birds of prey experience was well worth it and Stella and Dorothy were fantastic, such amazing birds.

Already looking forward to planning our next trip, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a villa looking down the valley, and this was definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

What great feedback – thank you for taking the time to share your O’Reilly’s experience, in particular the positive comments on O’Reilly’s activities and villa accommodation. Thanks for sharing your family holiday with us, we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We returned to O'Reilly's after 6 years to stay in one of the self-contained villas, 300m from the main O'Reilly's retreat/hotel. Our villa was no. 47, with a jaw-dropping view over the escarpment from the deck. This was one of the better appointed 2br villas I've stayed in - Miele appliances in the kitchen, air conditioning in living areas and both bedrooms, spa on the deck, and polished wooden floors. Our 3 children fitted easily into the second bedroom. Although I thought 5 days there would be ample, sadly it wasn't enough. The children were occupied on several days with the excellent eco-rangers kids' program (fantastic value for money at $15 - $20 per child for around 3 hours, morning and/or evening session), allowing us to do some more strenuous bushwalks. The gorgeous infinity-edge pool near the villas was a revelation - a beautiful 25m pool seemingly perched on the edge of the escarpment. But beware - there is a fairly steep walk back up the hill to most of the villas. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant (which we only ate at twice) offered tasty, although not sensational, food. We mainly self-catered, allowing us to admire the beautiful sunsets from our deck. O'Reilly's provide a detailed walking map to guests which is slightly more detailed than the Parks and Wildlife one. Make sure to sample some of the half-day walks - don't be put off by the sign at the beginning of the Blue Pool/West Canungra Creek Track - it's not that bad trudging back up the hill! Recommend the walk to Pat's Bluff (West Cliffs), off the Python Rock track - fantastic views. Didn't try the Lost World Spa, but perhaps on another visit ... My daughter particularly enjoyed the bird feeding, too. Note: the walking track between the villas and the main O'Reilly's complex is a 300m long bush track, and uphill on the way to O'Reilly's, so don't wear your high heels or thongs.

Room Tip: If opting for the villas, choose a valley view one, although not at the very top of the hill if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for the glowing review on your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in O’Reilly’s Villas and enjoyed many of the walking trails in Lamington National Park. Your feedback on the Eco Rangers was well received by our team. Thanks for sharing your feedback, we hope to see you again soon (and next time for longer!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Not normally a nervous passenger/driver, but what a dreadful road (through gorgeous scenery) to get up there, single track, twisting, turning, switchbacks: thought I was in a James Bond film – but what a marvellous place. The one thing I regretted was that we only had the one day. The room was fabulous, with a view to die for – and our balcony was visited by rosella parrots, which were truly fascinated by my teddy bear (one landed on him and pecked his eye!). Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. We did a few walks from the hotel, including a very short one which everyone should be encouraged to do: the treetop walk (on walkways in the forest). Amazing birdlife. We ate a great plate of antipasti in the very small bar. I regret so much that we were unable to stay longer than one night.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AndTedcametoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your great feedback on Tripadvisor. True, the road to O’Reilly’s is mountainous and winding, I can only imagine the experience in the 1930’s when there was not a sealed road at all! We recommend guests take it easy on the way up - enjoy views of the mountains and valleys, sight the different wildlife and be mesmerised by the mystical rainforest – drivers, we urge you concentrate on the road (and swap on the return journey!)
It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay at O’Reilly’s – we wish you could have stayed longer too! Perhaps on your next visit to Australia, we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in a mountain villa and were totally impressed and in awe. This place is a treat. Naturally very beautiful, gorgeous walks amazing views. The accommodation was fabulous. All the facilities of home and beautifully done. Clean, spacious and some luxuries for the adults. Great attention to detail. Hot spa on the deck, infinity pool, day spa. Gorgeous! Just take your own wine as we forgot and paid about $40 a bottle. Also there is very little fresh food up there so take your own if you are planning to cook yourself. The kitchen is fabulous and there is a gas bbq on the deck. We ate in as we had 2 little children. I highly recommend this gorgeous resort, it is a family business and it feels like it. The kids loved the night glow worm tour. The cafe has lovely views as well and is pleasant. Bring your walking shoes.

Room Tip: Villa 16 is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbo_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for the five star review – we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at O’Reilly’s villas and the kids enjoyed the Glow Worm and Spotlighting tour! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visited O'Reilly's in December. Though it was very hot in the Gold Coast, we had lovely cool breezes, perfect walking weather. The Lamington National Park is really special: we came expecting "typical" wildlife (koalas et al), but instead learnt so much about birds we never knew existed: lyrebirds, quolls, brush turkeys...
The new villas are perfect for family holidays, spacious, private and beautifully appointed.
We were a very large family with ages spanning 5-73! Nobody was bored, nobody was left out of activities, which are very reasonably priced and extremely professionally-run. The children fell in love with the activities staff, and were so inspired by their enthusiasm for nature. This year's "12 days of Christmas" carol got completely re-written after our stay at O'Reillys, ending with the refrain "And a funnel-web spider in a tree... run away!" (Don't worry, we didn't actually find any in the hotel, though several nests were pointed out to us during our guided walks)
The staff kept us comfortable and well-fed. The food was excellent, portions were massive. Although we stayed for 5 nights and dined every evening in the dining room, we were never bored. Long live the O'Reilly's Irish stew.

Room Tip: The villas are a wonderful choice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumofkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thanks for the great review! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in O'Reilly's Villas and the whole family joined in the array of activities on offer. True - we have some weird and wonderful wildlife in Lamington National Park and it was great to read you met many of the "locals". (I love Aunt Molly's Irish stew too!!)

Thank you for taking the time to share you O'Reilly's experience - we hope to see you again on your next visit to Australia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
14.8 mi away
Canungra Hotel
Canungra Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canungra
89 reviews
20.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
279 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Odd Gecko
The Odd Gecko
#1 of 2 in Canungra
28 reviews
23 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range: $107 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing