We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in a mountain villa and were totally impressed and in awe. This place is a treat. Naturally very beautiful, gorgeous walks amazing views. The accommodation was fabulous. All the facilities of home and beautifully done. Clean, spacious and some luxuries for the adults. Great attention to detail. Hot spa on the deck, infinity pool, day spa. Gorgeous! Just take your own wine as we forgot and paid about $40 a bottle. Also there is very little fresh food up there so take your own if you are planning to cook yourself. The kitchen is fabulous and there is a gas bbq on the deck. We ate in as we had 2 little children. I highly recommend this gorgeous resort, it is a family business and it feels like it. The kids loved the night glow worm tour. The cafe has lovely views as well and is pleasant. Bring your walking shoes.

Room Tip: Villa 16 is very private.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbo_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for the five star review – we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at O’Reilly’s villas and the kids enjoyed the Glow Worm and Spotlighting tour! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
There are newer reviews for O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visited O'Reilly's in December. Though it was very hot in the Gold Coast, we had lovely cool breezes, perfect walking weather. The Lamington National Park is really special: we came expecting "typical" wildlife (koalas et al), but instead learnt so much about birds we never knew existed: lyrebirds, quolls, brush turkeys...
The new villas are perfect for family holidays, spacious, private and beautifully appointed.
We were a very large family with ages spanning 5-73! Nobody was bored, nobody was left out of activities, which are very reasonably priced and extremely professionally-run. The children fell in love with the activities staff, and were so inspired by their enthusiasm for nature. This year's "12 days of Christmas" carol got completely re-written after our stay at O'Reillys, ending with the refrain "And a funnel-web spider in a tree... run away!" (Don't worry, we didn't actually find any in the hotel, though several nests were pointed out to us during our guided walks)
The staff kept us comfortable and well-fed. The food was excellent, portions were massive. Although we stayed for 5 nights and dined every evening in the dining room, we were never bored. Long live the O'Reilly's Irish stew.

Room Tip: The villas are a wonderful choice for families.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumofkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thanks for the great review! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in O'Reilly's Villas and the whole family joined in the array of activities on offer. True - we have some weird and wonderful wildlife in Lamington National Park and it was great to read you met many of the "locals". (I love Aunt Molly's Irish stew too!!)

Thank you for taking the time to share you O'Reilly's experience - we hope to see you again on your next visit to Australia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Six of us there for an early celebration of our daughter's birthday, in the luxurious accommodation of a Bower (for the first time in our many visits). BBQ dinner on Friday; à la carte on Saturday (the bus just happened to be passing and stopped to take us up the hill - enjoyed the race back checking whether road or track was shorter - the latter won), after a 12+ km walk and complimentary late check-out Sunday. In Glasgow it would be rated PDB - Pure Dead Brilliant. Thanks for another memorable family occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

I am pleased you the family enjoyed your recent stay in the self-contained villa - thank you for sharing your O’Reilly’s experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It has been 15 years since we last stayed at O'Reilly's and our recent visit was a little disappointing. The room we stayed in was basically as we found it 15 years ago. The mattress had seen better days, the room was unscreened and lacked airconditioning, television and WiFi. The bathroom was also dated. O'Reilly's state that the lack of Television and Internet in the Rainforest Retreat rooms is deliberate, so as to maximise the ability of clients to "chill out". But a choice would be good.

Enough with the negatives! The location is amazing, but care needs to be taken on the road as it climbs towards the Guesthouse, as some inexperienced drivers, often in rental cars, just don't understand that "give and take" is the way to handle narrow, winding roads. The facilities for enjoying the rainforest are second to none, with extensive walks on well maintained tracks and wonderful vistas and amazing flora and fauna. The Antarctic Beech forest, the wheel chair friendly Treetop Walk, Glowworms are just some of the great things to see and do. The facilities in the public area of the Guesthouse are very good and excellent facilities for children are available.

The staff were probably the most friendly and enthusiastic we have encountered in Australia. Nothing was a problem. Staff are housed at the Guesthouse, but the staff quarters are not obvious to guests, and the cost of housing and feeding staff is reflected in the cost of guest food and accomodation, which is above what you would normally expect, but given the isolation of the Guesthouse, possibly not really an issue.

The self-contained Mountain Villas are first class. They are airconditioned, with televisions,WiFi, BBQ's on decks overlooking the valley and first class fit out to ensure maximum comfort and enjoyment.

Since the 1920's the O'Reilly family have been caring custodians of the area and the attitude to conservation is very apparent to this day. At least one visit to O'Reilly's is a must on the Southeast Queensland Bucket List.

Room Tip: If possible try for a Mountain Villa or some of the newer rooms above the Guesthouse.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We value the time you have taken to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. One of our key strengths is that our guests are comfortable in sharing their comments, so thanks for providing a detailed review.

At first glance, I was surprised and disappointed of your feedback – but as I read on there were only a few negatives before a glowing review. Agree, the Mountain View Rooms are due for an update you will be pleased to know we have already commenced work in common areas, the rooms are next on the list. The mattress comment is an odd one, they were replaced again only last year. We stand by our philosophy of no televisions, wifi or telephones in the rooms however and I don’t see that happening anytime in the future. Most of our retreat guests are there to explore the rainforest, meet the ‘locals’ and immerse in nature. That said, the villas have all modern conveniences (including aircon, fireplaces, kitchen and spa) for those who require that added luxury on their holiday.

Thanks for the great feedback on the staff we pride ourselves on offering warm and welcoming service. I am pleased you enjoyed many of the activities on offer too, both free and paid.

It was great to have you visit again, I hope its not 15 years between drinks before your next visit – thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

O'Reilly's is a stunning spot with beautiful views and plenty to do for nature lovers. However the rooms in the Guesthouse are tired and worn and could certainly do with an upgrade. The staff however are completely the opposite, we could not have asked for more friendlier and effective service during what is a busy time of year. On our first night we were given room 17 with a family with three kids next door. We were woken up twice by a crying baby needing a feed and the whole family was up by 6am, including dad who was talking so loudly on his phone we heard the entire conversation. The walls are very thin at O'Reilly's. When we asked to move rooms we were given a choice of four and ended up choosing room 41 which is up the hill at the top of a slightly newer building with only one adjoining neighbour and a room downstairs. Much more peaceful and a much better view from the balcony. It's the small things about the rooms and facilities at O'Reilly's that could be improved. Updating bathrooms and furniture, new carpet, maintaining the balcony furniture, providing some basic cutlery in rooms so you can eat fruit or a snack in the room, and having some cheaper food alternatives, or self catering options for people on budgets. Beware the day trippers on bus trips - they overrun the cafe. Overall though a pleasant stay, with the view and staff making up for shabby tired rooms. These aren't four star rooms - if you want higher end facilities try the villas.

Room Tip: If you are after some peace and quiet book a tree canopy room, or ask for a room away from the main...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rarablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback on the O’Reilly’s staff. We pride ourselves of delivering warm and welcoming service and your comments have been well received by our teams. I am pleased we were able to accommodate the room change and you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We are currently in the process of updating different areas of the property, perhaps you will notice a change on your next visit. Agree, if it’s four star accommodation your after – the villas are an ideal choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of October. The whole hotel is made up of blocks of rooms and chalets; the chalets being more expensive and away from the main building. The feeling is of entering a hunting lodge from back in the 1970's - all wood and heavily patterned carpets showing wear and tear. Our room had a lovely mountain view. We went on to our balcony and immediately were welcomed by a number of brightly coloured parrot-type birds. The room itself was decorated in wood. There was no central heating, just a convector heater for when it was cold - and it was cold and damp the day we arrived. The lighting was dim. The shower room was in need of updating. The place seemed to be full of bird watchers and walkers - all suitably equipped and attired. We didn't have suitable equipment with us. We spent our time walking around the tracks close to the hotel and looking at the wildlife. We ate in the bar the first night. This was quite nice and reasonable. There was a roaring fire to keep people warm. The next night we ate in the restaurant. The theme was Hallow'en. The food was good, but not exciting and a bit overpriced. There is a little cafe/shop for coffee, cakes, icecream and gifts. This hotel was recommended by our travel agent. In retrospect if we'd known what it was like, we would have missed it out of our itinerary for our month of travelling in Australia. It was not a cheap option. However it was an experience and we did see some beautiful birds.

Room Tip: At the very least you must have a mountain view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeeboTeebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. O’Reilly’s is Australia’s longest family owned and run accommodation also famous for the abundance of wildlife, birds and ancient rainforest. It’s a unique Australian experience in a World Heritage listed National Park, only two hours from Brisbane CBD. O’Reilly’s is a true nature lover’s paradise – I understand that it may not appeal to everyone however am pleased you enjoyed your visit and you had the opportunity to meet some of the ‘locals’.

Thanks for your feedback on the room; I am happy to advise that we are currently undergoing updates and soft refurb across the property. Thanks again for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I recently spent a fabulous week at O'Reilley's Rainforest Retreat. We had a relaxing time, met some lovely new people, and celebrated our honeymoon in a wonderful setting. Wesigned up for Bird Week--an annual special event at O'Reilley's that focuses on hikes and lectures about the abundant birdlife of the rainforest and surrounding area in Queensland. We were staying in a garden room It was spacious and well appointed. All our meals were included as well as some special meals. Most were excellant with a range of offerings that met the desires of the diverse Bird Week group. Some of the vegetarian/special meals failed to meet the expectations of our fellow guests, but we always found something that met our own needs. Each of the guides were friendly and knowledgable. They went out of their way to make sure that everyone in the group had opportunities to observe the abundant wildlife and graciously shared their knowledge with birders of all levels in the group. Like any facilitiy, O'Reilley's has to constantly invest in repair and upkeep. We were inpressed by the beautiful common areas and even after our weeklong stay, we wished that we could have spent even more time exploring the many trails and wildlife areas. We will definitely be returning to O'Reilley's in the future.

Room Tip: Garden rooms were very quiet and had many varieties of birds that came to our private deck. The mou...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review, I am pleased you enjoyed O’Reilly’s annual bird week – did you know that it is the longest running birding event in Australia, now in its 36th year! Some of our birders have been to every event! Thank you for sharing your special occasion with us, we look forward to celebrating many more to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
21.4 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
266 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
272 reviews
10.1 mi away
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Crystal Creek
187 reviews
14.8 mi away
Canungra Hotel
Canungra Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canungra
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range: $105 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing