We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dorset
Level Contributor
295 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Treat!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The villas have all been sold except for five which were for sale and were offered to us.

We had a mountain-view bedroom in the main complex- allocated parking outside. . Excellent bedroom, wonderful view from our balcony.

Breakfast, morning coffee, afternoon tea and dinner are all included and are excellent.

The evening entertainment was included - natural history films made at and around the property were marvellous - not a Bill Oddey in sight. The early morning nature walk was included but geared to a lowest common denominator, I gave it a miss on the second day and went for a walk on the Border Trail. Other offerings are extras this was clearly confusing to other participants who were arguing at reception about their extras charges.. At the cost of a night I would expect the 'extras' to be included.

Room Tip: Mountain-view (if you can afford it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review – we now have only three villas left for sale, you have one last chance!

Thanks for taking the time to share your great feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Retreat, in particular the meals – your comments have been well received. It is great to read you experienced some easy guided walks and also some self-guided walks on the Border Track. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    349
    142
    76
    46
See reviews for
332
558
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

the villa room was we had was good, bed really comfortable. Not so happy about the birds constantly on the balcony's basically hounding you for food until you went back inside then tried to follow you there too. I realise that it is a byproduct of the hand feeding available at the cafe.
Really enjoyed the early morning bird walk and my companions were quite happy with the glow worm tour. The hiking available up here is great, lots of bird life seen and also the odd reptile.
had no problems with any of the reception staff but found the resturant wait staff not so good. Had to wait over an hour for dinner without anyone asking for a drink order then had to send one meal back as it was underdone. only sampled one of the afternoon tea's but it too seemed stale and unimaginative. the bar staff and meal we had upstairs was excellent the next night, quick food and the thai pizza was sublime.
I think I'll be back to camping up here instead of paying bigger money for the guest house accommodation. Was much more impressed when we stayed here last which admittedly was many years ago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayakcycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your O’Reilly’s experience and the great feedback on the villa accommodation, pizzas and activities.

Thanks for bringing to our attention your disappointing experience in the Dining Room – your comments are being followed up by the General Manager. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to O’Reilly’s soon to see an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff and very well designed accommodation in Mountain Villas.

Mid Week stay, quiet. All other comments agreed with. Lap pool great for a resort. Cocktails at bar very good for such a location. Steep walk from Villas to Guest House

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your O'Reilly's experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the cocktails and the surrounds, in particular the lap pool. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon...thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked at the last moment for just one night. We were offered a garden view room for AUD160 or a 'Mountain View Room' for AUD260. That's a bit above our normal rate but we chose the latter. Not one of our best decisions. As you will see from my photo we had a excellent view of a walkway and the back of other accommodation blocks, and indeed you can see the mountains above their roofs (or at least you could when the mists lifted) but the view was certainly NOT worth AUD100 per night. Other aspects of the room were also poor. The furniture was past its use-by date (see picture of coffee table), there were stains on the carpet and there was black mould in the shower (pic also added).
We were also subjected to the hard sell practised on check-in. "Do you wish book a AUD55 3 course dinner in the restaurant tonight?" No alternatives were mentioned. Fortunately we refused. We found later that the bar menu offers substantial bar meals much cheaper than that.
In fact we went a la carte in the restaurant and had an enjoyable meal for less than AUD 55. I think the hard sell on arrival, before you appreciate the possibilities, amounts to sharp practice.
Of course there are some positives. The abundance of wildlife in the immediate area was remarkable. We went on the local Glow worm tour and, while expensive at AUD30 each, the enthusiasm of the guide towards all wildlife (we also saw pademelons, frogs, eels and possums) was good to hear. The following morning we got up early to go on the bird walk. Unfortunately the guide didn't get up early so we were left waiting around for 40 minutes. When she did arrive she was brilliant. We think we are experienced birdwatchers but she showed us things we would never have seen without her.
We are glad we went for the wildlife experiences. We were surprised at the poor standard of accommodation though and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are overpriced by a big margin. Go for a garden room. There are plenty of places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. It is disappointing when we do not meet our guests expectations. True, the mist can disrupt the mountain views at times – that is nature at its best and not in our control unfortunately. Each Mountain View room has views of the Macpherson Ranges and no view is the same.

The Mountain View rooms are simple but comfortably furnished as our philosophy is that the rainforest, animals and views are the attraction. The O’Reilly family have been located on the mountain for over 100 years – quite amazing considering Australia is only 224 years old (and we hope to be here for a long time yet!) I agree, the rooms are a tad out-dated – but we are working on that.

Naturally, mould can be an issue in the middle of a rainforest, generally we are on top of this – the change of the season means we need to work even harder. Thanks for keeping us on our toes!

We believe that the meal package option is great value for money – but perhaps not for everyone. All our guests receive a confirmation letter with the different meal options prior to arrival. I can only apologise that you were led to believe that this was your only choice.

Thanks for your great feedback on our guided activities and the wildlife, after all it is the unique wildlife, beautiful location and O’Reilly’s staff that keeps people coming back again and again. I hope we have the opportunity to see you again at O’Reilly’s so you can see an improvement. Feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, mainly for birding and hiking. Positives: beautiful setting, great birding and hiking, comfortable room although showing wear and tear ("mountain" view room is more like "parking lot" view), excellent kitchen for dinner -- everything we had was quite marvelous except for Asian noodles (either have someone who knows how to cook Asian noodles or remove item from an otherwise really good menu), friendly guide at morning bird walk. Negatives: unsmiling unwelcoming front desk staff (should we apologize for arriving and wanting to check in?!), inattentive and almost rude dining room staff at dinner, except for the last night when we had a lovely waitress, the depressing complimentary morning and afternoon tea (we went to afternoon tea the first day we arrived -- never again! sipping tea in the dark back area of the dining room was definitely "not our cup of tea"!), and the shock of a rather large cockroach one night in our room when we returned from dinner (it was speedily dispatched, adding one more stain to an already stained carpet). Too bad there aren't other options in the area. If we were to return to this area, we would definitely not stay at O'Reilly's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Naturally, your feedback causes us concern, in particular the comments on our staff and dining experiences. We generally consistently good feedback, rest assured your comments have been taken seriously and management are following this up. We hope you see an improvement on room standards and staff attitude should we have the opportunity to welcome you back to O’Reilly’s.

Thanks for keeping us on our toes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I wanted to spend a night at O'Reillys, as it was our wedding anniversary and I'd heard it was a wonderful place. I knew there was a two night minimum, but as we could only stay one night I called them on the phone whereby we were offered a Mountain view room for one night..I was very impressed. Unfortunately the weather was bad for our stay...rain+wind the whole day (not their fault obviously)...so we were not really able to avail ourselves of some of the activities. Checking in was fairly quick and the receptionist was friendy. When it came time for lunch we were told that the restaurant did not do lunch and that we would have to eat at the nearby cafe. Also, the bar upstairs was closed and only opens at 4pm. At the cafe my wife orderd a pie with chips...as not much on the menu grabbed us, and I orderd a pizza with ham and pineapple. The waitress brought over the pie (minus the chips) on a plate..it was luke warm only and looked like it had been sitting in the pie warmer for a month. I asked for it to be taken back, heated up and served with the chips...which she did. My pizza was devoid of any taste, also luke warm with four or five small slices of ham and some pineapple pieces (like you get in tinned fruit). Terrible food. The atmosphere was more like a roadhouse cafe. Things were not much better at the "afternoon tea" at the restaurant...a lamington and coffee from a machine.
Luckily the evening meal was excellent...great food. However, the waiter who served us was, in my opinion, very rude. I asked him for a glass of wine for my wife, and half way through asking him he turned away to speak to someone, before looking back. The wine did not arrive, so I had to ask one of the waitresses..she was very nice. The best part of the stay was the evening Glow worm tour...despite the wind and rain we were treated very well by the friendly guide who even gave my wife his jacket to wear to keep her warmer. He was very knowledgeable and provided excellent information along the route. Breakfast the following morning was good, but again not all the waitresses were friendly...one particular one taking the plates off our table in a non-friendly way, not even acknowledging our thanks. I guess my overall imression is that not everyone working their enjoys their job. My wife and I left with an overall impression that we were not made to feel very welcome...certainly not what we're used to when we stay at other places. As for the mountain view room, it was basic but clean and comfortable..but it took around 3 minutes for the hot water to come out of the shower nozzle...I thought there was going to be a problem, and as there are no phones in the room there was no way to contact reception. There was plenty of birdlife, and as an amateur photographer it was great to get lots of photos...one of the best things about the retreat. Not sure we'd return again though.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guitarman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your O’Reilly’s experience. We value the our guests feedback, as it helps us identify what is important to our guests and which areas we can improve on.

It is pleasing to read your check in was swift and thank you for the comments about our friendly O'Reilly’s team. It is disappointing to read of your Mountain Café experience; we bake all our own pies fresh daily onsite and usually receive great comments – I am sorry that the pizza fell below expectations also, your comments are being investigated further by the General Manager.

That said, I am glad we were able to win you over during your evening meal. Naturally, your comments on our wait staff cause us great concern. O’Reilly’s is renowned for providing legendary service and it is not often we receive negative comments on our staff attitudes. The feedback on the waitress and activities guide is more in line with what we represent.

We don’t often hear a complaint about the hot water – rest assured, we will be investigating this issue. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to capture the bird life – feel free to load your images onto the website for all to see.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The ‘Garden View’ units have an old fashioned feel & look a bit ‘careworn’ but this is one of the attractions. The accommodation is compact but everything works and the rooms are serviced daily. The added extras give added value: early morning bird walks, morning & afternoon tea and evening films/talks all make the stay more interesting. We liked that it is a family enterprise and not part of a large corporate organisation. If you enjoy walking, spectacular birds and stunning scenery then we strongly recommend O’Reillys.

Room Tip: Look for cheaper deals on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OReillys_Retreat, Marketing Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
G’day to the UK!

Thank you for your five star review! It is pleasing you enjoyed your stay and participated in many of the walks, talks and tours we have on offer. We too like that we are 100% Australian family owned and operated – we pride ourselves on being a unique Australian wildlife and nature experience.

Thanks for taking the time to share your O’Reilly’s experience; we hope you enjoyed your visit down under!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
23.9 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
19.1 mi away
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
#2 of 7 in Canungra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
18.6 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
21.4 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Property: O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing