We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our home for those two wonderful days”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Minshuku Goyomon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Minshuku Goyomon
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Nanto
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our home for those two wonderful days”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the most incredible experiences in Ainokura is that you are able to spend a night (and only a single one is allowed) in one of the gassho-zukuri farmhouses that are now working as minshukus. The stay includes both traditional dinner and breakfast.

We chose the Goyomon house for our stay, our lovely hostess made us very welcome and prepared the most delicious homemade dinner. I was specially surprised by both the grilled brook trout prepared in the living room hearth, and the koi (carp) sashimi. Soups and vegetable tempura were so good too!

Check more pictures in our post about ainokura!

http://www.thecatyouandus.com/japan-ainokura/

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecatyouandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This minshuku is basically the hosts' traditional house. It is very basic, so don't expect fancy rooms or bathrooms.

We share the bathroom with the hosts' family and its clean. The room we stayed in is clean and the futons are very comfortable. I had a very comfortable good night sleep there..

Dinner was served by the hosts and it was to die for! Especially the tempura! It's so crunchy and not oily at all! And I had more than enough food to last me to the next day! And breakfast was also as generous a serving.

The village itself is very quiet and peaceful, not as touristy as the main Shirikawa-go and it takes quite a journey by bus but definitely worth the trouble! Pity we didn't go in winter so we missed out on the snow. The village was really picture perfect even in October.

Overall, we were glad to have made the trip there. Was an enjoyable stay and lovely village.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tongrulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night because we wanted to try to sleep in a traditional gassho house. The rooms are japanese style with tatami mats and futons and we were seated on the floor (tatami) around the central fireplace with the other guests for dinner and breakfast. The meals were tasty and we got more than enough food, but it's not luxurious meals like the food served in good ryokans. We had hoped to see food being prepared in the fireplace (like on some on the photos here), but unfortunately this wasn't in use when we were there. Maybe this was because they didn't want to make fire inside the building on a very hot summer day?

The guest house is owned by a family (elder couple) that are living in the house. We were welcomed by the wife and she was very nice. She speaks some english and we managed to communicate. The breakfast was actually supposed to be served at 7.30, but we wanted to take a bus to Takaoka at 7.52, and it wasn't a problem at all to get the breakfast at 7.00.

The bathroom and the toilets are shared, but they were clean.

All in all, I would recommand a stay here if you're visiting the area, it was a nice experience, but you shouldn't expect any luxury. This is a basic guest house, not a ryokan!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydensvein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We paid around JPY 9,000.- per person for dinner, night and breakfast (take the whole package because the village of Ainokura is rather small and I am not sure about other dining facilities).
This Minshuku is a traditional family house where guests are using the groundfloor.

The experience is wonderful if you are not too high maintenance : you are welcomed in a living room where there is no furniture but tatamis and a hole in the middle to burn coal and cook the fish (somebody posted a picture) without a chimney. The rooms do not have furniture either, only tatamis and a mattress from a hidden room spread on the floor for the night. Eating on the floor kills your knees and sleeping on a Japanese mattress kills your back, however, I would do it again and recommend this Minshuku to anybody who wishes to experience "Old Japan".

The landlady is truely welcoming : she even gave us a ride to an onsen 10 minutes away by car and came back to pick us up an hour later (try it if you have time : the outdoor bath has wonderful views on a lake and the surrounding mountains - JPY 400 thanks to the Minshuku's discount rate).

We travelled there by bus from Shirakawago (there are 4 buses a day, it takes slightly less than an hour). maybe we have been lucky because we were the only guests that night : you may end up with other guests and there is a TV in the living room so I do not know how it would be if the others start watching TV during dinner or when you go to bed (mattress actually)... Note that this is a traditional house so the walls (even external walls) are in paper : there is absolutely no phonic isolation. The rice paddies around are full of frogs so you need to be able to accept the noise. However, the village is really small and quiet so apart from the frogs, you do not get disturbed.
We went there in the Summer, it was rainy so cool enough to not use the aircon but I have seen some devices, so I guess you can enjoy this luxury if it is hot. However, I have no clue about the temperature behind the paper walls in winter (pictures show that there can be 10 feet of snow around the house) : if somebody does the experience, it would be nice to have a comment on this.

We only spent one night but the landscape around is so beautiful that, if you like walking in the mountains, staying some more time is definitely an option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADAix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

If you are wanting a traditional minshuku experience when in Japan then stay here. After visiting Shirakawa Go we went here by bus, about an hour. On arrival the village was smaller and felt more secluded as opposed to Shirakawa Go.
Our host was lovely, offering us tea on arrival. Dinner was at around 5.30 and it was delicious. She then ran us into the next town as there was a local festival on and picked us up again at 9 pm.....On the dot as well, like everything in Japan!
A comfortable nights sleep and it was fantastic running in the mountains early the next morning before breakfast which just as elaborate as the evening meal. The host here goes to a lot of effort to make you feel welcome. Even by Japan's standards, she went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. If I had the time I would've returned.

Room Tip: Choose here rather than Shirakawa-go. It's less touristy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graham07930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

I stayed at Goyomon Minshuku with my wife and 2 young children in mid April, it was still very cold with snow still around. We just adored this quaint country family run Minshuku in Ainokura that has belonged to the same family for hundreds of years! The owner is a gorgeous and friendly country lady that went out of her way to make us all feel very comfortable. The food is delicious and plentiful in Kaiseki style with some of it cooked over the Irori fire in the middle of our room. It was a delight to hear the owners grandchildren in the building and the village children running around outside during the day. Although it was freezing cold outside at night our rooms were toasty warm heated by small oil heaters.

We were refered to this Minshuku in the tiny hamlet of Ainokura by Japan Guest Houses as all the other accomodation ~30km down the road in Shirakawa-go was booked out. We are glad we stayed in Ainokura as it is a quiet authentic village compared to Shirakawa-go which had literally tens of thousands of day trippers on the Sunday and was so packed with people and cars driving down the streets that it was very uncomfortable to walk around. Shirakawa-go was almost like Disneyland with all the food and souveneir stands and the flocks of tourists! Certainly visit Shirakawa-go but stay in Ainokura or elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank labanrata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanto
0.0 mi away
Yomoshiro
Yomoshiro
#1 of 26 in Nanto
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Choyomon
Choyomon
#4 of 26 in Nanto
14 reviews
4.7 mi away
Akaokan
Akaokan
#9 of 20 in Nanto
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gokasanso
Gokasanso
#1 of 3 in Nanto
19 reviews
17.5 mi away
Tosukenoyu Fujiya
Tosukenoyu Fujiya
#3 of 14 in Shirakawa-mura
29 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sakuragaike Kurgarden
Sakuragaike Kurgarden
#2 of 20 in Nanto
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshuku Goyomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshuku Goyomon

Property: Minshuku Goyomon
Address: 438 Ainokura, Nanto 939-1915, Toyama Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Toyama Prefecture > Nanto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Nanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Minshuku Goyomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minshuku Goyomon Japan/Nanto, Toyama Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing