We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
3
13
7
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3
13
7
4
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2017

The hotel is a traditional one, a bit old but well maintained. The room, bathroom are an ok size, not big but not small like the usual business hotels.The lobby and common areas are spacious.The staff was ok. Wifi available, with a working desk. The breakfast is a mix of western (bread/ toast, juices, yogurt) and Japanese( salad, grilled salmon, pickles) and coffee/tea, what I thought could be better. The surrounding environment is good though, spacious, neighbor to a temple.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williefil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2016

Hotel Shiunkaku is more or less the best solution in wide area around. I stayed at few hotels in Saitama area but this is one of the best. Because, normally at other hotels are room much smaller. Here you don't have problem on reception, because they can speak English (at other hotels it is really problem). Breakfast is quite OK according Japanese hotels. Price is reasonable and finally you have closet (first hotel with closet I stayed in Japan). And finally, good working free wi-fi connection and they have really nice garden and small lake with waterfall. Looks amazing.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanKo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2015

Let's start with the positive aspects : service was kind, at least during the day, wifi was working well in the lobby as well as in the sleeping room, room was very spacious and price was very cheap (for Japan). For the rest, I think this hotel was never renovated since the 70's...everything should be refurbished, paint, bed , furniture, carpets, tv, absolutely everything. Bad sleeping quality and quite noisy (you can hear people from room close by or in the corridor). Breakfast atmosphere was like school canteen, no service, poor coffee and very restricted choice. As far as I am concerned, I will avoid this hotel in the future.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent more than 2 weeks in this hotel and I found it very good.

Room(s) were clean,comfortable, big. Bathroom was also big and clean.

Personnel was, as usual in Japan, very helpful and kind.

Breakfast was included in room price (which was also very low) and was not so far from typical European one.

There is free wifi available but only on reception hall (at least, network was not available on non-smokers room floor).

Hotel has also a parking area and a very nice garden. Close to the hotel there's a Temple and a driving school track, so atmosphere is peaceful and calm, with no traffic, no noise, and good air.

If compared with price quality was extremely high.

I also enjoyed the included restaurant: not exceptional, but serves good food at a reasonable price.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Capacchione2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I spent here 3 nights on my business trip and I must say this is a decent hotel for a reasonable price. Although my hotel room was small and its furniture seemed quite old, it was clean and comfortable. It was equipped with a good size bed, air-conditioning, high speed internet, a fridge and a large window facing the hotel`s garden. I did not enjoy a full breakfast because it was served only after 7 a.m. and I had to left earlier every day. However the hotel staff was very friendly so they prepared at least a simple but sufficient breakfast for me before its regular time. All in all, this hotel offers good standard and I have nothing to complaint about.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kulda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews