We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Myoko
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
30
13
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
30
13
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews over christmas lovely owners akakura onsen excellent location snow conditions train station basement skis skiing japan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

If you want truly ski in and ski out, then this is the place for you. We were collected from the train station on arrival, and had to catch taxi back when leaving.
The welcome dinner was a nice touch. The hot breakfasts were usually cold by the time they made it to our plates. Also a few ‘faulty towers’ issues with toilets and sinks.
Good wifi and Satomi at reception couldn’t be more helpful.
An added bonus was seeing Scoop parked down the road. (See pic)

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018 via mobile

We stayed over Christmas 2018. Snow conditions were reported by regulars as being poor but the Akakura Onsen and Kanko resorts were both perfectly decent to ski on piste and you could ski in and out of the hotel.

The owners are very welcoming and helpful. We rented skis from Myoko Snowsports at the end of the road and ate well in Akakura each evening.

The Onsen in the basement is a very good way to end a day of skiing - especially day outside with the snow coming down.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MeltonBigCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

We stayed at Hotel Alp for ten nights late January to early February. We thought it was a great place to stay.
We were picked up at Myoko Station. We had phoned ahead from Nagano and they were waiting for us with the hotel car and a taxi - which they paid for. Check in was smooth and we moved into our traditional tatami rooms. Three guys shared a three person/family room and there was plenty of space and a superb bathroom set-up. On the first night they laid out the futon beds for us during dinner. Towels and onsen robes were changed daily and sheets every few days. At the front of the hotel there is a secure ski rack room and a boot drying room.
What made Alp so good? A few things:
- Satomi san who was always available with advice and to provide any help with restaurants, transport or cheap lift tickets. She is a wonderful lady who clearly loves what she does.
- The ski in-ski out location cannot be beat.
- Clean, comfortable rooms, onsen and common areas.
- Wonderfully hot and spacious indoor and outdoor onsen.
- The fact that it snowed nine of the eleven days we were there, at one stage non-stop from Monday morning to Friday night. We skiid Akakura, Suginohara, Madarao and a crazy day at Seki.
- The food options in Akakura Onsen are wide. Be patient and have a look around. Be aware that a lot of the traditional places do not open until after five but once they do there is a lot to choose from.
- Try a crepe from a street stall, cooked fresh in front of you while you stand in heavily falling snow.
I was not keen to ski Japan as my interests have been in another continent. However, I am glad we went to Myoko. I would go again and if I did would definitely stay at Hotel Alp.
Domo arigato gozei mashita Satomi san.

Room tip: Try to get the larger family room even if only two of you. Very spacious with a better bathroom than smaller rooms.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cronulla_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018

We stayed in a Japanese room for 8 nights and absolutely loved it. While it took a little time to get used to 'furniture without legs', especially for us at 55+ and 65+, the futons and bedding were super comfortable. Breakfast a fusion of Japanese and English offerings was more than adequate. Satomi the Owner/Manager was so very helpful in assisting us with restaurant and tour bookings - a must as some of the best restaurants were also the smallest so bookings were essential. We made a habit of seeking out and booking a restaurant for the following night or two after dinner each night and in this way we both explored the town and also knew we were assured of a good meal after a day on the slopes. We also had great views from our room at the top of Hotel Alp of fireworks displays as well as sun rise in the morning. Highly recommend both Hotel Alp and Akakura Onsen. Don't miss a visit to the snow monkeys either.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

We returned here for the second year running. This time we were lucky to have a Japanese room which I love for its simple aesthetics and the romance of sleeping on tatami under a duckdown quilt while the snow comes fown outside the paper windows. The kind hospitality of the owners is what makes this place special. Good breakfasts,nice onsen and fantastic ski in and out location.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank kismetkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews