We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay on the slopes”
Review of Resort Hotel Alp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Resort Hotel Alp
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Myoko
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked this hotel on the advice it was a ski/out hotel. This was the easiest ski in/out hotel I have stayed in in 40 years of skiing. Even my 5 year old grandson after 3 days of skiing and three lessons could ski back ( with a little assistance). The Hotel was less than 100 meters from the nearest chairlift( down a gentle slope ). The hotel manager, Satomi was so helpful and loved the practice her English with the guest. The deals for lift passes with discounts through the hotel was a great financial benefit. Food ( Breakfast included ) was a mix of western/Japanese with a slight more western touch which varied everyday. Had the best Japanese bread for toast ( big and thick ) and not sweet like some breads are there. Rooms good, bathroom small. But the Onsen was the best I've been in. The outdoor ( there was an indoors one as well ) was all stone,where you could sit there and grab a handful of snow piled up around the open area like a privacy screen, which wasn't needed as this side of the hotel was facing the ski runs, but totally hidden. Sitting in the Onsen with snow falling on you was such an experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 40 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our family spent 10 days at the Hotel ALP and could not have asked for a more welcoming and hospitable experience from Satomi and her lovely staff. Well set up for families, very relaxed and comfortable. Be aware though that the traditional rooms have futons to sleep on floor which was a little bit of acculturation shock for this Aussie family. However, we soon adjusted and would go back there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank CampItUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have just enjoyed a 10 day stay at the Alp, this was our first trip to Myoko and we had a great time. As a family of four we took a Japanese room, which was noticeably larger than the Western rooms. Every evening you roll out the futons and doonas and make up the beds on the floor, the kids thought this was great - like camping, and it all added to the Japanese experience. A couple of big pluses for the hotel, it's location is literally on a ski run which proved invaluable being able to drop back in to drop off a kids jumper or pick up some snacks, or simply take an hour off during the day. The hotel also has its own indoor/outdoor onsen, after a long day on the slopes there was simply nothing like immersing yourself in a hot onsen to rest weary muscles, the daily onsen ritual was enjoyed by our entire family. The hotel owners are as hospitable as the reviews suggest and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy every aspect of your stay, nothing is to much trouble, from ordering taxis to recommending restaurants or things to do in Nagano or just saving a few Yen on lift passes they are simply wonderful. The hotel also has washing machines and dryers in the basement, which for our family with young kids proved useful. All in all we had a great stay, the Hotel met all our expectations, it is typical of a ski lodge and of an equivalent standard, we are already planning our return visit in 2015!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Iluvtheoutdawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Although this establishment is like a 1950s timewarp and smelled a bit like my Nanna's house (sorry - but I do need to manage your expectations!!) the owners are so delightful , the location so ideal and the facilities so good - it really doesn't matter. And it has an osen - both indoors and out, washing machines and dryer, foot massagers, drying room, etc. We had two western rooms as were travelling with our kids - 7 and 14. We stayed 10 nights over Christmas/New Year 2013/14. The location is ski-in ski-out and easy walking to the main drag for restaurants. The owner was great helping plan our outing to see the snow monkeys and making other train connections. You can even buy a bottle of Ausralian red wine from the restaurant!! I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Of you like a bed, make sure you choose a Western style room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights during New Year. Owners are very friendly and helpful.
Ski in and out is only an option for those who use the beginner slopes around the hotel. For expert skiing it is a 300 meters walk up and down to the main road to catch the bus to Suginohara (45 min one way). The hotel itself is clean but a bit dated. Breakfast is good and lasting for a long day on the slopes. Outdoor onsen very good.
Bring all cash (Yen) to Myoko that you need.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Alp for 6 nights over Christmas 2013 in a Japanese style room and loved it. The Hotel is ski-in, ski-out, close to all the bars and restaurants and the rooms have great views over the mountains. The hosts are lovely and help you out with discounted lift tickets, advice about restaurants and spots in town and lots of other helpful tips for the town. We loved the massive buffet breakfast and the onsen - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Myself and 3 friends of mine stayed at Hotel Alp for one week in January 2013. Our second time in Japan skiing, but first in Myoko. We stayed in two rooms, twin western style accommodation, which is fairly typical of what you find back home in Aus. The rooms were good size for Japan standard. The highlight of the stay are the hosts, Satomi and her husband, who are very welcoming, and go right out of your way help you (including picking us up from the train station). Satomi has great knowledge of local restaurants and towns further afield if you are going on a day trip, plus gives you vouchers for lift tickets. Of course, English isn't their first language, so a bit of patience does go along way. It is disapointing to see some Aussies come to Japan expecting something like back home.

Hotel is pretty much ski in / ski out (as long as you have the Onsen lift pass). Has skis, boots, storage area, but no drying room to put wet ski gear (Yes i know this is Japan and it's all JAPOW (Japanese powder), but it must have been my bad luck as during my stay i had 2 rainy days in the one week! I've been told they are lucky to get one per season.) So somewhere to dry gear would have been good.

The only other comment (neither good or bad) is that there is no common lounge area (beside the Onsen) for people to hang out and meet others after a days skiing. So you will spend most nights out at the local bars as it gets a bit much spending all night in the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lukec947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myoko hotels
Akakura Onsen
Akakura Hotel
Akakura Hotel
#3 of 81 in Myoko
49 reviews
Akakura Onsen
Akakura Wakui Hotel
Akakura Wakui Hotel
#8 of 81 in Myoko
29 reviews
Hotel Silver Horn
#4 of 81 in Myoko
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akakura Onsen
Hotel Taiko
Hotel Taiko
#48 of 81 in Myoko
52 reviews
Akakura Onsen
Hotel Mumon
Hotel Mumon
#25 of 81 in Myoko
7 reviews
Akakura Onsen
Akakura Kanko Hotel
Akakura Kanko Hotel
#1 of 81 in Myoko
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Hotel Alp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Hotel Alp

Address: 585-90 Akakura, Myoko 949-2111, Niigata Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Niigata Prefecture > Myoko > Akakura Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Myoko
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ski-in,ski-out choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Resort Hotel Alp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing