We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm service”
Review of Akakura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akakura Hotel
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Myoko
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm service”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Came here for a ski trip and stayed a total of 5 nights, Location is easy to find with GPS.
Another bubble era hotel that looks a little bit dated, but offers warm and excellent service, good onsen and overall a pleasant experience.

Rooms are clean, front desk is helpful and there is also a friendly aussie staff who can help with English speakers. We stayed at a Japanese style "suite" with private bath which basically means a large room for sleeping on tatami plus a living room area for just hanging out. It's supposed to fit 4/6 adults but i think can fit more if for a school trip or something.
I opted for Asian style room since 1) when the beddings are hidden in the closet during the day, it takes up much less space than western furnishings and 2) these 80's era western rooms generally have a more dated appearance.
Most rooms have balconies where you can wake up to a nice snow-capped view and when the sun's out it's quite a scene.

There's a total of 6/7 onsens but the (largest) one you'd rather spend time in closes at midnight, and after midnight you can visit one of the other 2 onsens which are 24/7.

Buffet breakfast is nothing special compared to newer luxury hotels but it's certainly adequate. I didn't opt for meal plan and wasn't too impressed with the dining options in the surrounding area but this is in no way the hotel's fault.

In the hotel basement is a game room, ski lockers and boot warmers.
Hotel offers discount ski rental coupons, we took advantage of that but at that particular shop, the gears definitely have seen better times. For rental gears in better condition go rent at Myoko Snowsports.

All in all, a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheesyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the annex part of the hotel with breakfast included. Hotel room is a stayed in the annex part of the hotel with breakfast included. Hotel room is a little dated but very clean & comfortable, all what you need for a 4 night stay. Bathroom is a little small but most are in Japan, but has all the essentials you need. Fresh towels & tooth brush everyday. Australian guy at the resection very helpful considering most other staff have little English. Hotel is in a good spot not far from the ski slopes & very close to main st/ shops restaurants. Also has 2 onsens, games room, & pick up & drop off service to & from the train station. Would recommend the hotel for anyone going to Myoko.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickelFlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here as part of a skiing trip to Japan. The hotel has two parts, we stayed in the Annex, which is slightly more economical but still gives you access to all facilities. Our room was Western style with a small Japanese tatami area; while the bathroom was typically small (as almost everywhere else in Japan), it was perfectly designed for the job. The beds were slightly dated, but did the job well anyway. The hotel has several onsens, two of which you can book privately, which is perfect if you are there with a partner (we had heard that women do not necessarily enjoy the mixed onsen experience very much, so this was a great plus to have access to a private one!); both private onsens are fine, but the one on the left is particularly lovely, as it has a separate outdoor bit. We did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on it. Finally, the service was impeccable and the staff truly went out of their way to help us with any and every possible request we could have. Surprisingly, they did have a young Australian gentleman (James, who did a fantastic job) on their team, but also the Japanese staff spoke very good English, which as non-Japanese speakers made our lives so much easier. Would definitely come back here!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the street, as some tourists can be quite noisy when they come ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilentThunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is one of the closest hotels to the slopes in Akakura Onsen, a terrific ski resort, especially for beginners and intermediate skiers. We chose a combination Western/Japanese room which was adequate for our family of four including two teenagers. While the hotel is past its prime, the friendly staff made this is 5-star experience. We were especially grateful to have the services of Jackson, a young Australian on staff, who was always obliging with advice and helped make our stay especially comfortable. While we have a very small bathroom we also took advantage of up to three onsens within the hotel and had access to a washing machine (clothing had to be hung in room though).

This was our first stay in Myoko; our previous visits to Japan have included Nozawa Onsen and Niseko. This was a great change to Nozawa with almost as much of a 'village vibe' and certainly as much snow.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 668penc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the Annex for six nights and skied in nearby ski areas for 5 days. The bed and breakfast rate is very good especially considering the location and the star level of the hotel. Hotel rooms in the annex is half western style with two single beds and half tatami. This is very good size in Japan standard and with the rate being paid if only two guests stay in the room. The breakfast was in buffet style with rather good selection. There were three public onsens and in addition one private onsen at additional charge. We particularly like the largest onsen which has a nice outdoor onsen and a sauna. The staff were very willing to help out but their English level was rather limited. The hotel provided discount coupon for ski rentals in a nearby shop at 20% discount and the quality of ski / snowboard was rather good. The hotel also provided discount coupon for ski passes in the area of Akakan and Akakura Onsen.

Whilst mostly satisfactory, there were small areas which we could not entirely appreciate. The temperature in rooms was very erratic, sometimes hot and sometimes cold, and the heating machine was quite noisy when heating up. The lobby areas and the connection between the main building and the annex were not heat up and were very cold. We ate hot pots for two dinners at moderate supplement and the quality was satisfactory but not too impressive. Overall the Annex is recommendable given the room size, the onsens and the low rate comparing to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have never seen so much snow in our lives! If you want real snow cover and powder come to Myoko. We were spoilt with new snow every day, no waits for lifts, hooded chairlifts (there are none in Australia) cheap yummy meals on the slopes and cheap lift passes.
We stayed in the annex of the Akukura Hotel for five nights. The hotel picked us up from the train station which was very convenient considering how much luggage we had. The hotel had hired an English-speaking staff member to help foreign tourists - though we appeared to be the only foreign tourists at the time. Toshiro was incredibly helpful. He gave us a tour of the hotel and its three onsens, organised our transport and interpreted maps/ directions, etc. No other staff members appeared to speak English but this did not prove a problem.
The room we had was very small for a family of four but I realise that this is just Japan. My husband and I slept on mats on the floor while the kids got the western beds. The bathroom was tiny - but again this is typical of Japan. Everything was clean and in good condition.
The onsens in the hotel were beautiful, especially the "Grand Palace" onsen. It was so nice to ski all day then return to the hotel for an onsen. The breakfasts were very yummy Japanese style - they did provide English tea every morning which was nice. We did not have dinner in the hotel but preferred to eat at the local restaurants - all meals were reasonably priced and lovely.
We organised all our ski hire, lift passes and kids ski lessons through Myoko Snow Sports before we left Australia. These guys were absolutely fantastic with their service. They picked us up from our hotel for our ski fittings, they had the latest and greatest gear, they orientated us with the different resorts and they gave the best attention to our children. There were only three kids in each ski class (two being ours) and the kids had a ball.
The skiing was excellent - we skied at Akukura Kanko and Akukura onsen (you can get one lift pass to cover both resorts). We tried to ski at another resort on the last day but were advised that due to very heavy snow fall it would be difficult to get there on the day (not sure that this was correct).
A word of warning - it is difficult to get cash out in Myoko so take lots with you as you have to pay cash at the restaurants and for ski passes (though the hotel and Myoko Snowsports take credit card).
We will definitely return to Myoko. We have been so spoilt with snow in Japan that it would be difficult to ski again in Australia (and with the cost that goes with it in Australia).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mpeg36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myoko hotels
APA Resort Joetsu Myoko
#21 of 81 in Myoko
71 reviews
Akakura Onsen
Akakura Wakui Hotel
Akakura Wakui Hotel
#7 of 81 in Myoko
29 reviews
Akakura Onsen
Hotel Taiko
Hotel Taiko
#59 of 81 in Myoko
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akakura Onsen
Akakura Kanko Hotel
Akakura Kanko Hotel
#1 of 81 in Myoko
182 reviews
Akakura Onsen
Kogakuro
Kogakuro
#3 of 81 in Myoko
55 reviews
Seki Onsen
Kyukamura Myoko
Kyukamura Myoko
#10 of 81 in Myoko
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akakura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akakura Hotel

Property: Akakura Hotel
Address: 486 Akakura, Myoko 949-2111, Niigata Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Niigata Prefecture > Myoko > Akakura Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Myoko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Akakura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Akakura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing