We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akakura Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
19
24
12
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
24
12
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelski lockersbuffet breakfastwestern bedstatami roomannexmatslobbyamenitiesslopesskiing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 56 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here as part of a skiing trip to Japan. The hotel has two parts, we stayed in the Annex, which is slightly more economical but still gives you access to all facilities. Our room was Western style with a small Japanese tatami area; while the bathroom was typically small (as almost everywhere else in Japan), it was perfectly designed for the job. The beds were slightly dated, but did the job well anyway. The hotel has several onsens, two of which you can book privately, which is perfect if you are there with a partner (we had heard that women do not necessarily enjoy the mixed onsen experience very much, so this was a great plus to have access to a private one!); both private onsens are fine, but the one on the left is particularly lovely, as it has a separate outdoor bit. We did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on it. Finally, the service was impeccable and the staff truly went out of their way to help us with any and every possible request we could have. Surprisingly, they did have a young Australian gentleman (James, who did a fantastic job) on their team, but also the Japanese staff spoke very good English, which as non-Japanese speakers made our lives so much easier. Would definitely come back here!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the street, as some tourists can be quite noisy when they come out drunk witless from the bar opposite the hotel in the late evening. Would also recommend getting a room with Japanese tatami mats, as it will give you more space.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilentThunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is one of the closest hotels to the slopes in Akakura Onsen, a terrific ski resort, especially for beginners and intermediate skiers. We chose a combination Western/Japanese room which was adequate for our family of four including two teenagers. While the hotel is past its prime, the friendly staff made this is 5-star experience. We were especially grateful to have the services of Jackson, a young Australian on staff, who was always obliging with advice and helped make our stay especially comfortable. While we have a very small bathroom we also took advantage of up to three onsens within the hotel and had access to a washing machine (clothing had to be hung in room though).

This was our first stay in Myoko; our previous visits to Japan have included Nozawa Onsen and Niseko. This was a great change to Nozawa with almost as much of a 'village vibe' and certainly as much snow.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 668penc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the Annex for six nights and skied in nearby ski areas for 5 days. The bed and breakfast rate is very good especially considering the location and the star level of the hotel. Hotel rooms in the annex is half western style with two single beds and half tatami. This is very good size in Japan standard and with the rate being paid if only two guests stay in the room. The breakfast was in buffet style with rather good selection. There were three public onsens and in addition one private onsen at additional charge. We particularly like the largest onsen which has a nice outdoor onsen and a sauna. The staff were very willing to help out but their English level was rather limited. The hotel provided discount coupon for ski rentals in a nearby shop at 20% discount and the quality of ski / snowboard was rather good. The hotel also provided discount coupon for ski passes in the area of Akakan and Akakura Onsen.

Whilst mostly satisfactory, there were small areas which we could not entirely appreciate. The temperature in rooms was very erratic, sometimes hot and sometimes cold, and the heating machine was quite noisy when heating up. The lobby areas and the connection between the main building and the annex were not heat up and were very cold. We ate hot pots for two dinners at moderate supplement and the quality was satisfactory but not too impressive. Overall the Annex is recommendable given the room size, the onsens and the low rate comparing to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have never seen so much snow in our lives! If you want real snow cover and powder come to Myoko. We were spoilt with new snow every day, no waits for lifts, hooded chairlifts (there are none in Australia) cheap yummy meals on the slopes and cheap lift passes.
We stayed in the annex of the Akukura Hotel for five nights. The hotel picked us up from the train station which was very convenient considering how much luggage we had. The hotel had hired an English-speaking staff member to help foreign tourists - though we appeared to be the only foreign tourists at the time. Toshiro was incredibly helpful. He gave us a tour of the hotel and its three onsens, organised our transport and interpreted maps/ directions, etc. No other staff members appeared to speak English but this did not prove a problem.
The room we had was very small for a family of four but I realise that this is just Japan. My husband and I slept on mats on the floor while the kids got the western beds. The bathroom was tiny - but again this is typical of Japan. Everything was clean and in good condition.
The onsens in the hotel were beautiful, especially the "Grand Palace" onsen. It was so nice to ski all day then return to the hotel for an onsen. The breakfasts were very yummy Japanese style - they did provide English tea every morning which was nice. We did not have dinner in the hotel but preferred to eat at the local restaurants - all meals were reasonably priced and lovely.
We organised all our ski hire, lift passes and kids ski lessons through Myoko Snow Sports before we left Australia. These guys were absolutely fantastic with their service. They picked us up from our hotel for our ski fittings, they had the latest and greatest gear, they orientated us with the different resorts and they gave the best attention to our children. There were only three kids in each ski class (two being ours) and the kids had a ball.
The skiing was excellent - we skied at Akukura Kanko and Akukura onsen (you can get one lift pass to cover both resorts). We tried to ski at another resort on the last day but were advised that due to very heavy snow fall it would be difficult to get there on the day (not sure that this was correct).
A word of warning - it is difficult to get cash out in Myoko so take lots with you as you have to pay cash at the restaurants and for ski passes (though the hotel and Myoko Snowsports take credit card).
We will definitely return to Myoko. We have been so spoilt with snow in Japan that it would be difficult to ski again in Australia (and with the cost that goes with it in Australia).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mpeg36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews