We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny portion, terrible value”
Review of The Glenelg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenelg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Glenelg Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tiny portion, terrible value”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

After walking three hours through hail and rain I was looking forwards to a hearty pub meal. Instead I was presented with a scallop dish which could only charitably be described as a starter, I ordered an additional portion of chips which arrived way after I had finished the meagre 'main' meal. Seems like making a healthy profit takes precedence over value for money. Extremely disappointing, wouldn't recommend or return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank GuyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheilaglenelg, Owner at The Glenelg Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience at the Glenelg Inn, and regret you could not bring this to our attention at the time rather than rushing home to write such a damning review. It would have been remarkable indeed if the chips that you ordered after your main courses were brought to the table were instantly on your table, as we state on our menu, ALL our food is cooked fresh to order. Our "Seared Hand Dived Sound of Sleat Scallops with Creamy Leeks & Black Pudding" is one of our most popular dishes, on and off the menu for 4 years now, and there has never ever before been a complaint made of the portion size or quality. We promise though to review this. This dish is very far from profitable for us, but we feel very strongly about selling locally caught, fresh sustainable produce. Apologies again that you did not enjoy your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    71
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
41
118
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent pub, a bit out of the way but the scenic journey, the atmosphere and the roaring fire makes it worth travelling to! Only popped in for a drink but made to feel welcome and the kids were free to play the pool table, which isnt always the case in a pub. Will be back again . .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheilaglenelg, Owner at The Glenelg Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review, we hope to see you and your family here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just had a drink here but lovely cosy little pub, definitely worth going to...takes a while to get to but the countryside is amazing and you can hop on the ferry across to Skye (recommend the ferry too - it's a great experience!)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenPluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheilaglenelg, Owner at The Glenelg Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Many thanks for the kind review, we're so glad that you enjoyed your visit here, and the wonderful Glenelg-Skye ferry too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent!The location,room,view,food and entertainment were first class.The staff and owners made you us very welcome.It is out of the way but if you are near its one not to miss.The seafood is so fresh it was still alive outside the back door of the kitchen.The ferry to Skye from Glenelg is also Fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheilaglenelg, Owner at The Glenelg Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, many many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

As a family and Staying in the area we frequented this traditional pub on several occasions, we found staff friendly, good selection of beers and whiskeys but the best was Friday night band night the locals included us in the dancing and they were all very friendly

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheilaglenelg, Owner at The Glenelg Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for the generous comments we are so glad you enjoyed your visits to us, the music, the dancing, the drams and the craic with the locals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Glenelg inn is my hidden gem to hide away from the world at. First, you can drive the scenic mountain passes from Glensheil to get there or take the Skye ferry - last turn table ferry operating in Britain, either way that alone makes for an experience.

Once there the upper rooms are where to stay. They are lovely, large and have views over the sound and sometimes you can spot and otter playing in the water. Note many of the rooms have bathtubs only so be prepared for that or ask if they have showers.

The beds are large and cozy and the rooms are simple but perfect to get away from things. You won't find a TV, probably won't have a mobile signal, no phones in the rooms either... all to allow you to switch off and relax.

If you need things to do, get up and walk to the bar in the inn. You'll find the locals friendly and wanting to mingle with you and share stories. Everyone is incredibly friendly, you make friends and people we met there we will surely see again on visits.

Food is unbelievably good. I've at in supposed excellent places in Glasgow which were terrible compared to the inn. There is no nonsense in the inn of being remote means cheap food.

Bread is served with your main meal which is home made. As such the consistency may be but different each time but it is home made! For starters we ate wild pigeon which was amazing... despite being.. well a pigeon. Mains one night was Roast Duck and Cajun Chicken and the next night we both had Venison in red wine, vinegar, juniper and bay leaf which was amazing. The treats after the meal also all home made and unbelievably good.

Do note the chef likes to cook means on the rare side so be sure to ask for medium or well done on everything if you prefer it.

We popped into the inn for a single night and ended up staying 2. Including drinks each night and 3 course meals each it came to just over £300 which we would not complain about for what was a very relaxing time away.

Room Tip: Many rooms have claw foot baths only, ask for a shower in the room if you need it. There are no TVs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheilaglenelg, Owner at The Glenelg Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
It's so nice of you to write that this is your favourite place, it's ours too! Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax away from inconveniences such as mobile phones and televisions! Thank you very much for your long thoughtful review, the chefs in particular were very touched by your kind words, we hope you can find time to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were a bit concerned with the mixed reviews about the Glenelg Inn, but we needn't have been! Sheila and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food is better than pub grub with interesting selections for all tastes. Its such an exceptional location and a great place to relax and unwind. Driving to and from here has views that will take your breath away!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.0 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenelg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenelg Inn

Property: The Glenelg Inn
Address: Glenelg IV40 8JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenelg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Glenelg Hotel Glenelg
The Glenelg Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing