We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would love to eat at cosy bar if service learns to smile”
Review of The Glenelg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenelg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Glenelg Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This review is just about the bar, which looks absolutely cosy but since we were almost ignored when we came in and it seemed that both service people didn't care about any new guests we left straight! We would love to come back and have dinner at this place but please dear service people - learn to smile and to welcome your guests....it doesn't hurt and it isn't difficult! Thank you

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for three fabulous days. The scenery is outstanding as you would expect.

The hostelry was just what it should be, welcoming, warm, non judgemental and cosy.

The food was quite simply sublime. Natural, locally caught and prepared seafood which gives a flavour of the sea without being masked by the cooking. The scallops were the best ever.

Great selection of wines at competitive prices to complement the food.

Staff friendly but non intrusive.

Will definitely be back .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here Easter weekend 2013. Originally booked in for 1 night and stayed for 2 and wish we had stayed the whole weekend. The food was excellent and breakfast awesome. We had the BEST scrambled egg ever (apart from mine of course...). The room was lovely. Simple, clean, the most comfortable bed, awesome views. Most of all the owner and her staff were lovely, the locals friendly, the scenery stunning, the food lovely, the wine carefully chosen. We will be back. No question. Ignore rubbish reviews here. It is a great place to visit. A wee piece of unspoilt Scotland with the best of Scottish hospitality. If you want hot tubs and Sky TV dont come here. If you want lovely scenery, attentive hospitality and fantastic food and drink make your way over the pass.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttondiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This inn is set in the most amazing scenery. I couldn't be better, heavenly! extremely welcoming, the bedrooms are great compared to other b &b and inns with the most beautiful views of Skye.
Food doesn't disappoint either, we had dinner in the bar which was fantastic. The bar itself was fun, relaxed and incredibly welcoming. Breakfast was equally good. The staff are great fun, very chatty and delightful.
If considering glenelg inn do not think twice !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blondeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Been to the Glenelg Inn a few times now, at various times of the year and always come away very happy and knowing we will return.
This recent trip was in mid March and the place had not long opened up again after their winter break ( I think the pub stays open all year!)
We had a lovely room( 5, I think) which was huge with great views over to Skye. The bed was massive with lovely soft cotton sheets. Every room we have stayed in here has been decorated a bit differently and it is very homely and comfortable, with rugs, blankets and cushions too. This time we had a huge walk in shower with nice toiletries from Miller and Mason and The Tub. Hair dryer too...bonus!
Other members of the family were in upstairs rooms, one huge ( a family room) and the other a cosy double. Both rooms looked to have recently upgraded bathrooms, with lovely big freestanding tubs and nice tiles.
Glenelg, despite the spectacular mountain pass, Mam Rattigan, you drive over to get there, is actually quite a busy wee place! The locals use the pub and are very friendly and welcoming. We took part in the local pub quiz to help raise money for the local community and were welcomed very warmly!
Now, the food. The food is pretty fantastic, I reckon. No, it's not presented in a fancy way but it is good honest, delicious grub, with an emphasis on local beef, venison and seafood. We ate the most delicious scallops whilst there and when the steaks ran out ( there was a big party of local ferry workers in who all fancied steak!) the chef came out and said he had some delicious local venison steaks. And they were! One night, as the chef passed our table, he overheard us talking about whether there might be local langoustine on the menu. He stopped and asked us if we wanted it the next day...Yes!..and then nipped up to the bar to have a chat with a local fisherman. Next night we had the sweetest langoustine. That's what I call great customer service!
All in all I think the customer service from the owner, Sheila, and all her staff is great and they make you feel very at home and relaxed.

Breakfast is very tasty...full scottish through to eggs any style to kippers, with cereals, juice, toast, a huge selection of jams, spreads, peanut butter, marmite etc to choose from. Sometimes there was cold meat and cheese and wee brioche rolls too. Big pots of tea and coffee too.

Luckily there are lots of lovely places to go walking after all that food!
There is also a small Ferry that runs from Glenelg over to Skye, however that only starts up again at Easter. Do visit the otter hide on the other side at Skye, as we always see wild otters from there and it is a lovely walk along the forest track to get there.
You can also drive further round the coast from Glenelg to Arnisdale and Corran, wee villages on the shores of Loch Hourn. Be sure to pop into the tiny tearoom in Corran for a cuppa and blether with the lovely owner.

Practically, there is plenty of parking and downstairs rooms I think would be good for less able guests. There was wifi in the bar and restaurant area but not in the rooms.
There are plenty of books and games in the bar..very comfy with sofas and rugs and huge log fire...to keep you occupied if you are snowed in. Saying that, the village has its own snowplough and gritter so no excuse :-)
Well behaved dogs are also welcome.

I highly recommend a stay at Glenelg Inn...whatever the weather!

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you are less able, as the stairs to the upstairs rooms are a tad steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jilca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I'd been looking forward to staying here the most on our Scotland holiday. We stayed for two nights and loved it. The bar is cosy and the locals and staff very friendly. The food is good too, both the evening meals and the breakfast. In fact the breakfast was the best on our travels that week. The room we were in, room2, was clean with a big comfy bed. A couple of slight niggles (but nothing to mark down particularly) were that the toilet seat was broken and you couldn't lock the door from the inside for some reason. The location is beautiful and I can't wait to come back. Thank you very much for a superb stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NevilleTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was staying at a property within Glenelg, so took the 2 minute walk here for an evening meal. The inn itself was very warm and homely, with an open fire. The menu was quite limited however we expected this from a remote place such as this.

The food came quite quickly, and was very hot (which, I believe, is a very good thing!). All four of us were pleased with our food, and the desserts were excellent too.

The two downsides were the prices of the food (a little too high), and the bar was quite full of locals, so you felt a little uncomfortable approaching the bar for more drinks!

Overall, very pleased and happy to have the inn close by. Will try and convince everyone to go again before we leave for home!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank KaijuBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Glenelg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenelg Inn

Address: Glenelg IV40 8JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Glenelg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range: $96 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Glenelg Hotel Glenelg
The Glenelg Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing