We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical old Scotish pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glenelg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenelg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Glenelg Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Typical old Scotish pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a typical old scotish pub.
The bedrooms were excellent clean well decorated with great views over the loch
Beer was good we also had an evening meal steak and chips which was good but could have done with something else peas salad etc for the price
Breakfast very good
Would recommend

Room Tip: Try for one upstairs better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Biggles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    70
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
116
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Have to say we were sceptical having read some of he reviews but we were staying in Glenelg for our Honeymoon, so on our 1st night after a long drive we decided to forget the reviews and walk there for an evening meal. So glad we did.

I had the Langoustines in a chilli reduction and my husband had the risotto both were spectacularly cooked the langoustine they were succulent and sweet and tasted ofthe sea and the chilli and cream reduction was to die for. My husbands Risotto was cooked perfectly and had lovely basil and omato flavours and the house wine, yes house wine was reasonably priced and delicious.

The food was so good the next day we had lunch there too and I had scallop and langustine bisque and my husband had crab - again both were deicious although the crab a touch too spicy for me but he really enjoyed it.

Then on our 3rd and final night we wenntfor an earlyeveningdrink in the beer garden and then our eveningmeal. I ordered steak and My husband had fresh mallaig haddock and it was so fresh it was delicious and my steak has to come close to the best steak I have ever tasted, it was beautifully cooked.

I cannot comment on the rooms but he food the setting the staff and the ambience were all 1st class and they are very dog friendly too (dogs on lead allowed in side as well as in beer garden)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Went across to Glenelg from Inverness and drive down was magnificent, very easy drive and specticular scenery.
Glenelg is a small village setting and we stayed at the Inn for one night. Lovely country pub with nice beer garden and views across to Skye.
Room again had lovely view of sea and mountains and enormous superking size bed. Average cleanliness and oldish furniture but setting made up for any flaws in room. Our room was above the bar but even though we went to bed 11ish and locals apparently stopped in pub until 4 in morning we didn't hear anything.
Ate evening meal and breakfast and both pleasant. My steak was excellent but husband's not so good. Will be back as visiting relatives.

Room Tip: Think all rooms have seaview but worth asking for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by for food on the way to Skye following a recommend from a work colleague. So glad we did; a nice and friendly little inn off the beaten track. Bisque followed by lamb shank for me with mussels and fish & chips for better half. I'm fussy, you should see the cups & medals on my mantelpiece! I have to say that the food was excellent; well presented, very tasty and piping hot. The prices were more than reasonable for good food, but some people seem to expect that remote hostelries should be glad of custom and charge low prices regardless. Definitely not applicable to the Glenelg Inn, we'll be back!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank markandloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We went to the Glenelg Inn last week when we were staying in the area. I had been looking to having lunch at this pub as one of the highlights of the week.Unfortunately the absence of cask ales and very limited menu together with the the very eclectic decoration and furniture proved to be a real disappointment.

That said that said the cheese and broccoli soup was very tasty and satisfying. The beef bourginon was beautiful with absolutely divine mashed potato but the chocolate fondant dessert was over baked and hard.

My friend however couldn't understand my criticisms and thought the place was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We've stayed in the Glenelg area for several years and have visited the Glenelg Inn on a few occasions. No one will challenge the beauty of the surrounding countryside which is simply stunning. The inn should offer the perfect complement of being the warm and charming local traditional inn - but its anything but that. The current owner's seem to have no motivation to offer anything other than an overpriced menu. What could be a charming traditional inn is given up for a grubby bar area where the cat has choice of the seating area (No Thanks) Although we didn't eat on this occasion we have on a previous trip and were bitterly disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CheadleHulme79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here while filming a documentary with the BBC on Cattle Droving. Great food, great welcome and great rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruaridh_Ormiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.0 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenelg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenelg Inn

Property: The Glenelg Inn
Address: Glenelg IV40 8JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenelg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Glenelg Hotel Glenelg
The Glenelg Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing