We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An idealB&B for anyone wanting to explore Skye & surrounding area, fully recommend this B&B.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigh a Cladach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tigh a Cladach
Ranked #1 of 2 Badicaul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An idealB&B for anyone wanting to explore Skye & surrounding area, fully recommend this B&B.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed 2 nights at Tigh-A-Cladach and were made very welcome by hosts Murdo and Mary Ann.
We both agree it was a very pleasant experience, the breakfast was excellent, our room was spotless, and the surrounding views inspiring, especially the sunset over the Skye hills.
Keith Sirs

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithSirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breukelen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

In Scotland you expect a warm welcome, clean accomodation and a good breakfast - a home from home.
At Tigh a Cladach we were positively surprised by all this and the friendly, constructive help offered during our stay. This in itself made our visit a memorable experience without even mentioning Tigh a Cladach's unquestionable uniqueness - the stunning view 'Over the seas to Skye'.
Haste ye back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotBreukelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

Well, what can I say that hasn't been said previously, except that it's all true? Just spent two wonderful nights and couldn't ask for better accomodation or hosts. The views from our room and the dining room are to die for, and the breakfast could satisfy the heartiest appetite. An excellent base from which to explore the surrounding area of Skye, Applecross, Plockton and other places of interest. Already looking at dates for next year. Can't wait to visit again! (Although I think Murdo's slightly mad! ) Hope to see you both next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyingscot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

A very friendly and ideally located Bed & Breakfast facility with panoramic views of the Island of Skye across the waters of the Loch. Murdo & Mary Ann are the perfect hosts who made sure that our stay was so enjoyable. The breakfasts set us up each day for our explorations of the surrounding areas - made even more successful by their local knowledge and the loan of the appropriate books and maps.

A memorable stay, thanks to their diligent care and friendliness shown towards their guests

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naptonian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

A very good place to explore the Isle of Skye, near from bridge. Very clean and confortable. Stunning views of the sea, ¡you can see seals while having a good breakfast!. And the best of all, hosts kindness, they make you feel at home. I recommend it.

Iñigo Urquía. Madrid (Spain)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iurquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Have travelled to many places and stayed in numerous hotels, b&bs and homestays, and I must say that Tigh a Cladach bed & breakfast have been the most memorable. Good and clean place, great breakfast and most importantly the warmth, kindheartedness, humour and good cheer of the hosts (Mr and Mrs Matheson) made us miss them so much.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

Not very far from Kyle of Lochalsh, we enjoyed the wonderful view we had on Island of Skye, when the clouds had allowed us. But beside the weather, our stay there was very pleasant and relax. Murdo and his wife are very very kind indeed, and will prepare for one of the best breakfast I ate. If you're going there, do not forget to taste the smoked haddock as a breakfast, it's surprisingly good - at least I enjoyed it.

The rooms are very clean and there are some that are en-suite. From my window, I could see the Isle when I woke up, wonderful! Also, the living room got the same breathtaking view.

Also, if you signed the guest book online, Murdo will send you some pictures that'll give you the willing to come back again in this wonderful area.

Enjoy,

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badicaul
0.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
1.2 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh a Cladach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh a Cladach

Property: Tigh a Cladach
Address: Tigh a Cladach Badicaul | By Kyle of Lochalsh,West Highlands, Badicaul IV40 8BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Badicaul
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Badicaul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-a-Cladach Bed & Breakfast With A stunning ViewIf you’re looking for Bed & Breakfast accommodation in the Scottish Highlands then look no further than Tigh-a-Cladach (Gaelic for house by the shore). Tigh-a-Cladach is located in the small village of Badicaul which is near to Kyle of Lochalsh and the road bridge to the Isle of Skye. The property has extensive gardens which extend to the coastline and afford the opportunity to explore the many local rock pools and coves. Roe deer and pine martins are frequent visitors to the garden, dolphins are often spotted from the house in the summer, and seals can be seen all year round. Otters frequent the shore and if you're lucky you might see one. Minkie whales visit the area every year, basking sharks are another visitor to these waters. Badicaul is ideally located for touring the Isle of Skye, Lochcarron, Torridon Mountains, Apple Cross, Loch Maree, Glenelg, Glensheil, and a lot lot more. We are geographically located in the heart of the most outstandingly beautiful wilderness locations in Scotland. Stay here and explore the treasures of the Scottish Highlands. Many of our guests visit us on a regular bases, we hope that you will come and stay with us, please feel free to contact us for more information or to make a booking. Free 24/7 WiFi Internet Connection In All Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tigh a Cladach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh a Cladach Badicaul, Lochalsh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing