We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Tigh a Cladach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tigh a Cladach
Ranked #1 of 2 Badicaul B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Spent three nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast,Murdo and Mary Anne could not make us feel more welcome,a real home from home,the room was spotless,the view over Skye from our bedroom window was the best we have ever seen in all our travels,breakfast was lovely,set us up for the day! Murdo was always on hand for any advice on places to eat,or any other information required,we look forward to our next stay here,cant come soon enough!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Tigh a Cladach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 130 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have been here for four nights. Just on the foot of the skyebridge.Overlooking the sea out of your window or the breakfast/sitting room. It is a perfekt place to stay for going to Skye or Applecross or Fort William. You can also take the train from Inverness.
There is a beautifull garden,looking at the sea and the seals on the sandbanks.
Murdo and his wife are more than good hosts. Nothing is to much. They know very much about the surroundings and walks. A good place to stay and sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the seaside
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marja r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Watching seals basking on the rocks over breakfast, priceless, so at £60 for a twin a real bargain. As with all the hosts on out tour, Murdo and Mary Anne made you welcome in there home. They provided great local recomendations for meals and routes. Would have no hesitation recomending Tigh a Cladach
to friends. Was even inspired to purchase new binoculars for my next visit. Cheers

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveinCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights. Murdo and Mary Anne are lovely hosts. Always willing to talk and make you feel very welcome. The room was small and staying any longer would have been difficult, bathroom on the other hand was quite big. Spotlessly clean and well presented if a bit "old style". Breakfast was very good but latest they would serve is 08 30, which for us southern softies was a bit early, ESP on the Sunday. Views from the lounge was magnificent and is a reason to stay on its own!
Recommended for a stopover of a day or two

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank johncuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

A very welcoming place to stay in a lovely location with incredible views. We wished we were staying more than just the one night

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank les c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was an excellent B&B. Very home-like. Beautiful setting. Very near Kyle of Lochalsh and access to the island of Skye, Eilean Donan Castle etc. Just north of Kyle and a few miles south of the village of Plockton, where Hamish MacBeth episodes were filmed. The road to Plockton was a bit rough - but worth the drive.

Room Tip: The rooms seem about the same - not large, but adequate. No ensuite bathroom, but a communal bathroo...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Well, by email Murdo seemed a bit cheeky. In person he's very cheeky. MaryAnn was the BEST hostess. We found we would rather stay and chat with Murdo than go sightseeing. This place is a treasure - we loved it. Just what a B&B should be like. Yes, the rooms were adequate, but that didn't matter as it is made up for by their hospitality and generosity. The views were to die for, but we never did see the deer that are supposed to frequent the garden.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suepenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badicaul
0.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
358 reviews
3.8 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
586 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh a Cladach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh a Cladach

Address: Tigh a Cladach Badicaul | By Kyle of Lochalsh,West Highlands, Badicaul IV40 8BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Badicaul
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Badicaul
Price Range: $100 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-a-Cladach Bed & Breakfast With A stunning ViewIf you’re looking for Bed & Breakfast accommodation in the Scottish Highlands then look no further than Tigh-a-Cladach (Gaelic for house by the shore). Tigh-a-Cladach is located in the small village of Badicaul which is near to Kyle of Lochalsh and the road bridge to the Isle of Skye. The property has extensive gardens which extend to the coastline and afford the opportunity to explore the many local rock pools and coves. Roe deer and pine martins are frequent visitors to the garden, dolphins are often spotted from the house in the summer, and seals can be seen all year round. Otters frequent the shore and if you're lucky you might see one. Minkie whales visit the area every year, basking sharks are another visitor to these waters. Badicaul is ideally located for touring the Isle of Skye, Lochcarron, Torridon Mountains, Apple Cross, Loch Maree, Glenelg, Glensheil, and a lot lot more. We are geographically located in the heart of the most outstandingly beautiful wilderness locations in Scotland. Stay here and explore the treasures of the Scottish Highlands. Many of our guests visit us on a regular bases, we hope that you will come and stay with us, please feel free to contact us for more information or to make a booking. Free 24/7 WiFi Internet Connection In All Rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh a Cladach Badicaul, Lochalsh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing