We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Iiyama
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
18
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
18
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent stay crepes the entire staff fantastic week hot water winter wonderland his team ski lodge walking distance train station minute walk marcus interact smokies heater basement netflix
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 20 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2019

First time visit to Madarao and the Yamadasan Lodge.
The lodge had a very relaxed homely feel, and was very comfortable. The room was huge, with a very comfortable bed and very clean. Set away from the living areas of the lodge, the room was very private and quiet.
Food was great - heaps of choice and top quality meals. The staff were all very friendly, and nothing was a problem. The location of the lodge was perfect - a short 5 minute walk (or ski !) to the lifts.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Al_B_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Yamadasan for 5 days and had an excellent stay. Compared to other places we stayed in Japan the room was huge, and the communal areas are also spacious and welcomimg. Staff were welcoming and took us to and from station in Iiyama. Very convenient really with only a 2 hr trip by train from Tokyo. Food was excellent and lots of other options nearby. Skiing is amazing - we had great powder, and the runs are varied, with good options for beginners. Would definitely go back.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Pioneer423702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic week spent with friends and family at at Yamadasan Ski Accommodation. Wonderful friendly helpful staff, large clean comfy rooms, great brekki in the morning and hearty selection of western style meals for dinner! Mini onsens. And snow ‘Angel dust’ like no where ever over 2 metres! Pop into Smokies Bar and Restaurant for a few Apres drinks ❄️⛄️

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Madaraoskifun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Large comfy rooms with plenty of space. Cracking crew and not your standard Japanese setup. Well suited for our needs as a family and everything was easy from the time we were picked up from the station to being dropped off again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank camboacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

Stayed here for 4 days, 3 nights at the beginning of February. We were lucky to have 2 dumps of fresh powder snow while we were there. We were very happy with our choice, as Bergland was cosy, and Hiroshi was a fabulous host. He picked us up from the bus stop in Madarao, drove us to the ski lift each morning, and let us keep our room all day on the final day when we had an evening departure. On top of this, he kitted us out with rental clothing and snowboarding gear at a fraction of the price of the rental shops in the village. In my case, he didn't have boots large enough for me, so he gave me a discount voucher to use in the main shop inside the visitor centre. They even provided gloves and goggles at no extra cost. Oh, and discounted rates for lift tickets as well. Cost of renting equipment was a real concern of mine before our trip, so it was a huge relief to get everything sorted so easily and so cheaply.

The lodge itself was small and cosy. There's a steaming hot onsen in the basement, which I could only stay in for a few minutes, but the shower is there to cool you off. We also really enjoyed the breakfasts, more so than the buffet breakfast in Madarao Kogen hotel, which we tried one morning. While we were there, we never actually saw any other guests, but occasionally saw signs, such as a new pair of shoes in the entrance hallway.

There was also a tiny takeaway shop next door which did delicious crepes. Highly recommended!

One more point about Madarao - I chose it for its reputation of huge powder and plentiful runs through the trees, and it's true - tree skiing here is positively encouraged - within certain areas. That being said, it's still a small area, so if you're there for any more than three days, I'd recommend a day trip to Nozawa Onsen, or one of the other neighbouring resorts. There is a shuttle bus to Nozawa Onsen at 9:30. I would have liked to have gone earlier, but the service starts in NO, and then returns from Madarao, so there's no earlier option. It was, however, possible to get back after about 6:00, which is not what the shuttle bus timetable said, so don't worry if you think your day out will be too short.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdamZapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews