We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Iiyama
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
17
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
17
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent stay the entire staff fantastic week winter wonderland hot water his team ski lodge walking distance minute walk marcus interact smokies basement heater communal netflix shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 19 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic week spent with friends and family at at Yamadasan Ski Accommodation. Wonderful friendly helpful staff, large clean comfy rooms, great brekki in the morning and hearty selection of western style meals for dinner! Mini onsens. And snow ‘Angel dust’ like no where ever over 2 metres! Pop into Smokies Bar and Restaurant for a few Apres drinks ❄️⛄️

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Madaraoskifun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Large comfy rooms with plenty of space. Cracking crew and not your standard Japanese setup. Well suited for our needs as a family and everything was easy from the time we were picked up from the station to being dropped off again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank camboacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

Stayed here for 4 days, 3 nights at the beginning of February. We were lucky to have 2 dumps of fresh powder snow while we were there. We were very happy with our choice, as Bergland was cosy, and Hiroshi was a fabulous host. He picked us up from the bus stop in Madarao, drove us to the ski lift each morning, and let us keep our room all day on the final day when we had an evening departure. On top of this, he kitted us out with rental clothing and snowboarding gear at a fraction of the price of the rental shops in the village. In my case, he didn't have boots large enough for me, so he gave me a discount voucher to use in the main shop inside the visitor centre. They even provided gloves and goggles at no extra cost. Oh, and discounted rates for lift tickets as well. Cost of renting equipment was a real concern of mine before our trip, so it was a huge relief to get everything sorted so easily and so cheaply.

The lodge itself was small and cosy. There's a steaming hot onsen in the basement, which I could only stay in for a few minutes, but the shower is there to cool you off. We also really enjoyed the breakfasts, more so than the buffet breakfast in Madarao Kogen hotel, which we tried one morning. While we were there, we never actually saw any other guests, but occasionally saw signs, such as a new pair of shoes in the entrance hallway.

There was also a tiny takeaway shop next door which did delicious crepes. Highly recommended!

One more point about Madarao - I chose it for its reputation of huge powder and plentiful runs through the trees, and it's true - tree skiing here is positively encouraged - within certain areas. That being said, it's still a small area, so if you're there for any more than three days, I'd recommend a day trip to Nozawa Onsen, or one of the other neighbouring resorts. There is a shuttle bus to Nozawa Onsen at 9:30. I would have liked to have gone earlier, but the service starts in NO, and then returns from Madarao, so there's no earlier option. It was, however, possible to get back after about 6:00, which is not what the shuttle bus timetable said, so don't worry if you think your day out will be too short.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdamZapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017

From the moment we arrived we loved this place. Mr Yamada came to pick us up from the bus stop and checked us into our huge room. He then recommended and booked restaurants for us and organised discounted lift tickets. The place is so cozy and relaxing and has a European alps chalet feel about it. The beds are super comfortable and the breakfast is traditional Japanese and delicious! He then went the extra mile and dropped us off at the next resort that we are staying at! Amazing service! We will definitely stay here when we return to Madarao. Highly recommend Bergland to anybody staying in the area.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Bergland in February 2016 and again in February 2017 as part of a small group of friends.

Both times we stayed in a western twin room, which were clean, comfortable and spacious, and had individual heating as well as an ensuite.

The showers and hot baths are downstairs, and the hotel has cozy communal sitting areas with comfortable lounges, boardgames, and a great view of the snowy conditions outside.

Breakfast and dinner can be provided with advance notice but we haven't yet taken advantage of this service. Restaurants, cafes, izakayas and the large Madarao Kogen Hotel are are all within short easy walking distance; as is the Madarao ski resort which is why we came to this charming mountain top village.

What makes the hotel a real standout, on top of its value for money, great location, cleanliness, and warm surroundings, is its owner and manager, Yamada-San. He is an incredible man whose warm and gracious hospitality far exceeds anything I've ever experienced, even by Japan's very high standards. He went out of his way to assist us and make sure we were comfortable and taken care of - we felt like we were staying with family (the ones you actually like).

I whole heartedly recommend Bergland for your stay in gorgeous Madarao. I'm fact, I would not stay anywhere else on the mountain.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Dwannylyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews