We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty pub grub, huge portions”
Review of Kintail Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shiel Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kintail Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tasty pub grub, huge portions”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stopped by for a late lunch on a Saturday afternoon. It was a stunning day and very quiet which is usually a bad sign but not on this occasion.

The interior is a little dated but no more than is usual for Scotland, the service was attentive and friendly without being a pain. There are no airs and graces, just friendly service, which is much better.

The menu had quite a broad selection of meals including some lighter options. I had the fish and chips which was huge; I can eat a lot but even I struggled to finish.

The quality of the food was fairly high and certainly better than most pub food, I don't recall their being any salad (which you may or may not see as bonus). If you are after fine dining then this isn't the place to go.

We went for a walk (more like waddle) along the waterfront which is very picturesque and worth a dander.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Calummurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    109
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
58
141
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,168 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stopped into the Lounge Bar for an evening meal on two occasions. Welcoming and friendly staff, who provided brisk service. Excellent evening menu with good selection of starters, mains and desserts with "specials" on the blackboard. Large portions.....which made me go for two starters on the 2nd evening. Couldn't fault anything. An eclectic mix of people.......made for a pleasant evening. TV turned off when the World Cup wasn't being viewed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a fantastic room which was the size of a flat. The Lodge is well situated and the owner and staff are extremely pleasant. Breakfast was good too. A small word of warning: the bar also doubles up as the restaurant. Both nights we were there there was a group of local Drinkers (capital D) who swore loudly every other word. If you are offended by such language eat in the hotel conservatory. Personally I found it boorish and was surprised the drinkers weren't told by staff to moderate their language.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilFAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have been going to this hotel for three years now. Approx. 6 times each year for a 3 or 4 day break winter and summer.

I have been visiting Scotland for some 20 years now and I wish I had discovered this Gem of a hotel sooner.
I must have driven past it 50 times on my way to Skye, but as I was so near to Skye ( approx. 20 minutes to Skye bridge) I never stopped here. ( my mistake ! ).
The bedrooms are very clean and have quality furniture and quality beds and bedding ( no plastic mattress covers here ! )
Great views from all bedrooms (room 14 has the best views)
The food is really good and they have an extensive wine list.( my weakness is good wines ! )
A good tip for you, eat in the bar rather than the restaurant it has a really good atmosphere..

.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 and 16 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ponny43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed for a weekend break of walking and sightseeing and couldn't have been more pleased. Staff very welcoming, room (1) was beautiful with lovely views, breakfast was brilliant and we also had dinner both nights which was great. Chef even made extra vegetarian dish for me. Took two wee doggies who also had a great time and were made welcome. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room one is great size with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights on business, room was clean average size for a double bed no bath but good sized shower, towels and bedding fresh and clean.. good atmosphere in the bar. Bar food excellent quality good choice and reasonably priced. Breakfast also a good experience good food. Well presented and cooked.
Overall I would recommend you pop In and sample what's on offer either for the drink or the food or accommodation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have stayed on Skye several times but decide to try something new. Kintail Lodge was such a nice surprise! From the booking to the 2 nights we were there to the check-out process, everything was really easy and friendly. I was travelling with 2 other women, so we booked 2 rooms with an adjoining bathroom. The rooms were perfect...tastefully done with everything you might need. The views were amazing, and the location was ideal for touring Skye. We had dinner in the bar both nights, and the food was great. The bar can be busy (in a good way), and the atmosphere is relaxed and fun. There is a lovely sitting room with games and DVDs, as well.

All in all, a great place. If it's good enough for Brad Pitt (he stayed while filming in Scotland a few years ago), it's good enough for us! Highly recommended for an authentic Highlands experience!

Room Tip: Most rooms face the water...ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shiel Bridge
9.9 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
269 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
9.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
368 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintail Lodge

Property: Kintail Lodge
Address: Shiel Bridge, Shiel Bridge IV40 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Shiel Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kintail Hotel Shiel Bridge
Kintail Lodge Shiel Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing