We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class stay”
Review of Kintail Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shiel Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kintail Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

my husband and I stayed for 3 nights in April, free upgrade to a loch view room with excellent views. Staff very friendly and food great. I would highly recommend this hotel, great base for exploring Plockton, Skye etc.. great scenery

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 378 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

The lodge is situated in a wonderful area with amazing views but that might well be the best of it.
We arrived for lunch and I ordered the Saddle of Venison which was tough and over done. This was the case with 3 of the dishes.
The 'sticky toffee pudding' was basically a sponge cake with a bit of sauce.
It is a real pity as there isnt anywhere else close to eat and I think they are aware of this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Du_Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stopped here before while on a highland tour and repeated it this year. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, fabulous location and the food (and beer) in the bar are worth coming for alone! Plentiful parking and beatiful loch side location (perfect for Eilan Donan, Skye, Mam Ratigan and Glenelg).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We ate here as a table of 5 recently and have to say the food was very nice. Beautiful views from the conservatory, although the room itself is a little lacking in atmosphere. We were well looked after by the bar staff and our food arrived in good time and was lovely and hot. The only slight criticism we had was one of our party asked for an alternative to peppercorn sauce with her steak, which totally threw the waitress and left her pretty much speechless. We all found this a little strange - any alternative at all would have been fine, but it just left her totally dumbfounded. Other than this, and the conservatory being a little chilly, we were pleased and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostmisslivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Recently returned from a fantastic stay at the Kintail Lodge Hotel. The hotel was really relaxing and we all received a warm welcome from the staff. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. The public areas are quiet and well furnished. The staff at the hotel are the real selling point. We have stated a few times and we are always impressed by the way in which everyone is made to feel so welcome. The bar is a great place to enjoy a drink and to eat. The menu is extensive and there are always daily specials highlighted on the board. The quality of the food is outstanding. Breakfast is a MUST!!! Great value for money. A real gem in the Highlands!!! Fantastic location to get around the West Coast of Scotland. The hotel will provide you with a hearty packed lunch for those days you chose to take to the hills. Again, the packed lunched are of a high standard and good value fro money. Will certainly return - in the not too distant future I hope. Would thoroughly recommend a stay in this hotel. The staff will make you feel very welcome. It is great to see a privately owned and run hotel paying so much attention to detail and to ensuring that you enjoy every aspect of your stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I always look forward to going to the Kintail Lodge. It's in a beautiful spot on the loch-side, perfectly situated for getting into the mountains. Michele, Marianne and the team are most welcoming and hospitable, which sets the place apart.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ML5529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

At very short notice Michele and her team helped us host our wedding reception and also provide accommodation for all our guests for 2 nights. From the first phone call through to checking out the team were helpful, friendly and accommodating. Going the extra mile to ensure that it all went smoothly and making everything so easy for us.

Breakfast, the bar food and the wedding meal were all very delicious with great sized portions. The selection of beers and drinks were fantastic too.

On the evening of the wedding we took over the bar area with a party atmosphere and we were given free rein to enjoy the night how we liked.

Totally perfect weekend in an absolutely beautiful location. Can't thank the team at Kintail Lodge enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shiel Bridge
21.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
635 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
298 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
24.1 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
313 reviews
17.7 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintail Lodge

Address: Shiel Bridge, Shiel Bridge IV40 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Shiel Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Price Range: $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kintail Lodge Hotel is your home away from home in the beautiful Scottish Highlands. In addition to its 12 comfortable, en suite bedrooms Kintail Lodge has a breakfast room with stunning views over the garden and Loch Duich, a Highland Bar that is popular with both locals and visitors, a comfortable lounge with traditional Highland feel and a quiet sitting room with open fire and beautiful views across the garden and the loch. The traditional Highland Pub offers a varied menu with local produce, including local venison, haddock, salmon and scallops. The hotel can also accommodate small weddings and private parties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kintail Hotel Shiel Bridge
Kintail Lodge Shiel Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing