We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Value For Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kintail Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shiel Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kintail Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Pooley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value For Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a welcoming, comfortable and hospitable hotel which provides the ideal stopping place for walkers in the Kintail region. The staff are unfailingly polite and helpful, the rooms are warm and fully equipped and the food is consistently excellent. Certainly the best hotel in the area and while not cheap it provides fantastic vale for money. I will be returning. Soon.

Room Tip: Room 4 in the Family suite is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John1450266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    103
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
132
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for just one night in April. The hotel is in a fabulous location with nice walks all round. We had an upgraded room which was large clean well appointed and with a view of the loch. The hotel is attached to a pub which serves real ale and you can eat there if you wish. We dined in the conservatory restaurant and turned out to be the only diners which considering the view and ambiance was rather romantic. The food was excellent and we could not have been looked after better. Breakfast was also of excellent quality. Well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Worth making sure you have a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Unfortunately our 1st choice for food was closed, so the only other option was Kintail Lodge Hotel.
The cheapest main meal was steak pie, frozen chips & peas £12.50. Never in a month of Sundays was it worth that, In fact while we were waiting for ours to arrive another couple came in looked at the menu & promptly walked out again the word extortionate ,must have crossed their minds too! We did not see the rooms as we were only there for food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammysandown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I had two nights in the Trekkers Bunkhouse at the weekend and it was just perfect for our needs. Perfectly clean and tidy, suitably appointed for a bacon sandwich breakfast with dinner and beer in the hotel bar. The staff were excellent and after a long day in the hills on Saturday they really sorted us out with good food and much need hydration! All in all an excellent place to put your head.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Kintail Lodge occupies the most beautiful and spectacular setting, on the shores of Loch Alsh. We made our booking directly with the hotel and it was dealt with promptly, efficiently and friendly. The hotel was easy to find and there were lots of places to park our car.

On arrival we were shown our room, we had already chosen a superior room, we were not disappointed - it was superb! We had a small vestibule which led into a large bathroom and our bedroom. The bedroom was much larger than expected and it was lovely to find two armchairs and a coffee table placed at the window, overlooking the loch. There was also a 2-seater sofa in the room. The complimentary tray was brimming with the usual tea, coffee and a good Suchard hot chocolate as well as shortbread.

We decided to go to the bar which is on site. Everyone was very friendly and there was a good mix of local people, walkers and business men. We had booked dinner B & B and it was suggested that we might like to eat in the conservatory but the atmosphere in the bar was so friendly we decided to stay where we were.

The dinner menu is very good and I can thoroughly recommend the mussels a la mariniere. My husband has a conservative palate and suggests either the steak pie or battered cod.

Breakfast, again, was lovely and we were able to eat at a table in the breakfast room overlooking the Loch. A full Scottish breakfast was on offer as well as fish and vegetarian dishes.

This is an ideal location for those who would like to walk or explore Skye.

The only drawback we had was the bathroom. It was superbly furnished but difficult for my husband, who is disabled, to shower and the tiled floor collected condensation and became quite slippy.

However, now that we know this we will be prepared because we can't wait to return in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view. Disabled guest should ring the hotel to be advised of specialist facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionamul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped here before taking the 'old' ferry from Glenelg to Skye. Coffee was excellent - and food was freshly prepared so a short wait before service. Soup made on the premises and was a very tasty spiced vegetable and coriander with warm bread bun. My better half went for a feta salad - diet restriction - and was very happy. Price was very reasonable . Entertainment provided by the numerous wild goats in the hotel's garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed overnight in this excellent hotel. Superior large comfortable room with beautiful view of Loch Duich. Great roomy bathroom An excellent dinner in the lively bar served by professional and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mairiross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shiel Bridge
15.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
12.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
9.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintail Lodge

Property: Kintail Lodge
Address: Shiel Bridge, Shiel Bridge IV40 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Shiel Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiel Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kintail Hotel Shiel Bridge
Kintail Lodge Shiel Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing