We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent B&B experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glomach House & Croft Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shiel Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glomach House & Croft Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Shiel Bridge B&B and Inns
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent B&B experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Celia is an excellent hostess - we visited with our adult sons as a special treat for my husband's 65th birthday. We stayed for 3 nights from 29th August. The rooms both faced Loch Duich and were very comfortable. I am extremely grateful to Celia for driving the men up to the starting point for their walk and for assisting with their extremely wet clothing upon their return - totally above and beyond any other guest house we've stayed at. A really beautiful place to stay. Thanks very much to Celia for making it such a memorable time. We also got to see dolphins and seals while eating out breakfast (at no extra cost...)!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We checked in and were greeted by Celia - a lovely lady who was willing to talk and explain anything you wanted to know.
We got more than we bargained for............the room we initially wanted some months ago was booked up, however, the people had to cancel on the day we arrived. Celia offered this room (overlooking Loch Duich!) to us at no extra cost. Fab start! It was bright, warm, nice layout with patio doors to the front lawn.
A good nights sleep was had......very peaceful. In the morning we had a gorgeous breakfast, very good variety, fresh fruit in juice, cereals, toast, porridge and hot, cooked food - the choice was excellent. Good coffee too, very good.
Some laughs we had, some life experiences and the like. Thanks Celia.

Room Tip: Choose the "Loch view room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL3trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We found this lovely B&B on our way back from the Isle of Sky. It was pouring rain and we thought it looked pretty ordinary but were pleasantly surprised. We were greated by the lovely Celia Munro and shown to our bedroom which had a view of Loch Duich and the mountains. Our room had tea/coffee facilities and the bathroom was larger than most others in Scotland. The breakfast was very generous and what a treat to have such a view. Our bedroom was great as you could enter from the garden. I think it is the best room.
We ate dinner at the local restaurent Jac O'Bite 2 minute walk but we took the car as we had very heavy rain. Would certainly recommend, our room was 80 pound.
Barbara & Neville Australia.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room with the magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnev169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Myself and my partner loved this B&B - we are already planning a trip back. The bedroom we stayed in was beautifully decorated and furnished. It had sliding glass doors out onto the garden with an amazing view of the loch and hills. In the morning the breakfast was perfectly cooked and extremely generous with lots of fresh fruit. Celia is such a nice persona and a brilliant host, I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishtravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Don't let the plain exterior of this lovely B&B deceive you. It is a one story, modern building, not one of the many Scottish B&B's based in picturesque older buildings. However, if you are tired of dragging your luggage up stairs, it is a blessing. The setting is beautiful and the view of the loch from our room was to die for. There are two great eating places within walking distance. The furnishings are lovely, the coal fire in the living room was welcome, and the hostess was gracious. As we ate dinner in a near by restauant, we saw a couple bicycle up the drive to the B&B, soaked from the rain. The next morning at breakfast they were enthusiastically thanking the hostess for the bathrobes and slippers provided with the room, and how nicely she dealt with their wet state on arrival. It is a good site from which to visit the Eilean Donan castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

A warm welcome was given to us by Celia and our stay was very pleasant.
Room pleasant and seperate shower room which just needed a shelf for shampoo etc.One thing for sure no one is sill hungry after breakfast as portions are very, very generous.
On the whole a nice place to stay and better than alot of hotels

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicestershireTull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

The situation is magnificent and no effort is spared to make your stay comfortable.The owner is the perfect hostess. The house is warm, comfortable and clean, the breakfast first rate. We can wholeheartedly recommend Glomach House.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shiel Bridge
0.0 mi away
Ratagan Youth Hostel
Ratagan Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ratagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Glomach House & Croft Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glomach House & Croft Cottage

Property: Glomach House & Croft Cottage
Address: Glomach House Croft Cottage Allt na Chruinn | Glenshiel, Shiel Bridge IV40 8HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Shiel Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shiel Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Glomach House & Croft Cottage Shiel Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing