We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B, lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Conchra House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Conchra House
Ranked #2 of 4 Ardelve B&B and Inns
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, lovely location”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This B&B was quite lovely and quaint, just what we were looking for. The house is quite pretty and very clean. Our room and bathroom were decent size, not huge but not tiny. We were running extremely late due to a long drive from Edinburgh but the hostess was gracious about it and left the key for us to check ourselves in. An excellent, quiet location, not too hard to find even in the middle of the night. Good base for seeing the castle and the Isle of Skye.
Breakfast was good and plenty. My husband had the eggs and smoked salmon one morning, which he liked. No tv in the room, which we didn't miss. Only complaints were lack of wifi in rooms and we couldn't even connect in the common room which was extremely frustrating and would be so easy for the owner to fix, and also it would have been nice to have longer breakfast hours as our schedule was off.
All in all just wish we'd had more time to sit on the lawn and relax, but we were too busy sight-seeing!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 746travelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Room was fine. No lift, TV or shower - but we did not mind. Small bedroom window overlooking Loch, which was beautiful. Go down early for breakfast to get window seat. Wi-Fi and TV in large comfortable lounge. Mobile phone signal is poor. Lovely, picturesque and amazingly peaceful location. Fantastic view of Loch. Castle located nearby. Local pub served good food. Car needed, especially at night as there are few pavements and street lights. Friendly, helpful owners. Ample car parking. A good base to explore Skye.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with a small window but amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Comforatable stay with good views over the Loch. Accommodation clean and tidy and good room refreshments provided. Wi-Fi and T.V. available but only in the communal lounge and not in rooms. Low water pressure in shower, and hand held shower over bath in other rooms. Breakfast was good but cooked breakfast portions quite small. Good location for exploring the nearby Isle of Skye.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

LIKE:
The location is very peaceful and overlooks the lake. The rooms are tastefully decorated and adequate. The breakfast was fantastic best we have had! The breakfast order & time is taken the night before which worked out well (waited ½ hour, day before at another B&B for breakfast) Free parking.
DISLIKE:
The WiFi is only accessible from the ground floor TV lounge – even then it had a weak signal.
There was no mobile coverage either – my phone was completely dead. There was no TV in the room, only in the lounge – a bit ‘archaic’ by today’s standards, especially when the price was similar to better equipped B&B’s that we had stayed in on this trip!!..

Room Tip: Order a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Conchra house is right on one of the 3 lochs of Eilean Donan. Eventhough we did not have the direct view on the caste (only from our bedroom, and only of the roof of the castle), it was just beautiful, very cosy, nice tv/tea room on the ground floor..another nice large room is Camuslongart..Breakfast was great

Room Tip: we had a room on the top floor called aird ferry, great big bed, beautiful veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for a second time and loved it again. The location is stunning, the welcome was warm and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. We don't look for much else in a break away and would recommend Conchra house to anyone looking for that quiet, relaxing and comfortable experience. The tranquility is memorable. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our travels through Scotland. We were greeted on arrival and shown the guest lounge and then taken up to our room. A short conversation about breakfast for the morning and that was about it. Unfortunately there was no recommendations for dinner or things to do.

The room itself was very small (barely enough room for two suitcases) and very poorly lit, however rather clean. The bed seemed to be smaller than an average double and rather uncomfortable. We found ourselves on the edge of the bed several times during the night.

The property was advertised as having wi-fi but the reception was that bad we had to go to the lounge to use it, even then it still wasn't great.

Breakfast was nice and the pre ordering with time and preferences is a good idea.

Overall it wasn't too bad, however it was not worth the £64 price that went with it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perth_04Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardelve
0.0 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ratagan Youth Hostel
Ratagan Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ratagan
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
49 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Conchra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conchra House

Property: Conchra House
Address: Sallachy Road, Ardelve IV40 8DZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Ardelve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ardelve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century hunting lodge. Views towards Eilean Donan Castle over Loch Long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Conchra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conchra House Scotland/Ardelve, Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing