We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money - cosy and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conchra House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Conchra House
Ranked #2 of 4 Ardelve B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“value for money - cosy and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

enjoyed our stay made to feel very welcome, our room was small but all we needed
the on-suite was looked new , cosy and clean
our wee puppy came too. a glorious view of the mountain and loch with glimpses of castle.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
51
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Lovely old house with views across Loch. Wonderfully peaceful although a bit out of Kyle. Very hospitable owners, comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast. Large shared sitting room on the ground floor with good facilities for rainy days! We had a couple of very enjoyable days' stay while exploring SKye

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ossie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

The views from the house are beautiful but I wish I could say the same for the inside of the house. Our room was on the third floor and we had to keep our heads down almost all the time so we wouldn't hit the low ceilings. This would be ok to deal with if the bed were plush and comfy, which unfortunately it wasn't. The mattress was very thin with just a hard platform beneath it. On the bright side the hospitality was good and the food was excellent. I think Conchra just needs some updating of furniture to bring it up to par.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We enjoyed a relaxing two-night stay at Conchra House. It had been recommended to us and we were not disappointed! Our room was clean and comfortable, with a beautiful view out over the loch. The breakfasts were a real treat- very well-cooked!
We found this guesthouse to be great value for money. It's location is fantastic, being so close to the Skye Bridge and yet so peaceful. The host was very friendly and hospitable.
We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamV40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

my wife and i stayed here for a short break,and only wish we could have stayed longer..the b n b is perfectly situated,being a 2 minute drive to eillen donan castle nearby,and not far from isle of sky.
it is set in a peaceful tranquel location,ideal for getting away from the hustle and bustle.
the room we stayed in overlooked the loch,and was nicely decorated.
the breakfast was excellent,and sue the owner was very accomidating and friendly.
the wildlife in the area was also a plus point,deers on the front lawn in the morning,which was nice.
my wife and i have travelled scotland for over ten years now,and have stayed in many hotels and b n b's,and i would say it ranks in our top five.
there are no tv's in the rooms,but then again i dont go on holiday to watch the tv.....
ideally you do need transport,has the b n b is quite secluded,but all the better for it i think.
all in all,we enjoyed our stay there,and would return there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumblefalconer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Vincent de Tyrosse
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

We had a correct welcome from the owner who showed us our room on the top floor. Nice and well decorated.
We went in the lounge where we could connect our laptop with free Wifi. We also tasted our whiskies that we bought in Oban during the day (some glasses were on our disposal for this).

BUT: there is a big problem of isolation there! The night was really cold as the windows are not double glass. It was the bad surprise of the night.

The breakfast was really good, and we first tasted the Haggis: lovely!
No problem for us to stay a bit longer as we had to go on the Internet (the owner went away, leaving us alone in her house)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crisis_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Conchra House. Unlike some other reviews we didn't find it particularly welcoming. Our room didn't have a view (we stayed in the room which has a bathroom down the corridor which was fine, but for some reason the corridor near our room was very smelly) however the view from the breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast was very good. Also because the location isn't near a town it means you can't spend an evening eating and having a few drinks without having to drive back, but it's certainly a quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardelve
0.0 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ratagan Youth Hostel
Ratagan Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ratagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Conchra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conchra House

Property: Conchra House
Address: Sallachy Road, Ardelve IV40 8DZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Ardelve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ardelve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century hunting lodge. Views towards Eilean Donan Castle over Loch Long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Conchra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conchra House Scotland/Ardelve, Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing