We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome and a fine Bed & Breakfast too!”
Review of Loch Duich Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardelve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Duich Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Ardelve B&B and Inns
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great welcome and a fine Bed & Breakfast too!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was a great find on Laterooms.com - personal welcome on arrival and shown to a very comfortable double room one. After a grand night at the Celtic Connections Big top music festival it was back for a dram in the friendly bar and a chat. Top class comfy bed and a great sleep put me ready for the breakfast.
Mine hostess Annie served the full Scottish including the legendary Stornoway black pudding and haggis along with bacon, eggs and all the trimmings .She had even made time to set the fire so we had a cosy time with ooodles of toast and coffee.

This is a superb spot - Eilean Donan Castle creates the amazing backdrop with the hills beyond. This is the business for your wedding as they even have a helicopter landing area for the dramatic departure and Annie says the honeymoon suite is super too!
I see that backed up by other reviews.

So all in all a great stopover in the way to or the way back from Skye - actually it would be a fine base for touring the West highlands too!

We will be back!

Room Tip: Try and get one with a view of the Castle - its a great way to wake and know you are in the Highland...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benderloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    16
    17
    29
See reviews for
28
66
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hoogeveen, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We booked 2 nights at this hotel via booking.com, we booked one single and a double room. We had booked it early January.

When we arrived late Saturday afternoon (5 pm-ish), nobody knew we were coming. The owners were enjoying a few days off and left their chef and head of housekeeping in charge. Only the chef was there when we arrived, and because he had no idea of the layout of the hotel (which rooms are singles and which are doubles) he had to call Phyllis (housekeeping) to come over. It took almost an hour for her to arrive, and we were slightly in a hurry, because we had to be somewhere at 7, and still had to freshen up and change clothes. Eventually we were assigned one room to freshen up, and during this time Phyllis handed us the key to the other room. Crisis diverted.

When we came back a few hours later, we noticed that it was very cold in the rooms. The heating didn't work, but I had an extra electric heater in my room. My parents didn't. The hot water wouldn't heat up either.
On Sunday morning we told Phyllis about the cold, she would try and do something about it.
The breakfast was quite nice, toast and orange juice, and option to order full English and tea or coffee.

On Sunday we went out for the day, but when we came back, there still was no heating. It was even warmer outside then it was in...
We had dinner in the bar that night (there seemed to be no such thing as a 'seafood restaurant' as mentioned on the website; the menu consisted of two types of chicken, one dish with salmon, although they were out of salmon, and a beefburger). We opted for the beefburger, which was quite good.

Because the website tells us there is free wifi in the public areas, we took our laptop, and we wanted to look at the directions for our drive back on Monday. But apparently there isn't any wifi, the hotel doesn't even have a computer, and the website which is still online and first in Google search results, is from the last owners, not from the new. And those old owners apparently took all internet-related things with them... Such a shame the old site is still up while all the information on it is wrong, it is very misleading for future guests.

The next morning we had to check out very early because we had a long drive ahead of us. This was no problem, Phyllis was there with breakfast at 6.30 in the morning.
When we had to pay for our stay, we mentioned that we'd rather not pay full price, because there was no heating or possibility to take a shower. Phyllis gave us a discount on our stay, no trouble at all.

Negative points:
- no knowledge of our booking.
- no heating or warm water.
- no owner in sight.
- no free wifi as advertised on the website
- no credit card machine

Positive points:
+ good service from the little staff that was there.
+ good solution to our complaints
+ good size rooms.
+ neat bathroom.
+ new tv with enough channels.
+ good location.
+ great views.

If I were the new owners, first things I would do is make sure the heating works and the website is changed. It felt like they weren't really open for business yet and were just winging it for the 4 couples that were staying there that weekend.
I might come back if mentioned issues are solved, because the location is great and it does have a lot of potential. But for now, I am reluctant to give it good marks yet, and if it weren't for Phyllis I'd probably only give it two...

Room Tip: Room 5 has views over to Eilean Donan Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The new owners are very welcoming. Was a brilliant stay, will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ja123de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

What a transformation - friendly staff, locals encouraged to return and plenty of fun and laughter at the bar - as it should be!! Also to enjoy, real log fire and of course a pint of real ale...fantastic..!!.. must be experienced and enjoyed - and whatviews across to Eilean Donan Castle!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fudgecake62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a lovely overnight stay at Loch Duich Hotel (recently under new management ) the hospitality of the new bar manager ( Michael Sorby ) was second to none , It was a busy Saturday night in the bar ,It was good to see the locals returning to the bar a good entertaining nite with a wee sing song and lots of laughter , we were served with a smile and good humour from michael nothing was a problem great effort was made to make sure we enjoyed our stay .
Our room was very clean, the bed very comfy and helped towards a good night s sleep , one or two wee points mentioned , Room door handle was a bit loose shower door a wee bit wobbly etc !! otherwise it was perfect , The scenic veiw from our window was amazin and most certainly made up for a couple of wee hic ups , It seems this bonnie wee hotel is getting back on track and you can see where the efforts are being made to make this hotel an enjoyable place to stay , We ll be returning soon to soak up the beautiful views of the West Coast and to enjoy the atmosphere of the Loch Duich Hotel Good Job everyone !!! a great start !!! see you all again soon !!!!

Room Tip: Room 10 has fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

had a great few days at the loch duich hotel great staff very helpful and great food recommend to everyone if visiting the area rooms were comfy and warm great bar and excellent part of west coast

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe Village, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have just had our wedding reception there and all the staff were really helpful and friendly and everything went so well.

The hotel is suited to the people looking to stay somewhere in a piece of history as the building is centuries old and has so much character but obviously does not carry the facilities of the modern "average and mundane" chain hotels.

This is not our first trip here and as long as the owners stay the same will not be our last !

Room Tip: If you want the perfect view of Eilean Donan Castle choose room 5 (The honeymoon suite with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardelve
7.1 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
350 reviews
3.9 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
227 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
15.5 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
275 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ratagan Youth Hostel
Ratagan Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ratagan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Duich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Duich Hotel

Property: Loch Duich Hotel
Address: Ardelve | Dornie, Ardelve IV40 8DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Ardelve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ardelve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Loch Duich Hotel Scotland/Ardelve, Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing