We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Post Office House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmacara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Post Office House
Ranked #4 of 4 Balmacara B&B and Inns
Ohio
1 review
“Great Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at this bed and breakfast. The owner was very friendly and the accomodations were clean and nicely decorated. This is a great place to stay to tour Skye or Eilean Donan. Can't wait to return.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
Thank loshebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2007

Stayed here for three nights while exploring the surrounding area. The owners were quite new at it (think they had taken over the property just a few weeks earlier).
The proprietors were very helpful in recommending sites to explore, restaurants to visit and walks. And the view from our bedroom window was almost worth the trip in itself (stunning sunshine with a slight haze over Loch Alsh).
Great Highland-breakfast with other options for those who wants a lighter meal.
Extremely close to pub, shop and postoffice (two-three doors down). And plenty of parkingspaces just outside the gates.
Will come back again.

  • Liked — The location (scenery).
  • Disliked — To have to leave it.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2006

Arrived at the Old Post Office House in the early evening after the pretty train ride from Inverness to Kyle. As it was foggy when we arrived, we were quite surprised to wake up to the beautiful site of the Isle of Skye through the front window of the b&b. The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The traditional english breakfast was extremely good and learning about the area from the owners was very informative. Would definitely recommend this b&b, but be sure to rent a car to properly see the Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhkexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2006

We had a dleightful stay at the welcoming little B&B with comfortable rooms and a lovely breakfast. The room overlooked the Loch and the location was ideally placed close to the Isle of Skye for local touring. The owners were remarkably friendly and helpful. We liked the place and the area so much we extended our stay by an unplanned day (which gave us the chance to try and enjoy the pancakes at breakfast). Thoroughly recommended.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — No
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Transplanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

We stayed at this little B&B for one night on a tour of Scotland last week and would definitely recommend it. Our room was very clean, newly decorated and well-equipped. It wasn't en suite (cos the en suite double was already booked when we enquired) but the bathroom was only shared with one other room (a twin) which wasn't occupied so we effectively had the bathroom to ourselves. The room had a great view over a little loch and some hills, and the B&B is in a good location for touring Skye as it is only 10-15 minutes from the Skye Bridge. Breakfast was great, chosen from a menu the night before and served in a beautiful dining room with a view over the loch. All in all a good find that we would use again. We paid £45 for double (shared bathroom), double en suite was £50.
One of the owners also runs a massage business from the premises so if you fancy treating yourself this could be the place for you.
See good website, (-) for more info on rates etc.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balmacara hotels
0.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office House

Property: The Old Post Office House
Address: Balmacara IV40 8DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balmacara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Post Office House Bed & Breakfast was built in 1886 and is situated near Kyle of Lochalsh on the loch side of the beautiful Wester Ross village of Balmacara. The house has been offering quality B&B accommodation for over 10 years. The property is south facing and benefits from magnificent views across Loch Alsh towards Skye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office House Balmacara, Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing