We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Balmacara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmacara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmacara
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The area is peaceful. The hotel looks very nice from outside with big windows in the restaurant. When we arrived there we did not have reservations and my husband and I had to take two small (very small rooms) instead of one room. Even though the rooms were small, we had a good stay. The rooms were clean and quiet and the beds were comfortable. The TV channels selection was very limited.

The girl at the front desk was very helpful and told us where to find restaurants, ATM machines and internet (at a hostel near by). I think the hotel has Wi-Fi but we did not have a computer with us.

If you are having dinner there, you have to make reservations early since it seems they often have tour groups staying there and the restaurant gets booked up pretty quickly. Next morning, we had breakfast after the crowd that was part of the tour left. The breakfast was good but, unfortunately, the drinks were taken away from the buffet table before we finished. The view from the restaurant was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucianatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Balmacara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 235 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2010

We were part of a tour so that may have affected things but ..
We had an outstanding room - pictures attached although it is true that not all rooms looked upon the loch.
Our food was delicious and since it was a tour it was from a set menu but all very tasty and well prepared. The staff was very helpful and as far as I know none of our tour group had any problems with the hotel.
Comfortable bed, plenty warm enough and plenty of hot water.
Really can't complain about anything.
I think the picture of the room says it all.
The bathroom was also very tastfully decorated - had a shower over the tub and was quite a large room.
Linens were refreshed each day while we were gone.
Did not go into the public bar portion - no need - so I can't comment on that.
The hotel has a nice enough bar for the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreeterJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We had our Wedding reception here in 2006 and this was the first time we've managed to get back since.As before the staff are most friendly and helpful especially Ann and Tamsin.We had dinner,bed and breakfast for 3 nights for £140 each which was great value.The food was delicious and the room comfortable and clean.If you want a modern,bland hotel this isn't for you.The hotel is a traditional scottish hotel with nice old furniture and was a change from the big hotel chains.The view from the hotel is beautiful as it looks over Loch Alsh to Skye.We had a great weekend and the lovely weather at the end of September was a bonus

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocchip66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Called in by chance after a day of driving and meetings and got an excellent price. The room had no view but that didn't matter to me (though the receptionist was apologetic). I love old Highland hotels that have oldish furniture but are clean, comfortable, unfussy and not overpriced, and this is exactly what that is.

Smart public areas and a good breakfast, with the view.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asgerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I had to write a review of this hotel. Stayed here two nights. From the outside it looks a bit dated, but inside it is really very nice and cheerful. The rooms are big and my room had an amazing view of the Isle of Sky. You could not ask for a more beautiful location... there are some hiking trails nearby and a lovely Brigadoon-esque village nearby. The staff of the hotel was super accommodating and helpful to our group of 20. The food in the restaurant was good... nothing to write home about. One night at dinner one of the women on staff sang us a beautiful song in Gaelic. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to travelers. The location is wonderful, it is quiet and clean, and the staff are kind.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The view was the best thing about this hotel. The Bed/matress was so uncomfortable that I condidered sleeping in the car, it would have been more comfortable. Every time you/partner turned over you heard the loud "bong" of the springs.
The furniture in the room was out dated and would have been more suitable for an OAP retirement home rather than a hotel. Very dissapointing visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. The staff are lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them. The view from our bedroom on the ground floor was stunning.
Meals were very good and reasonably priced. We ate in the bar one evening and the restaurant another. Portions in the restaurant could be a little bigger - we were offered one small plate of vegetables between us. We asked for more plus salad and that was quickly brought to the table. Mobile and wireless reception was awful - but that was nothing to do with the hotel.
All in all, I wish we could stayed a little longer - it was so peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FolkestoneFoxylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmacara
3.3 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
358 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.6 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
586 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
249 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmacara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Hotel

Address: Balmacara Hotel | Balmacara, Balmacara IV40 8DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmacara
Price Range: $132 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmacara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmacara Hotel is situated on the shores of Lochalsh, with constantly changing views over the sea to Skye. Perfectly situated to explore this breathtakingly beautiful part of Scotland, the hotel is approx. 3 miles from Kyle of Lochalsh, the Skye Bridge, and Eilean Donan Castle. The Hotel enjoys an outstanding location for touring and provides an ideal leisure break destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balmacara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmacara Hotel Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing