We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky little place”
Review of Balmacara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balmacara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmacara
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having read the reviews I was pleasantly surprised with this pace. Our room was lovely and at the side of the hotel had a fabulous view. Manager seemed to do everything running here and there. Nice little bar and the food was good homemade fare. Very useful Spa shop next door.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 248 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Blamacara was the 4th stop on our honeymoon around Scotland and we booked for 2 nights to give us time to explore the area and spend some time on the beautiful Isle of Skye. It proved to be a perfect base for us. The hotel itself is in a great position on the edge of a loch with stunning views. We had a really nice spacious room on the first floor and it was very clean and tidy. There was a bar in the lobby area and there was also a pub attached to the building but with separate access. The breakfast was lovely the first morning but to so on the second morning, everything was undercooked and the bacon looked like it hadn't even seen a grill or frying pan!. We ate in Plockton at the Plockton Inn on the first evening and that was fantastic.. the food was beautiful and plenty of it.. the atmosphere in the pub was also great and there was live music the evening we were there. Hello to a couple of nice Belgian blokes we got chatting to if you guys read this. The second evening we ate at the hotel and although the meal was reasonable, it wasn't quite what we were expecting.. i ordered a leg of lamb and if what i got was a leg of lamb then the lamb must have been named Oscar Pistorius. That said, the service was good and the lady that worked in the restaurant was lovely. The manager himself was very helpful and gave us some excellent advice on what to see and where to go.. we took his advice upon leaving and drove over the highest road in Britain to Applecross... Phew..good drive but quite hard going in places. I have to agree with another reviewer and say that the manager did appear to be trying to do everything.. he worked reception, the bar, the restaurant and he did seem to be stretching himself. Overall though, no complaints and the general service and feel of the place was good. A great base to explore the Isle of Skye and we would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely location,with ample parking.Room was on the small side but very clean and tidy. TV reception/coverage very limited with no BBC 1. Poor water pressure from the shower. With the age of the property, there were creaky floor boards and doors but added to the quirky character of the hotel. On arrival. advised that they were a little short staff so bearing this in mind, the staff worked hard to provide a decent level of service. Dinner in the restaurant was OK. Very good breakfast. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

At first everything seemed to be fantastically ...... nice atmosphere, beautiful views, weather Scottish sun once again rain. Large room cozy and clean!
Unfortunately, the evening dinner was a failure! Not by a chef but by waiter or manager Andrew..... looked stressed, anxious and slightly inserted ..... He forgot about our table and we had to wait a long time until we can handle, and the restaurant was empty ...?? So where was he? His English was unintelligible mumbling something ..... maybe to much of ....... Fortunately, the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, cheese, salami, fresh bread. Morning shift waitresses was a lot better! I recommend the hotel and breakfast but the restaurant is out! I wish you good luck!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotskiers, Manager at Balmacara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We operate three different areas of eating. If there is a large tour group we do not take bookings for the restaurant at this time. Clients are offered the option of dining before or after the group or alternatively in the Public Bar where they do not require a reservation. The manager is responsible for the overall operation of the hotel and occaisionally may be other places but will delegate someone to attend the restaurant. Perhaps the client could tell us on which date he stayed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Balmacara Hotel on our way to Orkney. View of the loch out our bedroom window was beautiful. It is an old, remote place so don't expect a modern facility. The staff were friendly and helpful. Only problem was the wifi, phone system and credit card system were down the two days we were there. Otherwise, I would recommend it as a good place to stay and see Sky and Orkney.

Room Tip: The room under the "hotel" sign has a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judithchappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel suited our purposes as a base to wander around Skye and the surrounding areas. Room was large with excellent view of the Loch , clean and tidy , shower fine , clean towels every day , hot water. Very small TV but to be honest we weren't there to watch tele so not a problem. Radiators once turned up were more than adequate. Wifi was not working at time of our visit , didn't bother finding out why , sometimes it's nice that the I pad , smart phone etc stays quiet , this was a short holiday after all, did see others complaining so could be an issue if you can't live without it. Breakfast was interesting , food was good , but service did vary from morning to morning , if the manager was not around things were slow , when he was there things ran a lot smoother.
Bar at side of hotel basic but ok , campers use it as well as hotel guests , bit of a ramblers type bar. The food was a surprise , being excellent and better than expected. Overall the hotel was good value and fine for what we wanted , its not five star etc , but no real problems if you just want somewhere to stay whilst exploring the area. Plockton a few miles away worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 45 we found had nice view, on the end of new part of hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fantastic position overlooking mountains on the far side of the Loch, would make a superb base for a walking holiday as there is so much beautiful scenery all around this area.
Staff at the hotel were welcoming and friendly, food was OK but a little pricey.
My single room was a bit cramped and the 14" portable TV was straight out of the 90's but the room was clean and everything I needed worked just fine.
I was quite happy with everything at the price I paid, its really better than average but not quite very good - 3.5 stars would be my rating !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmacara
3.3 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
369 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
257 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
10.9 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmacara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Hotel

Address: Balmacara Hotel | Balmacara, Balmacara IV40 8DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmacara
Price Range: $138 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmacara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmacara Hotel is situated on the shores of Lochalsh, with constantly changing views over the sea to Skye. Perfectly situated to explore this breathtakingly beautiful part of Scotland, the hotel is approx. 3 miles from Kyle of Lochalsh, the Skye Bridge, and Eilean Donan Castle. The Hotel enjoys an outstanding location for touring and provides an ideal leisure break destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balmacara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmacara Hotel Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing