We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service at the Balmacarra”
Review of Balmacara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmacara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmacara
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Greeted by an englishman at the desk who juggled the prices before squeezing an extra tenner out of me the Balmacarra was a Hotel that might once have been quite nice. The room was dated and didn't lock, I had to sit in a corridor outside an office to pick up wi-fi and they couldn't be bothered to start breakfast half an hour early for me and 7 other guests. Not good enough and poor value. Keep going there are plenty good B&Bs on Skye.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianjacksonbfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked our twin room for 65 GBP (for 2) on booking.com, but noticed a sign in the lobby that said the rack rate was about double that. We had a great view, buffet breakfast, with the usual Scottish breakfast items. Large room and you could set the temperature. The only negatives (and for the price I'm not complaining) was that there was an odd variety of different styles of furniture in the room and there also was no lift so had to use stairs with our cases.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherry246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If your main objective is to explore isle of Skye and its surroundings, Balmacara Hotel is not the place to stay. it is charmless, the rooms look like a big dorm and it is too expensive. The location is poor. There is nothing nice around in a walking distance. Prefer to get a bed and breakfast in Isle of Skye or Stockton (charming village!) that you will have a much better experience, with nice rooms, the chance to interact with the nice local people for half of the price. The only reason for staying here it would be if you are traveling in a big bus with a huge group of people...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel, staff, food and facilities are great. We were well looked after. As we stayed out of season we managed to miss the coach tours which I believe are frequent but I am assured don't interfere with other residents. We had a beautiful view from the room which was very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The midweek Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package is fantastic value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I choose Balmacara Hotel to have our wedding reception after our ceremony in Eilean Donan Castle. We stayed at the hotel from the Friday to Monday with our guests staying Sat-Mon.... throughout the whole process of organising the wedding Helen was on hand to help us as was Liz and Andrew, made it easy for us and put our mind at rest as we are from Glasgow so had to rely on them a lot to help us with organising. The staff really made our stay enjoyable and from the moment we arrived we received a top class service, Helen was around to talk through all the plans and make sure that our wedding ran smoothly! The food was delicious and the views from the hotel breath taking, all of our guests thought the setting was gorgeous! We stayed in room 35 which was beautiful, spacious and looked out onto the loch.
I would recommend this hotel and we will be returning for many anniversary's to come!

Thanks to all the staff at Balmacara, you helped make our big day very special! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xLizzyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We made a mistake when booking and thought our first hotel was on Skye, so when we got over the shock of arriving on the island by boat and 20 mins later leaving over the bridge, we arrived at the hotel, very nicely situated on the loch, our twin room was clean and big enough for 2 tired travellers, lovely bath and large bathroom, our 2nd mistake was to drive into town and eat at one of the hotels there with no atmosphere, should have gone to the bar,the only complaint I have is our room was just above the large spotlight and we could not darken the room to go to sleep.It would have been nice to know on arrival that the wifi was not available in the room, we tried for ages to connect, when we could have gone to the lobby.
I have a problem with stairs and there is a lot of them to carry luggage up.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful. Thankyou, would definately recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 433Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is located directly on the shores of Loch Alsh on the West Coast of Scotland, close to the bridge to the Isle of Skye and Eilean Donan Castle. The staff is lovely, food very good and the rooms are reasonably sized and nicely decorated. The only thing missing is WiFi in the rooms, but to be honest it's far nicer to go for a walk along the sea loch anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dspolarbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmacara
3.3 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
366 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
257 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.6 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
394 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmacara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Hotel

Address: Balmacara Hotel | Balmacara, Balmacara IV40 8DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmacara
Price Range: $105 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmacara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmacara Hotel is situated on the shores of Lochalsh, with constantly changing views over the sea to Skye. Perfectly situated to explore this breathtakingly beautiful part of Scotland, the hotel is approx. 3 miles from Kyle of Lochalsh, the Skye Bridge, and Eilean Donan Castle. The Hotel enjoys an outstanding location for touring and provides an ideal leisure break destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balmacara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmacara Hotel Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing