We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Balmacara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
stirling
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of The Best”
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed for two nights last week with my wife, please believe all the reviews, this is a fantastic place to stay, the surroundings were beautiful, the hotel was great, all the little finishes were done with taste, but the star of our two nights had to be Norman, and his breakfasts, what a wonderful man, he made us very welcome and is the sort of character that makes travel a great experience.
Please book without a worry, its that good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stirlingknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    75
    24
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
230
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

As you will see from the photos on the web site this B&B is in a truly stunning location. We stayed for 3 nights using Balmacara as a base to visit Isle of Skye, Plockton and Ilean Donan Castle. Norman takes a personal interest in looking after you from the moment you arrive and he has a very dry sense of humour and makes you feel at home. Our room was spotlessly clean with truly excellent standard of fittings. The en suite was of the highest quality.

On the negative side, we had a room with a view of the Loch, which was outstanding, but you had to tip toe to see it. Next time, and I am sure we will return, we will book one of the other room which do have a better view.

There are some wonderful woodland walks within yards of the entrance and if you are a photographer there are numerous opportunities quite literally around every corner.

We were very impressed with the location. It was everything we hoped for and more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huggins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our our stay at BM. The rooms were clean and very comfortable, and the services excellent. On top of all that the location is wonderful - close to sites and walks in the region, as well as a selection of dining options. It makes a great base for enjoying this region of Scotland. No hesitation in recommending Balmacara Mains to one and all.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpineAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2010

It's been quite a while since we came back from our England&Scotland trip, but it's not something you can forget. I would say that the best part of the vacation was the visit to Skye island, which for me at least seemed to be "out of this world" . We stayed at Balmacara Mains and consider it was a very good choice. Spotless clean interiors with carefully chosen decoration, it could very well enter the "boutique hotel" category if it were a hotel. We took dinner at nearby Plockton which also is e gem. The image of the harbour right after the sunset is incredible. Breakfast is included and is delicious. The price is on the upper range, but it's well worth it considering the quality of the accomodation.

Regards,
Bogdan

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country UK
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Great setting, great location, great hospitality, good accommodation,.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodrofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Lovely place for over night stay, breakfast was great and rooms very smart. The owners father was a bit of a character..... Hilarious!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elem67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2010

The Guesthouse is situated right next to the loch and the hospitality was warm and friendly. Myself and my partner stayed here for 3 nights for her 40th birthday and we will remember it fondly forever!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwaka1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmacara
11.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
2.6 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmacara Mains Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Mains Guesthouse

Property: Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Address: Balmacara Mains Book Direct with us for the best rate | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Balmacara IV40 8DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmacara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront contemporary boutique B&B Guesthouse on the shores of Loch Alsh with great views to Skye. Great base for touring the Isle of Skye, and the Lochalsh peninsula. All rooms high quality, en suite, and with own private entrance. Near Plockton and Eilean Donan Castle also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Balmacara Mains Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Hotel Balmacara
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing