We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bed, delicious breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Balmacara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful bed, delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

When it comes down to it, that is what I want from a Bed & Breakfast, and the Balmacara Mains did not disappoint! Added to that is the stunning location on the shores of Loch Alsh with views to Skye and the Highlands, the peace, the constantly changing light, a convenient location close to Kyle of Lochalsh. The room was comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. Our standard rate room was perhaps a little small, but it was fine for one night. The bedding was so luxurious I didn't want to get up and could have stayed longer! The breakfast was fresh, freshly cooked and delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Altogether, a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LozBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    75
    25
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
232
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were totally amazing and bathrooms were fantastic better than many 5 star hotels I've stayed in. The breakfast was lovely and the staff really nice. I left a t shirt in my rom and they posted it back to me without any problem - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lb55airdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

An enjoyable 2 night stay in this guest house was topped by our visit to Skye from here. We stayed in room 3 which was clean and most acceptable but a little on the small size compared to the other Guest houses we stayed in on this Holiday, The breakfast was one of the best we had and were well looked after by Lucy, Fiona and the staff who were very friendly and full of useful information. Its location make it an ideal place for touring the Isle of Skye and could be viewed from the Window. IF we go back to Skye we will stay here again but perhaps book earlier and get one of the larger rooms.

Room Tip: A good place to stay but select a larger first floor room with an even better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanlinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Nothing can prepare you for waking up, looking out your bedroom window and seeing the view of the loch from Balmacara Mains. Our room was large with good appointments and breakfast was plentiful with many choices. What was missing was the personal touch from a host. Although we did receive dinner suggestions from the gentleman at the desk when we arrived that was about the extent of our interaction. One thing we have appreciated at other locations has been the suggestions and encounters with our hosts. If that had been part of our stay we would have no question about this being an excellent choice. If that is not important to you then the facility and views are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYEmptynesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Again another excellent last minute find on our tour of Scotland and we would list this as one of the best stays...room 3 was spacious, bed comfortable, décor very tasteful and view excellent. The people were very accommodating and even had suggestions of where we should eat. Just wish we could of stayed longer really, so would definitely revisit! Top marks all round ;-)

Room Tip: Room 3 must defo be the honey moon sweet! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and if you like a huge extremely comfy bed (the best we have slept in) then book Room 7. It does have a woodland view but the quality of the room more than compensates. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice to suit all tastes. The local 'Waterside' restaurant served outstanding quality food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a really nice two night stay here. The rooms were lovely, if a little lacking in character. Spotlessly clean with top quality furnishings and bathroom fixtures, the best tea and coffee facilities I have ever had, even when compared with five star hotels and lovely Arran Aromatics toiletries.The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in away from home. The breakfast was amazing and served by very friendly and helpful staff. The welcome on arrival was not the best as we were asked were we in the right place and were we sure we had a booking by the rather vague and eccentric chap who was 'manning the desk', and the television was not working. The bed and breakfast is very very nice, but apart from at breakfast, it is a little impersonal. Certainly a lovely place though and well worth staying at.

Room Tip: Room eight has a breathtaking view over the loch and is airy and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmacara
1.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
211 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
368 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,027 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmacara Mains Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Mains Guesthouse

Property: Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Address: Balmacara Mains Book Direct with us for the best rate | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Balmacara IV40 8DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balmacara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront contemporary boutique B&B Guesthouse on the shores of Loch Alsh with great views to Skye. Great base for touring the Isle of Skye, and the Lochalsh peninsula. All rooms high quality, en suite, and with own private entrance. Near Plockton and Eilean Donan Castle also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Balmacara Mains Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Hotel Balmacara
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing