We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Balmacara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and peaceful”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a really nice two night stay here. The rooms were lovely, if a little lacking in character. Spotlessly clean with top quality furnishings and bathroom fixtures, the best tea and coffee facilities I have ever had, even when compared with five star hotels and lovely Arran Aromatics toiletries.The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in away from home. The breakfast was amazing and served by very friendly and helpful staff. The welcome on arrival was not the best as we were asked were we in the right place and were we sure we had a booking by the rather vague and eccentric chap who was 'manning the desk', and the television was not working. The bed and breakfast is very very nice, but apart from at breakfast, it is a little impersonal. Certainly a lovely place though and well worth staying at.

Room Tip: Room eight has a breathtaking view over the loch and is airy and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    78
    26
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
235
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having loved our visit in 2012 we had recommended Balmacara to friends, who promptly booked it then advised that there was still one room free . . . it didn't take much persuading to snap it up. Again the room was fantastic, we had room 7 at the back this time and it was lovely. Large room, stunning bathroom and a view out into the woods. Not quite as special as the loch view, but you can't have everything when you book late. Breakfasts and views were fantastic again . . . only thing left to say . . if you've not been, get it booked!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are stunning, loch views are great but don't be put off with the forest view - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty_s2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed and each time have been very impressed, friendly staff who made us feel welcome. The room was lovely and clean, the ensuite shower was just to dye for and as for the bed I had the best night sleep!! Great surrounding and a fantastic cooked breakfast. The view was just beautiful. We will return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank saundersfamily689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights on the 14th and 15th February, It was a suprise weekend away for him as he'd never seen the depths of Scotland so I thought what better place to come than the Isle of Skye.

It was such a romantic location and we were both touched by the sentiments and presentation of the flowers Lucy put in the room (at my request) They were beautiful. (Thank you Lucy, sorry we didn't get to thank you face to face)

Getting there:

Once you punch the postcode in a satnav it pretty much brings you to the door step.

Upon Arrival:

I was greeted by a gentlemen who very kindly showed me to the room and where everything was, followed by a pleasant "I hope you enjoy your stay"

The Room:

Well... for a guest house it was simply stunning, the quality and workmanship of the rooms is second to none. Real Oak doors and furniture really elegantly decorated and crisp and fresh. The view out of the room was spectacular especially in the morning when the fog was rising from the water. I can say unequivocally that the mattress was the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on, the pillows and duvet were duck feather and down and the whole place oozes quality.

The bathroom:

The bathroom was really clean, the shower was amazingly hot and the towels soft and fluffy.

Sleep quality:
I think you'd guess that it was a perfect nights sleep given the comfy mattress and the duck feather and down duvet and pillows.

Breakfast:
On the first morning we both had the Balcamara mains breakfast loaded with everything you'd expect from a traditional breakfast. They also had a selection of cereals and fresh fruit and yoghurt. The bread that was served with breakfast wasn't just any old junk, it appeared to be farmhouse granary batch and it was clearly fresh. The coffee was freshly ground and served in a metal cafetiere. On the second morning my partner had the same but I opted for the smoked salmon and scrambled egg... both again were great. The view also out of the breakfasting area was awe inspiring. The lady who served us breakfast on both mornings was really nice too, very attentive and funny, she made us laugh a number of times. She also advised us of what activities we could do on our stay.

All in all... What a perfect place to stay if you visit Lochalsh, I could not recommend this place highly enough.

Thank you all at Balcamara Mains.

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooks the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passport_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed Balmacara Mains from 26 January 2014 to the 29th. This is quite simply a lovely bed and breakfast. We stayed in Room 8, which is furnished to a very high standard with the most comfortable bed. The views are stunning. The peace was restful and enveloping. The breakfasts were delicious with a good choice to suit any palate.
A top class guest house and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book Room 8 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FandJGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macduff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Balmacara Mains is a wonderfully situated B & B nestled on the shores of Lochalsh and is run to a four star standard. Upon our arrival (helpfully picked up from the train station in Kyle by the owner, Norman) we could instantly see that this was going to be a comfortable stay. The interior of the house is wonderfully decorated and Norman gave us a brief run down of the 'need to knows' so to speak, before showing us to our room. The room we had booked was the master bedroom (number 8) and it truly lived up to all our expections! It was tastefully furnished and the bathroom was beautifully decorated and had a superb power shower. The view from the room was stunning, looking right out across Lochalsh onto the snow capped hills. Plenty of pictures were taken it was safe to say! Now, on to the bed (so to speak)...it truly was amazingly comfortable and repleat with clean, white Egyptian linen. Worth the price of the room! In addition, as you would expect there were plenty of tea and coffee (along with fruit tea) options available in the room, which we made good use of.
To the breakfast in the morning now, and it was sumptuous, I had the cooked breakfast both days, which consisted of perfectly cooked pork sausage and bacon, fluffy potato scones and delicious Stornaway black pudding (the first time I had tried it, and it certainly will not be the last). The breakfast also could come with mushrooms, fried tomato and egg (but I declined this, because according to my travelling companion, I'm akward). My lady friend also had the cooked breakfast the second day and on the first morning she had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, which I was informed was perfect.
To cap this wonderful B & B off, is the truly special host, Norman. He really could not have been more helpful, running us into Kyle a number of times, as well as going on personal errands for us. He made the stay even more comfortable and relaxed than it already was (the sourroundings and house were doing a pretty good job as is!).
In short, if you are looking for an extremely comfortable, upmarket B & B, Balmacara Mains cannot fail to impress you, just read the guest book when you are there, and you'll see that we are not the only impressed customers!

Room Tip: Room number 8 has the best view, and is very well furnished and maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tresaith
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our rooms were cozy on the wild night of 31 October when we arrived at Balmacara Mains at the end of a very long journey from Glasgow. Our neighbouring rooms – one double and one twin – were contemporary, verging on the luxurious, and among the best we've ever stayed in, the benchmark certainly set very high. The morning gave us breathtaking views over Loch Alsh and the soaring peaks across the water. Breakfast was second only to the Glandwr Tresaith breakfast in west Wales – delicious fruit salad, an excellent selection of cereals, and the tastiest full Scottish ever – prepared to the highest standard by (rather unexpectedly) Norman our host. You should find any excuse to make sure you stay here; it's fabulous – and the free wifi works ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlandwrTresaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmacara
1.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
227 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
350 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,039 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
579 reviews
10.6 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmacara Mains Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Mains Guesthouse

Property: Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Address: Balmacara Mains Book Direct with us for the best rate | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Balmacara IV40 8DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balmacara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront contemporary boutique B&B Guesthouse on the shores of Loch Alsh with great views to Skye. Great base for touring the Isle of Skye, and the Lochalsh peninsula. All rooms high quality, en suite, and with own private entrance. Near Plockton and Eilean Donan Castle also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Balmacara Mains Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Hotel Balmacara
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing