We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room, view, and people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Balmacara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, view, and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My sister and I had a ground floor room with a porch, and it was lovely. It's the triple room, because the sofa on the porch can be made into a bed. The view was wonderful, but the people working there made it even better. I wish I'd kept a journal so that I could remember names, but every single person made our lives better during our trip. We thought we'd locked our keys in our car (we later found them), and the girl who was interning couldn't have been more helpful. Someone did my laundry, as well. Amazing staff. Great breakfast. What's not to love? This was really close (5 minutes) to Kyle of Lochalsh where we picked up Skye Tours for a great tour of Skye. It's also really close to the beautiful Eilean Donan Castle. I regret we didn't take advantage of the National Trust hiking, but there's only so much time. This is a great place in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    75
    23
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
227
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a nice bed and breakfast. Owner was very accommodating when we arrived late that night. Large full breakfast provided in the morning. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Location is breathtaking. Downside: Our room was very tiny with just a makeup stool to sit on. Bathroom is starting to show some mold. It is in such a beautiful location, I am surprised the owner did not provide an outdoor sitting area overlooking the loch. There was a bench but it was near trash bins. Another wooden sort of seating on the tarmac but it looked haphazardly placed. Up the road is Balmacara Estate featuring a number of walks and views toward Skye. We spent time there on the benches simply enjoying the peace and quiet and incredible view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterfellHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Everything about this hotel is good, I certainly have no complaints. It's just perhaps a little bit too expensive maybe - I suppose I expected something just a bit more somehow. The room is big ,clean and comfortable, and we had a nice view (although a bit less disturbance on the loch edge would have been better for spotting wildlife). The breakfasts were very nice and the staff were quietly friendly and accommodating. The bathroom was nice, although my shower did briefly turn a bit cold - and I couldn't get the plug out of the bath. Little nit-picking niggles I know, and I wouldn't complain at all if the price had just been a little bit less.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Balcamara Mains is located in the most idyllic spot that you could imagine. It is right on the edge of Loch Alsh and is surrounded by tall trees and bush land. The waters of the loch stretch before you until they seem to touch the mountains beyond. The views are totally breathtaking especially if you are as lucky as we were and have sunshine during your stay!

There are eight bedrooms, I believe, with most having stunning views of the loch. The rooms are modern and elegant with good quality linens and the convenience of a fridge, TV, reliable internet access, hair dryer and excellent lighting. The beds were large and comfortable (albeit a bit too soft for us but this is a personal preference, of course)
The bathrooms were sparkling, well equipped with large towels and good toiletries and plenty of hot water.

Breakfast is served in a room which overlooks the loch. This means you can continue to enjoy the views while you eat a rich and well presented breakfast which will set you up for the day. I must mention the warm and efficient attention of the breakfast room staff. Started the day with a smile which always make you feel good!

We did not meet the host. If we had it would have added the personal touch of a B&B rather than a boutique hotel. And we would have like to thank him in person for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The guest house is right on the loch, making for a very beautiful view out of our room. Breakfast was to die for, the smoked salmon especially. Room v.clean. Free wifi came in very handy as there was no mobile signal.
Staff were really welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.
In the evenings we went into Kyle and Dornie - Clachan Arms in Dornie is a real traditional pub with lovely meals. At Spice Tandoori in Kyle I had one of the best curries I have ever had. Both are a short drive away. Local taxi firm is good but quite expensive, although we didn't mind as we were on holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this scenic guesthouse. The view from our room was beyond beautiful looking on the water which constantly changed as the weather rolled by, including a beautiful rainbow. Comfortable room and relaxed atmosphere, breakfast a 10, on a closed terrace with also the view of the sea. Behind the buildings a mystical forest inviting hikes. All in all, a very special place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmacara
11.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
2.6 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmacara Mains Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Mains Guesthouse

Property: Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Address: Balmacara Mains Book Direct with us for the best rate | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Balmacara IV40 8DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balmacara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront contemporary boutique B&B Guesthouse on the shores of Loch Alsh with great views to Skye. Great base for touring the Isle of Skye, and the Lochalsh peninsula. All rooms high quality, en suite, and with own private entrance. Near Plockton and Eilean Donan Castle also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Balmacara Mains Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Hotel Balmacara
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing