We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Balmacara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I am not sure this is the perfect location for touring Skye because you have about a 30-minute drive to get to the heart of the island; but you are on the end of the Skye within just a few minutes, the views from the B&B are georgeous and it is convenient if you have traveled very far to get to Skye and convenient for departing from the area. It met our needs very nicely. The staff was very friendly, the food was good and room was very modern, large and comfortable.

Room Tip: I think we had room 8 which is on the floor above the breakfast room. The room was large with moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garden4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 374 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the guesthouse for a couple of nights in October. We were warmly welcomed by Norman who showed us to our room etc. room 5 was upstairs and had a lovely view over the loch from the velux window. Bed was very comfortable and room itself was well appointed.
Pluses-breakfasts were very yummy and staff friendly and helpful
Minuses- lack of hot water both mornings and sound proofing from other rooms
Definitely recommend guesthouse for location as ideal for bridge and touring south of island.

Room Tip: Room three looked lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peewee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was probably the best B&B we stayed in on our entire 2 week trip. The building was over 100 years old and completely remodeled into cozy elegant rooms with amazing views of the loch. The breakfasts were well prepared, rooms were just beautiful and I could have just sat in my room and looked over the loch all day- shame we were sightseeing. A short ride to the bridge to Skye!

Room Tip: I didn't see a bad room and there are several that accommodate larger groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Balmacara Mains Guesthouse August 2012. We just had a terrible vehicle accident that very day and thought our vacation was ruined. The Manager, Lucy and Gentleman Caretaker both took great care of us and helped us return to vacation mode. The guesthouse itself was lovely. I am copying the window styles into my cabin at home: you can see both the view and lie in bed watching stars above, ( there were a lot of shooting stars). The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The next morning Lucy very kindly drove us to the train station and refused extra payment for all the accident related phone calls I had to make. Sometimes you really need unexpected help while travelling and these two hosts were heaven sent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adele n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night in room 4. The fixtures and fittings were excellent quality, room was extremely clean. Had the best sleep as bed was very comfortable with proper pillows! Very peaceful and quiet. Staff was unobtrusive but helpful. Breakfast was top notch. All in all very good value for money - I do wish we'd had a window rather than skylight but a minor issue. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was perfect, not too far from a major city, not too close to one either. Walks all over with a perfect view of the loch and friendly staff. The variety for breakfast is incredible, I would recommend the smoked salmon here, and there are a variety of resturaunts within a 20 minute drive to keep you well fed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle_Tristman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Best sleep ever!! Lovely bed and nice room and even though it only had a skylight window it was nice and bright. Wish it had a proper window you could see out of but was lovely and clean and comfy. Breakfast was nice in the main room downstairs and had a lovely view.Also only about a 5 min drive to Eileen Donan Castle which is wonderful. As was the lovely bagpiper who plays outside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmacara
1.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
394 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,084 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
2.4 mi away
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmacara Mains Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmacara Mains Guesthouse

Address: Balmacara Mains Book Direct with us for the best rate | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Balmacara IV40 8DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Balmacara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balmacara
Price Range: $91 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront contemporary boutique B&B Guesthouse on the shores of Loch Alsh with great views to Skye. Great base for touring the Isle of Skye, and the Lochalsh peninsula. All rooms high quality, en suite, and with own private entrance. Near Plockton and Eilean Donan Castle also. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Hotel Balmacara
Balmacara Mains Guesthouse Lochalsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing