We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queenie & Ed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Dornie B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed five days with the Gills and enjoyed every minute. Angie and Johnston are great hosts and went out of their way to cater to my allergies which made our stay that much better. The breakfasts were excellent, a true Scottish fry up. The location was perfect for walking to Eilean Donan castle, to the village of Dornie or to catch a bus. The ensuite room was very comfortable. Would highly recommend Sonas for one night or more and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garden_planter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Sonas Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Adrienne Edinburgh

Stayed at Sonas for one night and wished I could have stayed longer. Room was excellent and hospitality also. Breakfast was one of the best I have had on my travels. Angela made me a lovely packed lunch for my trip to Sandaig. Angela and Johnston are lovely lovely people. Will certainly stay there again and highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrienne654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's just a walk down the road to the wonderful Eilean Donan Castle. The breakfast was great. We visited the Isle of Skye from here.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Erik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Gills were excellent and kind hosts. The food was wonderful and our en suite double room was good. They really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

From the view over to the Cuillins at Skye, to the proximity of the bus stop (200 metres away opposite the castle - although that didn't stop me accepting a lift down to the stop from the host, such is the level of care and hospitality at Sonas) to the warm,friendly welcome and the magnificent breakfast - this B&B is the finest I know anywhere. (though if it becomes any more popular I shall have trouble getting in for my annual trip to Dornie, although all the stops will be pulled out to suggest other places in the village if you can't get in - such is the hospitality and welcome you can expect here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tucholsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I previously reviewed this establishment and decided to make a return visit and if anything it was even better than the last time.The garden is now fully developed and was in full glorious colour. The hostess, Angela, provided us with tea and home baking in the garden which was very much unexpected but greatly appreciated. I still think that for the quality of service that you receive that Angela does not charge enough. On the morning of her departure we had to leave early and we were served a full breakfast at 6.30am. We stayed for 4 days and wished we could have stayed longer. I thoroughly recomment this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moralda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We biked through Scotland and arrived in Dornie quite by chance. It was the best moment of our trip. Sonas B&B was just perfect, breakfast great and we felt at home. Dornie is such a lovely place with a great pub. especially on a sunny day. Food was great.
We shall return and stay longer.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms but Dornie is a quiet place so I think any room will do. Clean and co...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAB067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornie
6.8 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
237 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
360 reviews
10.4 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
289 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
9.9 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonas Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sonas Carr Brae | By Kyle of Lochalsh, Dornie IV40 8HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Dornie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dornie
Price Range: $40 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and comfortable B&B located within a few minutes walk from Scotland's iconic Eilean Donan Castle. A warm welcome guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonas Bed & Breakfast Dornie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing