We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place close to Eilean Donan.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Schoolhouse Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 Dornie B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place close to Eilean Donan.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This converted school house is located on a sea loch. There is a cool garden area right on the loch.
If you stay have a few beers there. You will not forget the time.

It seems like a 5 minute walk to the castle. Go over there after hours when the crowds are gone in the evening.
The isle of Skye is a short drive away.

Our room was clean and quiet and we liked it. the window of the room opened to a view of the loch. pretty cool it was.
Eggs, breads, coffee supplied for us to cook at breakfast. Bring some bacon.
It was all good.

We will stay here if we pass this way again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebromon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in June, in one of the ground floor rooms. The room was bright, fresh, clean and a good size with a nice powerful shower . The modern (shared) dining kitchen was a great alternative to a traditional B&B - you make your own breakfast and there was fresh bread, eggs, jam and homemade muffins. Outdoor eating area available as well but the weather unfortunately didn't allow us to use it!

Room Tip: We were ground floor and that was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc0taway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a relaxed and comfortable stay at the Schoolhouse. The rooms are very clean and Mary, the host was warm and welcoming. The use of kitchen facilities is a real plus, especially when you want a break from eating out. The garden, by the water's edge is beautiful.

Room Tip: The top room has lovely views and is quieter than the ground floor rooms. The blackout blind is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stopped over just for one night but were very pleased with the accomodation. The interior is modern but fits to the location. For welcome we got some scones and homemade backery.
The breakfast is not served but one can use the kitchen and the food (eggs, cereals, bread, butter etc.)is provided for free! Only the cooking and the dishes have to be done.
The kitchen is used by all guests together.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Schoolhouse. Mary was a very nice and helpful host. We loved the spacious room and the big bed. Great location as very near to castle.
Mary has a beautiful tea room as well and she invited us for a coffee each day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B. The rooms are lovely and cosy with an artistic touch. The DIY kitchen was lovely with two very fussy children. We had the two downstairs rooms but I think the view on the top floor must be amazing because even downstairs it was beautiful. Mary was a wonderful host who was so kind as to post a forgotten item to family in London. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesZel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Charming B&B in Dornie home of the Eileen Donan, a step away from Skye.
Rooms were cosy, DIY kitchen very useful when in the middle of your holiday you've had it with restaurants and want to enjoy the simplicity of a simple salad you seasoning.
Hostess very nice an prices I guess reason able for the area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kokopetiyotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornie
7.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
17.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schoolhouse Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schoolhouse Rooms

Property: The Schoolhouse Rooms
Address: Schoolhouse Caroline Street, Dornie IV40 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Dornie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dornie
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Schoolhouse At Dornie Hotel Dornie
The Schoolhouse Rooms Dornie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing