We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing small, i mean small, town hotel/restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dornie Hotel Restaurant

Dornie Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Dornie
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“amazing small, i mean small, town hotel/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

this place was perfect. it was an amazing small, i mean small, town hotel/restaurant. Although my burger was not to my perfect liking, the ladies that happend to be sitting near us were raving about it and even compliment the chef directly (i am an extremly picky burger eater and did not expect a perfect burger here). the vegatable soup was hot and just right! the coffee was quite good as well. we randomly found this place on our way to Isle of Skye from inverness and feel as tohugh we found a gem! will definetely return as the view was also incredible from here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    46
    29
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
326 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“LOVELY PUB FOOD IN AN OLD HIGHLAND VILLAGE PUB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went to the Dornie to have a drink and to have an evening meal on the 23rd December 2013. The pub only had about 4 people in when we went in around 5pm. Food was served from 6pm. When we ordered our food by this time we were the only ones in the restaurant and pub.

The pub is an old village Highland pub, typical Scottish pub. No issues re décor, clean and a log fire, We were served by a female in her twenties who had red dyed hair, she was very welcoming and friendly. Barmaid/waiter. We had a friendly chat with her.

We had to wait for the food to be cooked, which we didn't mind. Other half had the fish and chips which were lovely.

I had vension sausages and mash, gravy and again a lovely pub meal.

Worth a visit - stop off for a meal or a pint. Didnt stay at the hotel so cant comment on the rooms

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank A.MACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A little lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Coffee shop at Eilean Donan was closed for the season, so the lady in the visitors centre recommended the hotel, so with that travelled half a mile to a very welcoming young lady, a very warm, and homely bar. The meal we enjoyed was prompt, and oh so delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent food, not so welcoming decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We ended up eating here as the nearby Clachan Bar weren't serving food. On first impression the bar is very old fashioned and not very welcoming. There were no staff behind the bar and we had to wait until we attracted their attention in the kitchen. Aside from this the food was tasty and well priced it's just a shame about the decor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fishbone5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

In the Dornie Hotel restaurant you receive high quality food for a reasonable price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had salmon and the steak pie. Both were delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornie Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Dornie Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing