We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clachan

The Clachan
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Dornie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The pub advertises itself as being rated nr. 1 on Tripadvisor, but as there are only 4 restaurants in Dormie, I feel this is slightly misleading :) But good marketing strategy though ;-)
We ate here twice and were very pleased both times. Food was great, and the dessert was also delicious. Friendly service. No complaints.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanne972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    102
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super evening at the Clachan Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fabulous entertainment and atmosphere at the Clachan Inn.
We had tea coffee in the afternoon, found out about the entertainment so we came back - recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawnandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have been here tonight after visiting the Eilean Done Castle.
Good steak, wonderful Scottish ale, delicious homemade cake.
You have to try it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank macis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty, fast service, but slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've been to the Clachan before but only for a drink. We went for lunch today but a note on the door said they couldn't serve lunch due to staff leave (paternity or maternity leave - can't remember). Because of the reviews, we went back for an evening meal - it was tasty and served very quickly by friendly staff (we arrived at 6pm and the place filled up quickly after us) but we felt a little disappointed. Maybe it was our menu selections (Moroccan Lamb / Lasagne / Haggis Tower) but we felt they were microwaved. However, fish and chips was top notch. The burgers being served looked good. We will be back, but next time we'll chose menu items that cannot be microwaved. My Wife and Son both had a flat coke aswell but having watched the barstaff pour it from the bottle this might just be a training thing as she lost all the fizz. Note: i've ticked reservations accepted but I think that's only for 6 and over.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Truth hurts...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

You ask customers on menu to provide good feedback on trip advisor (first time I have seen this!)

-non fizzy flat coke to drink

-45 minute wait for food ... Which when it arrived was poor.

-other tables(2) ordered desserts and received them and ate them in the time it took Mains to come

-chilli relish was plastered all over a child's burger (I think parents should be advised of this first)

Positives are the castle!! That's possibly it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitti_kat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clachan also viewed

 

Been to The Clachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing