We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of Tingle Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tingle Creek Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erbusaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the second time I had stayed at this hotel and again I found it most welcoming, clean, and with such beautiful views. It was disappointing that the hotel kitchen was closed on a Tuesday night and I walked into Kyle for a meal at the Kyle hotel.

Room Tip: Worth having a sea view. The Pabay room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 395 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here on our tour around Scotland.
The rooms are clean and well-equipped. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast is very good.
Unfortunately the walls are literally paperthin, so you go to sleep or rise when the next door neighbour goes to sleep or rises.
The price is also rather high, particularly considering that on the night we stayed the restaurant - whcih the owner says justifies the high price was actually closed.
In summary I would say there are better places and there are worse. For about 80 pounds per night for a superior double this hotel would offer great value for money. At 120 it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puma76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here last week for one night on a business trip in a double room at £70 for B&B. The location is lovely, very nice views and very quiet too. Welcome was warm, though the owner never introduced himself at all during my stay. He was very chatty and attentive and had a similar manner with all the guests, some of whom were regular customers I later found out.
The room was a revelation - modern, clean and spotless with a lovely large shower. Being at the back there were no views, but that was of little consequence to me for one night. The bed was very comfy too with quality duvet and cotton sheets. I noticed too that the corridors had sensors switching the lights on - great idea, meaning that you didn't have light spilling under the door all night - a nice touch.
The lounge area is large with a few sofas and chairs and a large log fire which was kept amply stocked as we enjoyed a chat after dinner. My only criticism of this area is that it is a little dated looking.
The dinner was superb, if a touch expensive. Beautifully cooked, absolutely faultless over 3 courses. The views from the dining room are also good, looking toward Raasay. Breakfast was equally as superb, with quality fruit juice and a beautiful sausage served. I never saw the cook, though I would have been happy to congratulate him/her on their excellent standard of food.
The lack of a telephone signal or of any wifi facilities was a real pain for me. I would suggest that the owner thinks about installing something asap. Overall - superb! - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Back rooms are cheaper with no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HallidayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights dbb and had a lovely time. Andy was very welcoming, hotel was very clean, food was excellent as was the one sunset we managed to watch whilst dining on sea bass and venison cobler. Bedroom and bathroom were modern and spotless and the fire in the lounge was very welcoming after yet another very cold and wet day in May. We would stay again and would definitely recommend ..

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We've been visiting this hotel for some years now and have never been disappointed. The food has always been without fault (including the breakfasts) and the rooms are cosy and warm and nicely decorated. The views from the front are outstanding - looking over to Raasay - and the sunsets are out of this world.
Andy, who runs the hotel with his wife Morag, is a laugh a minute with a great repertoire and had us in hoots most of the weekend. There are many beautiful spots to visit within easy reach, our favourite being the picturesque Plockton which is very nearby.
We will no doubt be back next year as always. Highly recommended. Thanks Andy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but Pabay and the room next to it have lovely views over to Skye and Raasay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlystrungles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights last September. It is in a teeny little hamlet just out of Kyle of Lochalsh, pretty easy to find. We were not blessed with the weather but that didn't detract from the stunning views over towards Skye. Our hosts were very welcoming with just the right mix of friendliness & professionalism. Our room was Raasay and overlooked the sea, it was very clean and tidy, i'd call it 'Scottish Modern', with a lovely bathroom. We were very hot though, and had to open the window - however better than being too cold!
Dinner both nights was very well executed if nothing hugely fancy, i was a little disappointed it differed so greatly from the menu outside the hotel but it might have been because we were on a special deal. The breakfasts in the morning were self service buffet other than eggs which were freshly cooked to your taste, with a good selection of hot dishes as well as cereals etc. The hotel was not packed when we stayed but there were probably another 4 sets of visitors, and service was superb, just perfect.

There are a few things to do in the area and our host was very helpful in suggesting places to see and how to get there. The scenery was stunning, it is a wonderful part of the world, and very handy for Skye.

I would definately recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DFAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tingle Creek is located very close to the bridge to Skye, with a stunning view of the sea. The hotel itself is fairly new, with modern comfortable (but small) rooms. Breakfast was quite good; we were a bit disappointed not to have dinner available during our visit though, so check ahead. A good spot to stay if you are visiting Eileen Donan as it is close by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erbusaig
1.4 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
248 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
257 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tingle Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tingle Creek Hotel

Address: Erbusaig, Erbusaig IV40 8BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Erbusaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erbusaig
Price Range: $143 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tingle Creek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tingle Creek Hotel is situated between Kyle of Lochalsh and Plockton, and is only a five minute drive onto the Isle of Skye. It has an excellent restaurant, with spectacular sea views across to the Isle of Skye. As a family run hotel, the family pride themselves in offering their guests the personal touch, providing a friendly, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The hotel is a hidden gem in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tingle Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tingle Creek
Tingle Creek Hotel Erbusaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing