We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels / Ryokan in Odawara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We pulled up on bicycles after an arduous ride up the hill from the coastline (650 feet above MSL) and were warmly greeted. (People arriving by train can get a free shuttle ride to the hotel.) Although we were soaked with perspiration, having biked from Mishima on the other side of the hills, we were treated like VIPs. The staff did not blink.
We got room 1013, which had a western sleeping room, a Japanese Tatami-mat room, a bathroom / sink separate from a large sink plus shower- tub room, and three balconies. It was worth the price to upgrade: spacious, well- appointed and very comfortable.
The view from the balconies was fantastic – we could see south to the Amatsuru peninsula, and north up the coastline almost to Kamakura. The hills are full of Sakura, which were in full bloom. The grounds of the hotel are nicely landscaped, including an 800m winding drive up to the hotel.
The hotel shuttle can get you down the hill and back for dinner, but there is not a lot of choice in the small town below. We opted for the buffet dinner, and it was very good – huge variety and high- quality. Likewise, the breakfast buffet was excellent.
Behind the hotel and way up the hill is a golf course (Odawarayumoto Country Club) with amazing views of the surrounding hills – best accessed by car, and by driving north to Odawara and around the other side of the hill towards Hakone. There are several courses in the area.
All in all, an excellent, relaxing place.

Room Tip: The entire location is very quiet, so you cannot go wrong in that regard. But a view to the ocean i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us.
We appreciate your comments on the Trip Advisor.
I will personally pass on your compliment to our service staff.
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

A wonderful experience for any foreign travelers to Tokyo. This is a very Japanese style Hilton with western influence, accommodations and food. But what it really offers is a comfortable way to explore Japanese culture outside the big city but still within the comfort of a beautiful Hilton property with natural, healthful hot spring baths and spa, Japanese (and western) cuisine, Internet, recreational sports including golf, tennis, bowling and pool. Every room has a view of the Pacific Ocean. Reserve a Tatami Room for the true Japanese sleeping experience. The short train ride from Tokyo Station is comfortable and easy riding through the countryside, residential areas and rice paddies so you can spend a night and then head back or onward to Kyoto, Osaka or another city. The free Hotel Shuttle Van makes frequent trips from Odawara Station. An excellent addition to any trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrflTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us.
We appreciate your comments on the Trip Advisor.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
Our hotel has received the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award.
This honor is awarded to establishments that achieve outstanding traveler reviews on TripAdvisor, the world's largest travel site. Our staff takes great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again
in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stopped off for one full day here between fairly hectic sightseeing schedules in Tokyo and Kyoto. It was a great place to slow down the pace and enjoy the mountains and onsen.

Getting there from Tokyo is relatively easy on the Tokaido Shinkansen. Odawara is 4 stops from Tokyo station which takes just over 30 min. There is supposed to be a free shuttle from Odawara station but for some reason it was not running on the day we got there. Taxi ride is about 3500 yen.

The hotel is up in the mountains with a lovely view over the ocean from both our rooms. Every staff member we encountered were friendly (including one very helpful fluent English speaker from New Hampshire). The pool, onsen and day spa were all great and we found it the perfect place to relax after long days of walking.

As noted by previous reviewers the main limitation is the choice of restaurants - there is only one restaurant and it serves breakfast in the morning and a buffet dinner in the evening for about 6000 yen. Dinner is actually very good but there really was nowhere else to eat in the hotel itself.

It would be great to stay a couple of days as it would provide the opportunity to explore Odawara town a bit more. There is also a day trip that runs out of the the tourist office in Odawara station which takes you around the Hakone areas including a cable car and boat ride.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face the ocean. Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa last week and my sincere appreciation to your comments on the Trip Advisor.
Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay inclusive of your experience in our restaurant, onsen & swimming pool.
We value our customer’s opinions about us to serve you in any better way.
So should there be anything else that we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable, please let us know.
Thank you for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stopped off here for two days on our way Kyoto and Hiroshima. It was a great place to base ourselves and do the day trip out to see Fuji via the pirateship on lake Ashi.

The resort was great. Set in the hills,with crisp mountain air. We loved the onsen and water facilities, and my son loved the kids facilities enjoying a round of putt putt golf.

The resort is away from restaurants etc however the complimentary shuttle to town or the closest station makes it easy to pop in for a bite to eat The previous comments re limited dining options are true but within twenty minutes you can be slurping on a bowl of piping hot udon down in odawara town.

I totally recommend this resort for a couple of nights just to get away from it all and experience a different side of what japan has to offer .

Special thanks to Andreas the General Manager for taking special care of us .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussiExpatinHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa last week and my sincere appreciation to your comments on the Trip Advisor.
Since your satisfaction is extremely important to us, we all are committed the best quality of service along with the Hilton Hospitality.
I enjoyed meeting you and hope we can welcome you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Recently stayed 2 nights at this beautiful resort. Set in the mountain area you feel as if you are at a health resort. About 20 minutes out of town by hotel shuttle bus from the station, it is still very handy because there is also a very frequent shuttle bus to/from the local station. The rooms are a little dated but still very comfortable. The pools are amazing and there is also a really good onsen. The choice of meals at the hotel restaurants is very limited and quite expensive but it's quite easy to go back into town - there's some quite good, inexpensive eating at the station precincts. It's very easy to do the full day trip of Hakone area, including a beautiful view of Mt Fuji if you're as lucky as we were.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor, specify king if that's what you want because Japanese hotels have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callmehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa last week and my sincere appreciation to your comments on the Trip Advisor.
I will personally pass on your compliment to our service staff. Since your satisfaction is extremely important to us, we all are committed the best quality of service along with the Hilton
Hospitality.
Our hotel has received the 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award. This honor is awarded to establishments that achieve outstanding traveler reviews on TripAdvisor, the world's largest travel site. Our staff takes great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Yes, it is a great place if your kids are dead tired (like mine) of sight seeing, temples, your 1001 shots of cherry blossoms, running after you in the crowded metros and trains. They will have fun with the Hotel amenities, from the great indoor and outdoor pool to bowling, arcade and Kareoki rooms. But there are serious flaws with this Hotel, and the most important is the limited dining outlet. The main Flora restaurant offered buffet breakfast lunch and dinner, choices were not as many and the quality of the food not great, and that was it!!! Besides that, there was only the lobby lounge that had very few choices of sandwiches and tapas, and one little outlet beside the swimming pool that served 4-5 fixed meals. This beside the fact that the hotel is a very long ride from closest city Odawara, make the dining experience far from pleasant specially if you are planning to stay for few days or you are willing to spend money. The other thing is that the hotel introduces itself as SPA, we stated by booking two massages in the SPA and we were so disappointed with the lack of the competency and quality of the treatment we received. But the kids loved their stay !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Andreas Boettger - General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa last week and my sincere appreciation to your comments on the Trip Advisor.
It was great to read your very positive comments on the service and various aspects of the product.
We certainly aim to use excellent service to differentiate our hotel from others!
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here in February, not the kindest month, and it was still a gorgeous resort with many amenities. The grounds are impeccable, the staff extremely conscientious, and the mineral spring pool to die for (especially in the outdoor part, breathing in the chill February air). One of the best parts of our stay here was the supper buffet. Don't be scared away by the price, it is 100% worth every penny/yen. The selection was superb, everything fresh and delicious, and the seafood and sushi alone worth going for. We will DEFINITELY be back to this fabulous resort.

Room Tip: Every room is on the coast! Fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank field716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us.
I am very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay and your recent stay with us exceeded your expectations.
I will certainly share your warm comments with our team members. Moreover all our team members promise that we continue making the best efforts to provide the Hilton hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odawara
Hotel Kunimi Odawara
#9 of 20 in Odawara
29 reviews
Hotel Kunimi Kamonomiya
#8 of 20 in Odawara
17 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hinode Ryokan
#4 of 20 in Odawara
6 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Highland Hotel
Hakone Highland Hotel
#8 of 256 in Hakone-machi
270 reviews
Plum Hostel
#1 of 5 in Odawara
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa

Address: 583-1 Nebukawa, Odawara 250-0024, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Odawara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels / Ryokan in Odawara
Price Range: $160 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel to the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, just 60 miles west of Tokyo, in the Hakone mountain's foothills. It's just 30 minutes by train to Tokyo's business district and 90 minutes by car to Haneda Tokyo airport. Courtesy transport runs weekdays to Odawara train station and shops, 2.5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Odawara Hotel Odawara
Hilton Odawara Resort And Spa
Odawara Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing