We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Odawara
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is a great hotel if you plan on getting away from it all - i.e., aim for relaxation, spa, and just beautiful scenary. The staff is very helpful and there is a fully equipped gym. You don't want to miss the onsen on the 2nd floor (hot and cold water), very relaxing, also the various pools and sauna on the first floor. just don't walk with your Yukata on the first floor, someone is going to tell you to skaddadle up. The food in the resturant is very expensive (hamburger with some fries and a Japanese pickle cost me over $25), you may want to take the shuttle to Odawara and explore for better choices there.

I checked into this hotel around 4:00 PM so the ceremics class was already closed. If you are planing to stay in this hotel and like creating something you may want to come a bit earlier and make a plate with the guidance of a local artist. It will take a few weeks to dry and then they will ship it to you. You can use the computers in the library for emailing and such.

The view of the ocean from this hotel is great, the grounds are immaculate. there are many trails through the gardens but unfiortunately I came a few days after the earthquake and we were not allowed into the trails because of possible structural damage. Take a walk from the hotel down to the city - very peaceful. Highly recommand!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zlahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to express my sincere appreciation that you stayed at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa and took time to send us a warm comment through Tripadvisor.
Unfortunately, we had to close walking trails for safety reason during your stay, it is now fully open for mountain walking trails so please visit us again in near future. Also I will discuss with our operation manager regarding the quality and consistency in foods offered to the guests. Since your satisfaction is extremely important to us, we all are committed the best quality of service and products along with the Hilton Hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Naoki Oto
General Manager
Hilton Odawara Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    448
    157
    60
    54
See reviews for
551
208
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the resort recently, and we thoroughly enjoyed the brief stay. The accommodations were excellent. The location on a mountainside on the Izu Peninsula overlooking the ocean was quiet, isolated and romantic The spa facilities and pool area was immaculate and very relaxing. Our Prix Fixe French cuisine at the Spa's Brasserie Flora was excellent – a little pricey, considering the value of the dollar, but worth it.

The resort is easily accessible from the cities of Odawara and Atami. The hotel provides a free shuttle service to the local railway station, five minutes away down the mountain, and to Odawara station, 45 minutes travel. We took both shuttles. The hotel was on our way from visiting Fujinomiya and the foot of Mr. Fuji on our way to Tokyo.

I recommend this resort and spa highly, when visiting Japan.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean with fantastic views. The hotel also has modern cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to express my sincere appreciation to your valuable comment for the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa.
I am very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay and your recent stay with us exceeded your expectations. I will certainly share your warm comments with our team members. Moreover all our team members promise that we continue making the best efforts to provide the Hilton hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Yours sincerely,
Naoki Oto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I visited this hotel for an extended weekend stay. Getting in from Tokyo is quite easy -- take the Tokaido Line to Nebukawa, two stops past Odawara, and a hotel shuttle bus comes right to the station. The town around the station is devoid of shops or anything else of interest, but the hotel itself has everything you might need.

By far the best feature is the swimming facilities. There are a number of pools, including a proper Olympic-sized swimming pool for pros and a bunch of different pools for relaxing and exercising, both indoors and outdoors. Almost all are kept at a temperature around 28 degrees C, i.e. like lukewarm bath water. There is also a sauna and steam room in this area, with special cold-water pools adjacent to them.

There are a bunch of other sports facilities, including tennis courts, bowling alleys and a miniature golf course, which we didn't use but which looked very inviting if you are into that sort of thing. Lots of room for kids to run around outside, too.

The hot springs (onsen) are nice but nothing particularly interesting. The water is odorless and salty, and there is an outdoor bath without much of a view. If you just want the hot springs experience, someplace in Hakone is probably a better bet.

We took a twin room on the non-smoking floor. There was an odd mildewy smell in the hallway the entire time we were there, and our beds also smelled a little funky up close even though the linens were changed every day. The room had a new flat-screen digital TV hooked into a clunky hotel AV system without many movie selections. We got fresh pajamas and bathrobes in our room every day, which was a very nice touch. The twin beds are quite tiny, each barely big enough to hold two extremely intimate adults.

There is practically nothing within half an hour of the hotel, so you need to either bring your own food and drink or buy it on the premises. The hotel's shop is pretty big and has a good selection of drinks and basic snacks, and a number of hot food items at various price points are available through room service. Everything is a little expensive but not awfully so by Japanese standards.

Fortunately there are a lot of buffets at this hotel, and the food is very good. Unfortunately, they are some of the most poorly designed buffets I have ever seen. At the breakfast buffet, for instance, the plates are located in the center of a long spread of food, so that there is no logical flow of traffic in either direction, and the eggs-to-order station is tucked away in a corner where if two people line up, the first person can't really get out. And the tables seemed to be arranged to block the most logical paths from dining areas to the buffet, so every trip for food was like playing a game of dodgeball. There is also a very badly named "dessert buffet" which is really half lunch, half desserts (but an excellent value) and a "wine buffet" of second-rate plonk which accompanies the otherwise awesome dinner buffet. We basically got by on two enormous meals each day.

This seemed like a very family-friendly place. Between the games, sporting facilities and pools there is really a lot to do, and the cottages next to the hotel sleep 5 people each and even accommodate pets. In many ways it reminded me of being on a cruise ship.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibiyaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
First, we would like to express my sincere appreciation that you stayed at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa.

Thank you very much for your comments and giving us the opportunity to understand the critical situation in our variety of food offered and buffet design as well as a smell in guest room and bed. Taking your comments very seriously, we will review the layout of buffet and food menus to improve them. Also we will clean up guest rooms more thoroughly including eliminating odors.

As your satisfaction is extremely important to us, we all are committed the best quality of service and products along with the Hilton Hospitality.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I had booked a 54 sq m room with ocean views through a major internet booking agency. We were really looking forward to our short stay at the Hilton Odawara Resort and Spa which was part of a three week holiday in Japan which we had organised. The hotel website had presented a clear picture of a luxurious, spacious hotel on an expansive cliff top site.

Our stay was indeed excellent, apart from a problem booking in. We were given a third floor room. The whole floor is set aside for the disabled and has special installations for the disabled, including special toilet and bathroom features. When we explained that we did not need or want such a room we were informed that another room would cost an extra 10,000 Japanese Yen. The internet deal, they said, was explicitly for accommodation for the disabled on the third floor. We explained that nowhere on the booking site or on the printed confirmation voucher was this disclosed. After heated discussion, we were moved to a room on another floor, at no cost. It was not fun fighting for what we believed were our rights.

Apart from this very unpleasant experience, we enjoyed our short stay. The reception rooms are elegant, the breakfast choices vast, the dining room lovely, the views stunning, and the staff courteous. The free shuttle from the railway station to the hotel is very convenient. It's a good place to stay if you're touring the Hakone area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your staying at the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us.
However we sincerely apologize for the unpleasant moments upon arrival you had. Taking your comments very seriously, the management team discussed regarding the expression and presentation on the website. We will review our websites and ensure that details regarding accessibility are added to the room description as soon as possible.
Moreover, as your satisfaction is extremely important to us, we all are always committed the best quality of service and products.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

After some researches on Tripad, I came to know Odawara Hilton. Their extensive thermal SPA facilities together with the location facing the sea attracted my attention.

To arrive, we took a shuttle bus run by the hotel from Nebugawa station, good one hour from our place in Tokyo. The hotel estate was much larger than I expected.

The room was not ready at around 11:00 a.m. and we went straight to the thermal SPA, available before check-in and after check out on the same days. No additional charge to use the facilities. I was so delighted and excited to see them which are quite similar to my favourite ones in SPA (Belgium) and in Bad Ragaz (Switerland). Large scale, serious with various indoor and outdoor pools, with heated thermal water. Dry and wet saunas. One poolside cafe restaurant open till 15:00.

The room was ready at 14:00. The Hilton Plus twin beded room was 30m2+, but gave smaller impression. The bathroom is rather large for the size of the entire room. We opted for 120cm wide bed (they have narrower twin bedded room too). TV was old fashioned and imposing for the space. One writing desk and one chair. We would have felt better with additional small table and chairs to relax.

Ventilating fan was not noisy. Recently at hotels in Japan, ventilating fans (in addtion to air-conditoning) are often too loud.

The view was superb. Unlike nearby Atami and Ito (further from Tokyo), no ugly high-rised buildings disturbed the view. One of the best seaview I have experienced in Japan.

Food at the restaurant was unexpectedly good. Only one restaurant except summer. Guests can choose buffet or course or a la carte. We lightly dined a la carte.
It was a pity that only a small section of the restaurant is allocated to course and a la carte guests. Small children out of their parents' control ruined savoury dinner a bit. Larger or addtional space would be ideal to further section out.

We took walks in the greenery estate. Most enjoyable.

We wanted to try the bowling facilities but did not have time. Next time.
Covered open-air squash courts looked nice.

We booked via internet travel site: 30,000-35,000 yen for the room.
It may appear rather expensive for the room, but fine given no additional charge for the basic use of the SPA facilities.

We will come back for week-end escapes. Especially when too tired to find a new destination.We travel so often (to the extent I can not comment on all the hotels we have stayed on Tripad) that we may be exhausting places to go for our week-ends, and Odawara Hilton will be an easy and promissiong solution then.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The hotel is in a fabulous location for a relaxing weekend for friends. I stayed with a group of five girls in the chalet overlooking the water. Only problem was a typhoon was coming so we did not have a view at all on the first day. The room was a little old and dated but still very comfortable - the beds were great. The buffet dinner and buffer drink carts were both fabulous. We arrived late to the hotel on Friday night, but could stay in the restaurant as long as we pleased. The following morning we had a buffet breakfast, full European and Japanese breakfast, and very good service. As we had overseas visitors with us we went into Tenzen Onsen in Hakone - the taxi fare to Odawara Station is expensive - about 3,500 yen so best to catch the complimentary shuttle bus from the hotel to the station - the bus is not available on weekends from Odawara but you can catch it to the local station - Nebukawa. The hotel Onsen is also very nice - both indoor and outdoor. You could easily spend the whole weekend at the resort - there is a spa, tennis, mini-golf, swimming pool, and lots of activities to keep you interested. After the typhoon had passed we were also able to see the lovely view along the coast from our room, and take a nice walk from the hotel. There are numerous paths for the sightseeing enthusiast, or longer walks for the keen bushwalkers. This is definitely a wonderful place to relax, and well worth the weekend away to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo or experience countryside Japan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHappyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed in the Hilton Odawara for a night after going around Hakone.
The shuttle bus from Odawara was on perfect time and only took about 20 mins to get to the hotel.
One thing to note is at weekends they only run the shuttle service to Nebukawa station (about 8 mins on the bus), which has no manned ticket counter and no English translations on the train maps. We were lucky that another passenger spoke English who could tell us which train to get.

The hotel is amazing, the facilities are superb, but I would echo previous comments about the price being very high.
You are in the middle of nowhere which is great for the views, but as mentioned your choices are very limited.
Paying way over £100 for a dinner buffet with one drink each is a bit excessive, and be prepared to shell out more if you want to use the bowling or pool tables as well. Also expect to pay at least 1200 Yen per drink in the bar at the top as well, even for a half pint of beer.

The dinner buffet was pretty good with a selection of Japanese and Western food, by the time we arrived we were craving some red meat, potatoes and veg so could fill our boots with these!

The hotel has a "Bade Zone" which has a selection of pools and jacuzzis, both indoor and outdoor, and also includes a 25m pool for lengths. This was great and where we spent a lot of time.
There is also a natural hot spring section which is single sex and you have to go naked. Make sure you follow all the etiquette of completely showering and rinsing before getting into the baths.
The hot springs are open from 6am until midnight, but the mixed sex Bade Zone is 9am to 7:30pm.

Overall I thought the hotel was fantastic but not good value for money. I appreciate you will pay over the odds for somewhere like this but I think their pricing has turned people away. When we were there it was almost deserted. I enquired about staying an extra night and was only offered the rack rate of 60,000 Yen (approx £480).
They said that it was a Japanese holiday hence the high price, but we stayed there until well into the afternoon and hardly anyone else arrived that day!!

So overall an amazing place, great views, facilities and food, but be prepared to pay for it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ish303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odawara
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#5 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#25 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#3 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#10 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa
Address: 583-1 Nebukawa, Odawara 250-0024, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Odawara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Odawara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel to the Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa, just 60 miles west of Tokyo, in the Hakone mountain's foothills. It's just 30 minutes by train to Tokyo's business district and 90 minutes by car to Haneda Tokyo airport. Courtesy transport runs weekdays to Odawara train station and shops, 2.5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Odawara Resort And Spa
Hilton Odawara Hotel Odawara
Odawara Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing