We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxation begins at eno spa”

Enoshima Island Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Entrance covers the entire facility for a full day of heated pools, natural hot spring, relaxation and sauna. Please note that outdoor pool areas will be closed for improvements until mid July, 2016. Night spa rates (entrance after 6 p.m. is 1,705 yen). Only 60 to 80 minutes from Tokyo or Yokohama to Katase Enoshima Station on the Odakyu line, Enoshima Island Spa also features light aromatherapy massage, tsubo (pressure point) foot and body massage, un-touched natural hotspring from 1500 meters below the island (one bath is in the pool area so guests can enjoy the onsen in their bathing suit), fresh local produce used in lovely food at the Enoshima Island Grill Restaurant, Aufguss herbal sauna experience, indoor/outdoor heated pools with a view of Mt. Fuji across the ocean on clear days, waterfall cave pool area, evening Water and Laser Light show and much more. The spa is connected to the BengTeng Medical Clinic where various beauty and health treatments are provided by trained and certified medical professionals. Please check with pricing as there are special entrance discounts for night spa, etc. Also, enjoy various combination sets that include massage therapy, lunch and the facility use at a discounted rate. Couples' aromatherapy massage, wedding anniversary specials and gift certificates are available. Please note there is a very strict no-tattoo policy enforced for the entire building and children over six years of age are welcome every day except Sunday. No photography in the building for utmost privacy and peace of mind. Peak months of July and August have an additional 500 yen added to the entrance fee.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Wahiawa, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“relaxation begins at eno spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Im writing this review as an english speaking tourist traveling through Japan for the 1st time. First off, service. Traveling through Japan the one primary thing i have noticed is their exceptional customer service, and this holds true at Eno spa as well. All of the staff are inviting, greeting you as you walk by, offering assistance when needed, smiling at every corner. The one peice of advice i would have for those traveling who lack linguistic skills, like myself, is ask for help. Not all of the signs have english translations, and for a first timer, this can be intimidating; however, the staff is not, so when in doubt, ask. which brings up the 2nd portion, the spa. The locker rooms are fully equiped, they provide you with towels, robe, carrying bag for all your belongings. They are also equipped with full sized multi-headed showers and all of the amenities. Past that, they have the "no bathing suit allowed" onsen spa. While this may be a frightening experience for westerners, its a must. The signs are in japanese, but they have easy to decipher diagrams that provide you instructions. The pools were beautiful, clean, and refreshing after weeks of traveling. On the day that i went, there were only a few other individuals occupying the pools, so it felt comfortable. 3rd, the massage. at roughly a $1/ minute, this is one of the best priced massages ive found anywhere. I tried the shiatsu massage, where they do a full body massage while allowing you to keep your robe on. They were able to get my back, which was in shock from missing my memory foam, into working order again, best 80 minutes i spent. The rooms offer a pleathora of space, and comfortable tables. The foot massage is also a must for those traveling by foot. Lastly, the views. As stated in past reviews, the views of Mt. Fuji are amazing. As a photographer, views like this are rare and appreciated. i was able to relax outdoors in a heated pool while watching a snow capped Mt. Fuji fade into the sunset, you cant ask for more. Then, there's the WATER LIGHT SHOW! i have seen every water light show from Disney's world of color to the Bellagio light show in vegas; however, this was the first time ive been able to physically interact with the attraction, and this made all of the difference. The spa allows you to swim in the pool during the featured attraction, allowing you to become immersed in the fog, lasers, and water flowing from the ceiling...simply amazing. Overall, my experience was wonderful, and if i had the chance, i would return in a heartbeat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank lopaka h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthieJ143, Director of Sales at Enoshima Island Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Lopaka-san. Thank you so much for your review and we are very happy you enjoyed your visit to Enoshima Island Spa. The Water Pearl Show description you gave is exactly how we want the experience to enthrall all of our visitors. The staff at Enoshima Island Spa are constantly working to improve our service and we hope to see you again at the spa soon. Warmest wishes from the Enoshima Island Spa team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    65
    13
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enoshima Special Holistic Spa Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a fantastic package aimed at Foreigners visiting Japan and seeking a Holistic day. The facilities are wonderful where you get to enjoy Japanese hot spring water (onsen) both in a traditional setting & outdoors overlooking a magnificent view. The signature body massage & the foot massage are the main highlight. Staff is friendly & English use is common.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Samarsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthieJ143, Director of Sales at Enoshima Island Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking part in the JI plan spa experience. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed it and hope that you will allow us to welcome you back again soon. It is an honor to serve guests and help them refresh and rejuvenate at Enoshima Island Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of Mt. Fuji and Beautiful Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I went to Enoshima Spa with a friend twice and we both loved it. The views of Mt. Fuji at dusk are simply stunning, and the outdoor pool is always at just the right temperature to make you want to stay - regardless of the temperature outside. The indoor pools also offer fun options for exploring the facilities and it's really nice being able to order coffee or coke while in the pool areas. The cave is fun too, and the views of Fuji don't go away.

The onsen portion is truly relaxing and should be the first, long stop before hitting the pools. Several different types of water and windows looking outside without anyone looking in. And no reason not to stop in after the pools to scrub off the chlorine and soak once more before heading home.

Lots of couples and several groups of friends make it a comfortable atmosphere whether you're there with one person or many. No children keep things quiet and peaceful. Definitely recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Humza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthieJ143, Director of Sales at Enoshima Island Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Enoshima Island Spa. We are doing our best to make it a friendly and fun place for weekends and weekdays of relaxation and rejuvenation. Please visit again when you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience - Once in a Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Enoshima Island Spa was one of the most relaxing and awesome days of my life - literally. The staff is exceptional, and facilities are beautiful. Start at the traditional onsen if you like - even if it's your first time like it was for me, I was comfortable. Then enjoy the heated indoor and outdoor pools including cave pools and infinity pools (pools that look like they just go right of the cliff) - they are right up against the ocean with views of Mt. Fuji. Then have a shiatsu massage - it was one of the best experiences of my life - I wanted to stay in that massage forever! The best part is that it's totally reasonable. Probably the cheapest massage around. Less than 5,000 yen for a 40 minute massage.

Also, since the spa is located on Enoshima Island, start your day by exploring the islands shops, temples/shrines, lookout lighthouse tower, and caves/beaches - and then go to the spa to wind down.

At the end of the night, exactly at 7:30pm, meet at the main circle pool for a spectacular light show - unlike anything you've ever seen. You can even sit in the water as you watch - it's quite magical.

Needless to say, I highly recommend visiting Enoshima Island Spa when you plan your trip to Japan! It's great for the entire family, or even if you're traveling alone!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Amandafrazierhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthieJ143, Director of Sales at Enoshima Island Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Enoshima Island Spa. Your encouragement about visitors taking time to view the island and then enjoy the heated pools at the Spa will help a lot of visitors with their planning, I am sure. We are happy you enjoyed the Shiatsu massage so much and the entire Enoshima Island Spa team is working to improve every day. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Best regards, Enoshima Island Spa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“View of Mt. Fuji at Sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Let me start by saying I love the Enoshima Island Spa. I've been there twice and will go back if I'm in the area. There is not much better than being in a wonderful hot pool at sunset looking out over the ocean and seeing Mt. Fuji lit up in reds and yellows while listening to sounds of the wind and ocean. There are really interesting pools on 3 different floors to enjoy. I also really like the locker rooms.

What I didn't like either time was the inflexibility of their staff and their "system". Before you go, just remember a few things. 1) Take a swim suit. You'll have to rent one if you don't. 2) Remember that you can not go in and out of the spa once you pay. If you’re with friends, make arrangements in advance. 3) Children under six are not allowed which most people wouldn’t mind, but there was a baby in our group. Since we couldn't bring the baby in, it became difficult for all of us. 4) The night we were there it appeared to be a couple's place with lot of intimate necking going on in the pool nearby us. I was with my husband and sister-in-law, and at times that was uncomfortable.

Other than that, I do love the pools.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Eurmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthieJ143, Director of Sales at Enoshima Island Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and they are extremely helpful. Your point about the couples is well taken and we on-sight are making every effort to make Enoshima Island Spa a great place for everyone to enjoy and not feel uncomfortable in any way. I definitely recommend bringing along your own swimsuit as the rentals can be a bit on the small side and the reason for the age requirement for kids of six and above is because the entire building was pretty much made with adults in mind. There are tiled seats inside some of the pools and the pool edge is not fully fenced (for utmost ocean views) so we really do feel this spa is primarily for the adult guest. We are working on the English web presence and trying to make sure policies about children under six and tattoos (not allowed) are clear before you make the trip out to the island. Please do come again and keep the comments coming as we want to continue improving our service in every way possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoshima Island Spa also viewed

Fujisawa, Kanagawa Prefecture
Fujisawa, Kanagawa Prefecture
 
Fujisawa, Kanagawa Prefecture
Fujisawa, Kanagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Enoshima Island Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing