We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An island packed with views and Japanese culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Enoshima Island

Enoshima Island
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in Fujisawa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An island packed with views and Japanese culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Enoshima-island, near Kamakura, is only one hour train ride from Tokyo. My husband, school-age children and I spent a good half day here, as part of the trip to Kamakura. A small island offers goergeous views of the ocean and coastlines, shrines and temples, and is filled with little shops and restaurants. It is beautiful. I highly recommend it as a day trip from Tokyo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    319
    68
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice day trip from Tokyo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you want a day getaway from Tokyo that is convenient and gives you a different vibe than the city during the summer, Enoshima is a good choice:

Pros:
- easy to get to by train from Tokyo by romance car, only around 1+ hour
- tasty seafood in the summer
- nice view from observatory tower
- easy access to beach and water activities
- interesting cave visit

Cons:
- can be very crowded in the summer
- this place is only good for the summer holiday though, otherwise most shops are closed
- no nice hotel establishments on site, most spas and hotel looks pretty crappy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bambooscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujisawa, Japan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“we always take visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I grew up near Enoshima, and we always took out of town visitors to Enoshima, Japanese and foreigners alike. The Odakyu Railway station is closer, but the Enoden Line is charming. You have to walk across a long bridge to get to the island, from which you can get a great view of Mt. Fuji if the skies are clear (rare in summer). Once on the island, the narrow street to the Enoshima shrine is lined with stores selling trinkets and food, several hotels and restaurants, as well as a post office. At the top of the narrow street is a for-fee escalator for which you can buy tickets either for one stop to the first and main shrine, or to the top. (There is no down escalator.) On June 30 and Dec 31, there is a shinto purification ceremony to help you greet the new half year. Anyone can take part in the ceremony including the final part held within the hall beyond the money box, although it's polite to make a donation. The island has caves in which monks used to meditate (small charge). The back side of the island has a rocky outcrop where giant waves dash over, and if the tide is not high, plenty of sealife for little children to observe in tidepools. There is a charge for going up the lighthouse. Food on the island is more expensive than off the island. Fresh shirasu, baby fish, are a local specialty, although recent overfishing has led to most of it being brought in from other places in Japan. There's also a yacht harbor and a tidepool play area if you go left after crossing the bridge instead of going up to the shrine. The base of the lighthouse has a flower garden, but I've never taken the time to visit it. If you want some time on the beach, there are beaches this side of the bridge to Enoshima. I believe there's a bicycle rental place near the Enoden Line Enoshima station. Do NOT drive or take the bus to Enoshima island during daylight hours in the summer. It will take a vehicle an hour just to cross the bridge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mari w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Day out in Enoshima”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Enoshima is a lovely place. Sadly when we visited it was raining so I could only imagine how nice it must be during warm summer time when the beach there is full. We ended up taking the escalators when going up as we walked more than enough already. Lovely town in the Island too, and from the Tower we could see some really nice views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Finest view over Fujisawa, Kamakura, and to Fujisan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Walk or take the tram to Enoshima Island from Kamakura railroad station. Once there you will find plenty of opportunities to enjoy a great lunch or snack. Climbing to the top is assisted by a network of escalators, if you would need them. Great day outing from Tokyo with terrific vistas of Fujisawa, Kamakura and the Fuji mountain. Bring swimsuits in the summer. Great beaches next to the bridge to the island. Black volcanic sand, surfers, and board sailers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sture L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoshima Island also viewed

Fujisawa, Kanagawa Prefecture
Fujisawa, Kanagawa Prefecture
 
Fujisawa, Kanagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Enoshima Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing