We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, and decent value with a nice onsen.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kamogawa Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamogawa
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good service, and decent value with a nice onsen.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for one night during a bike tour of Chiba, they had reserved a room for our bikes to be stored in and locked overnight. The hotel is located right on the beach front, and has lovely views of the sea however our room on the second floor had an obscured view because of the restaurant in fronts roof. So I would recommend asking for a higher floor. The rooms were tatami and had a flat screen TV, mini-bar and fridge. The hotel had large onsen baths with a plunge pool and sauna which were very popular and quite busy - there was also a gym and a swimming pool and they had outdoor onsen's as well. Breakfast was Japanese style, fish, miso soup, rice and some other dishes which was fine - although one guest had a fish allergy and his replacement was an omelette, bacon and sausage which looked good too. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, although the whole building is rather dated.

Room Tip: Stay on third floor or higher to have unimpeded views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    90
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
88
26
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I just checked out from this hotel, and this is also my first time visiting Kamogawa (in Chiba) for business purpose. There are a few hotels close to the Awakamogawa JR Station but this is the only one accepting solo customer (you can still pick others but you have to pay price of 2, in this hotel you only pay 1.5 heads, a bit better).

I don't know Japanese, so when I book I do not know dinner+breakfast included, which I don't need, staff was very nice to cancel them out (except for day 1 because I arrived late and they can't cancel on time) and the billing amount also reduced!

Hotel is a bit old in it's facilities, but it doesn't really matter, I enjoyed their public bath + onsen, they've got one facing the Pacific Ocean directly, which is very nice!! (It's free), I went there every morning before work.

Obviously this is not a proper hotel for business, neither do all others, internet services not available in their room, there's a FREESPOT wifi you can register to use in lobby area, or you can use 1 of 3 cable internet in front of reception, you won't feel comfortable if you are working on some confidential stuff.

One thing very interesting, the in-room fridge will be locked automatically when it's time for room clean up, this is my first time seeing such setup in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I visited Kamogawa for business and my wife joined me. We stayed 4 days in the Kamogawa Grand Hotel (KGH). This hotel is a resort to which Japanesse people come for a day or two. KGH is beatiufully located on the beach and has outdoor pool, hot baths and beatifull gardens. The rooms are very big and comfartable althoguht the furniture is old. The staff is helpfull but most of them do not speak english. We ordered one morning a western breakfast and it was dissapointing. I recommend to walk either south or north to either the Kameda hospital and have coffe there or to a coffe shop. The hotel's spa is good and we enjoyed several massages also they offer bycicles for rent which is nice. We stayed at the older part of the hotel and it was good. The checkout time in this hotel is 10:00 which was too early for us and they overcharged for late departure. The cost for the room (with no breakfast) was per the number of people in the room so the same room for a single person cost half price which is uncommon elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Large rooms here. Mostly Japanese style, but they have some Western style too. The Chiba Lotte Marines took all the western style rooms while I was here. I had to stay an extra night and stayed in one of the western rooms. Wow it looked fancy. Nice seaside view.

Japanese style rooms are made for a family, so it is a lot of space for one person. There is extra bedding for the family in the closet, so if your futon isn't comfortable enough you can put down more.

Warning: all of the hotels around here are internet deprived. Kamogawa Grand Hotel has 3 ethernet lines in the lobby, that's it. One of our guys stuck a WiFi router on one of them :) They do have a fast connection, but no WiFi and no desks in the room to work at anyways. Not a business hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank axus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamogawa hotels
Kamogawa Onsen
Kamogawa Sea World Hotel
Kamogawa Sea World Hotel
#2 of 42 in Kamogawa
172 reviews
Kominato Onsen
Hotel Green Plaza Kamogawa
Hotel Green Plaza Kamogawa
#6 of 42 in Kamogawa
61 reviews
Antique Hotel La-Mirador
#28 of 42 in Kamogawa
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamogawa Onsen
Kanponoyado Kamogawa
Kanponoyado Kamogawa
#19 of 42 in Kamogawa
39 reviews
Kominato Onsen
Kichimu
Kichimu
#5 of 42 in Kamogawa
74 reviews
Kamogawa Onsen
Shiosai Resort Kamogawa
Shiosai Resort Kamogawa
#15 of 42 in Kamogawa
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamogawa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamogawa Grand Hotel

Property: Kamogawa Grand Hotel
Address: 820 Hiroba, Kamogawa 296-0044, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Kamogawa > Kamogawa Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Kamogawa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kamogawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamogawa Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Evoline ltd and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kamogawa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamogawa Grand Onsen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing