We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Villa Fol Avril

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moutiers au Perche
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Fol Avril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Located in the beautiful hamlet of Moutiers au Perche, this boutique hotel is very tastefully finished in a modern yet French-rustic style and benefits from having an incredible restaurant.

My family arrived at about 3pm on Saturday. As anyone who's spent time in France - asking for lunch a minute after 1.15pm typically results in 'non'. Not so this place. They were happy to oblige and the food was absolutely fantastic - indeed the best meal that we've had in France despite 2 weeks or searching for a decent establishment in/around the Rodez region. It is much deserving of its recommendation in the Michelin guide - and I think deserving of a much higher award.

We will be coming back. Perfect.

Room Tip: The road outside is very quiet - so can recommend rooms 2, 3 or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J9WOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Fol Avril for 2 nights. Such a quaint little village in a beautiful setting. We arrived a couple of hours early but our room was ready which was great.

We arrived on a Monday afternoon and was ready for a nice bottle of wine and some pate or cheese for lunch, however we were told there was no Chef available to prepare anything for us, this was rather disappointing as we just wanted to relax after a long drive.

We had to drive several miles for something to eat which was a real shame!

Phillipe and the staff are very friendly and I would recommend this little hotel. However there is no airconditioning, fridge, tea coffee facilities or bath robes in the room which should be basic requirements for the price.

The hotel atmosphere and food is very good and we would highly recommend the Villa Fol Avril.

Room Tip: If you like air conditioning don't book this hotel unless it it out of season. If you want a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The whole experience was excellent. Courteous, friendly, efficient service, great attention to detail and spotless sums up this great find in the Perche region of France. Really attractive decor shows a great design flair and the food was superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Villa fol Avril overnight on our way home from the South of France and yet again it did not disappoint. We stayed in one of the new suites in the garden and it was delightful, very modern with every facility. We had a beautiful meal in the evening which was very reasonably priced for the superb quality of the food and the wine was great. It is difficult to describe the quality of this little hotel in a very tiny pretty village but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited Villa Fol Avril for the first time at the beginning of September - and we are already talking about when we can return! Moutiers au Perche is a new part of France for us and is a
4.5 hour drive from The Tunnel - perfect for a first night stop on the way south. We stayed for three nights and will probably stay longer next time. The rooms are charming and the food is excellent without being 'over the top'. Moutiers is a very pretty village, with a lovely church up the nearby hill. Look out for the gargoyles. If you can, visit in the summer, as the garden is very pretty, with a good sized swimming pool and plenty of comfortable seats for sitting out in the sun. I think you can always tell a good hotel when you like the people you meet staying there. We liked quite a few!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was at the top of the main building. It was charming and had a pitched roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynntrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My (new!) husband and I went to Villa Fol Avril for 5 nights following our wedding in London.The hotel made every effort to make our special time as especially special as they could (!-from a very kind special rate in honour of our honeymoon-to a thoughtful glass of bubbly at our first night dinner- to not batting an eyelid at our requests for breakfast in bed most mornings).The location was JUST what we were looking for after the hustle and bustle of wedding planning in a busy city-quiet,peaceful,picture perfect(if what your looking for is a pocket of calm and silence in a mad world-THIS IS IT).And the layout of the villa exudes a similar zen like quality-picture: hammocks,deck chairs and couches to flop on at any given opportunity.Then there's the food-yum yum yum-tasty,honest,fresh and very good value for what comes.Go go go!xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMWeafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Lovely rooms and good dinner and breakfast there is a lovely walk to do up to the top of the hill to see the church and the fields ,horse and sheep all in all a good place to stay p.s walk lovely at night

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanboylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moutiers au Perche
5.8 mi away
Domaine de Villeray
Domaine de Villeray
#1 of 2 in Condeau
252 reviews
18.3 mi away
Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux
Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux
#1 of 4 in Verneuil-sur-Avre
519 reviews
14 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Tribunal
Hotel-Restaurant du Tribunal
#1 of 4 in Mortagne-au-Perche
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chateau de Villeray
Chateau de Villeray
#2 of 2 in Condeau
131 reviews
15.2 mi away
Normandy Country
Normandy Country
#2 of 2 in Belleme
144 reviews
14.7 mi away
Relais Saint Louis
Relais Saint Louis
#1 of 2 in Belleme
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fol Avril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fol Avril

Address: 2 rue des Fers Chauds, 61110 Moutiers au Perche, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Moutiers au Perche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moutiers au Perche
Price Range: $90 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moutiers au Perche is located in Normandy, near Paris (less than 140 km), Villa fol Avril is halfway between the D-day landing beaches and the Châteaux of the Loire Valley. The hotel proposes twelve bedrooms and suites, a restaurant with a fireplace and a terrace, two lounges (one with a fireplace), a garden, a heated swimming pool, a conference room and a private parking. The garden gives direct access to the surrounding walking trails. The Chef, Amélie Chaillou, proposes a simple and flavourful food centered on fresh products from Normandy. All the dishes are home-made. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Fol Avril France/Moutiers Au Perche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing