We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Fol Avril
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
143
60
3
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
60
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightlovely hotelexcellent restaurantbeautiful villagerestaurant servesfrench countrysidecountry hotelconvenient locationstayed for nightsstayed longerexcellent valuereturn next yeardining roomchoice at breakfastlovely furniturerooms are excellentregion
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 211 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My (new!) husband and I went to Villa Fol Avril for 5 nights following our wedding in London.The hotel made every effort to make our special time as especially special as they could (!-from a very kind special rate in honour of our honeymoon-to a thoughtful glass of bubbly at our first night dinner- to not batting an eyelid at our requests for breakfast in bed most mornings).The location was JUST what we were looking for after the hustle and bustle of wedding planning in a busy city-quiet,peaceful,picture perfect(if what your looking for is a pocket of calm and silence in a mad world-THIS IS IT).And the layout of the villa exudes a similar zen like quality-picture: hammocks,deck chairs and couches to flop on at any given opportunity.Then there's the food-yum yum yum-tasty,honest,fresh and very good value for what comes.Go go go!xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMWeafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Lovely rooms and good dinner and breakfast there is a lovely walk to do up to the top of the hill to see the church and the fields ,horse and sheep all in all a good place to stay p.s walk lovely at night

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanboylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

In the region Le Perche with its green hills and valleys and an abundance af flowers you will find a fairytale village called Moutier au Perche. In this village lies a really agreable hotel Le Villa Fol Avril, one of the best countryside hotels I ever have experienced.
The moment you enter you feel pampered like a most wanted guest, the personel being very friendly.
A beautiful terrace in front where you can have dinner when the weather permits, a little heaven.
In the back a split level rustique garden with swimmingpool where you can let out all the stress of citylive.
The cuisine (menu's between 22 and 33 euros) is simple but well-executed, a sophisticated 3star-meal wouldn't do in these countrysidesurroundings. The breakfast: was excellent.
There were some little drawbacks: the wellcome-cookies in the room were very, very old and the door between the innercorridor and the bedside had a defect lock.
When I write this down I realize that this secret heaven will not stay long secret any longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert J. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked a specific room months in advance. This was not available when we arrived. We were given a room with a very noisy fan that could not be switched off and we hardly slept. We had to get alternative accommodation for the next night. Presumably someone else was allocated this room, had objected and been moved to the room we originally booked.

Room Tip: It is a waste of time booking specific rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dubs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folavril, Propriétaire at Villa Fol Avril, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

It seems you spent a bad stay and I’m sorry about it.
I regret that you did not come to speak about it, I’m certain we would have found a solution.
However, I wish to specify two points:
1° We practice booking by category of room and not by specific room,
2° What you presume at the end of the message is based on nothing : we did not reallocate any room for any reason this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Le Perche is a lovely unspoilt rural area of France largely ignored by foreign tourists.
Moutiers which rarely figures in any guide is charming village with an interesting church, which makes a real effort to show itself at its best.
Theis boutique hotel makes a similar effort. The rooms are excellent and the the restaurant serves a very good value menu du jour. The small swimming pool is attractively situated in a pleasant garden. Staff are friendly and welcoming as befits an owner run hotel.
One word of warning. Be careful with your booking. I booked 3 months in advance ( a stop-over on the way to Le Mans) yet when I arrived there was no trace of it. Fortunately the room I had booked was still available and the owner was most apologetic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikebozYorks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews