We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A location hard to beat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbazia San Pietro in Valle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ferentillo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A location hard to beat”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Four of us stayed here as part of a walking tour so our initial approach was on foot from the village below, passing through the most delightful scenery. The road curves and suddenly one sees the abbey, surrounded by green hills. Once past the entrance (incorporating reception and a bar), there is a huge expanse of lawn before passing through another gateway into the old monastery. Drinks are served on the lawn which is a delightful place to relax and take in the surroundings.
Our rooms were very good. My showerroom was very small but perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay. The bedroom was spacious and the beds comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, served in a lovely vaulted room, with tables outside. Given the location, it is probably better to have dinner in the independently-run restaurant adjacent to the monastery, which serves very good food served with great friendliness. Otherwise, due to the location, it would be necessary to walk down to the village or drive further afield.
All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
An abiding memory will be the wonderful birdsong signalling the approach of dawn - quite magical.
It was very hard to leave and I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment for travellers looking for peace and quiet in a stunning setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revitalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    40
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
111
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel will take some beating. We stayed for two nights, but would have liked to stay longer. It was such a beautiful setting, and the old Abbey buildings had been utilised very skilfully, to make a very comfortable hotel. The staff seemed genuinely pleased to welcome us, serving drinks on the large lawn overlooking the breathtaking view of the wooded hillside on the opposite side of the valley.
We had a scrumptious breakfast in the cloisters, and a splendid dinner each evening in the adjoining restaurant.
It was a wonderful place to stay, and we thought it would make a perfect wedding venue!

Room Tip: Just go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Wow! What a truly amazing place. From the moment it comes into view till the moment you leave, the Abbey will take your breath away. Beauty and seclusion, peace, calm and tranquility are in abundance. The staff are always smiling and can't do enough for you. Beside the Abbey is an independent restaurant, the only place nearby to eat but the food is amazing and once again the staff are great. Double thumbs up from me.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MTurny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wow! A truly amazing hotel set in a former monastery where the monks cells are now bedrooms. Our room had an entrance hall, en-suite shower room and views over the wooded valley towards a deserted hill top hamlet. The abbey has been sensitively restored with well maintained gardens and seating to relax. There is a small restaurant on site which is independently run and you must reserve. It features local produce and some imaginative dishes. Service is outstanding. There is a small bar in the hotel and staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The highlight is the adjoining church - not to be missed, with its remarkable frescoes and altar (it opens at 10.00). Be very careful on road to the abbey off the SR209 - coming from the north you are directed along a very narrow lane - I'd recommend approaching from the southern junction. Parking is in an olive grove!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great two night stay. Its a peaceful and beautiful setting, family run (friendly and helpful) with a very good breakfast. Rooms are spacious and fitting for the abbey. A pool would be a good. Great walks. We had dinner in the restaurant (separate entity) on one night - very pleasant evening but the food is pretentious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick001CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
343 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just a spectacular setting offering great views. We loved sitting out on the lawn and soaking in the views. The hotel is a converted Abby constructed between 700- 1100. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tight, but comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and gave some of the feeling of what it would be to live here when it was an Abby. We did have late night noise from a party, but I got the feeling thst is atypical. Good serice and decent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights, beautiful location, fantastic views off the main lawn, kind staff, very quiet. Breakfast with many options with good service. Accommodations were antique styled, which we liked, but some pieces were worn. We ate the restaurant on property both nights. Absolutely fantastic food; owner/host is very gracious

We easily visited a handful of nearby towns during our stay including Norcia, Castellucio. Spoleto, Terni

Abbazia is located up a small windy road up-hill off the main road. One fork is not clear which direction to go. Turn right, up the better paved route.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitorChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferentillo
16.4 mi away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
17.0 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 12 in Norcia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
7.2 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
2.5 mi away
Pucci Country House
Pucci Country House
#2 of 9 in Ferentillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbazia San Pietro in Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbazia San Pietro in Valle

Property: Abbazia San Pietro in Valle
Address: Via Dell'abbazia, 05034, Ferentillo, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Ferentillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ferentillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbazia San Pietro in Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The abbey is situated inside the natural park of the Nera River. Immersed in a thick wood with a marvellous view over the valley. The historical hotel has 19 rooms and 2 suites, all of them with private bathrooms, tv sat, telephone, modem, minibar, phone. Services: panoramic garden, church national monument, reading room, bar, lounge, internet-point, sauna, biliardo, private parking. Cooking courses, wine tasting, painting courses, concerts. Price per double room with breakfast: from $105,00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbazia San Pietro in Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia San Pietro In Valle Ferentillo, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing